شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأزمة المالية


يجب على البنوك الكبيرة تنظيف الفوضى 17 يونيو، 2014

"هانا سينفت ، كاندي سافانا ، ورون تايلور هم جيران لأكثر من 20 عامًا في جورج تاون ساوث ، وهو مجتمع يضم 800 منزل ريفي في ماناساس ، فيرجينيا. إنه حي متنوع من الطبقة العاملة في الضواحي على بعد 30 ميلاً من البيت الأبيض ".

"ويتم تدميرها."

هكذا تبدأ قوية Op Ed يدعو إلى مطالبة البنوك بإعادة بناء المجتمعات التي دمرتها من خلال القروض الجائرة وما ينتج عنها من حبس الرهن المنشور اليوم في التلقراءة موقع إخباري على الإنترنت / صحيفة يومية على نطاق واسع من قبل الكونغرس وموظفيها ومسؤولين فدراليين آخرين. يعمل مكتب Oblate JPIC مع VOICE لمحاولة الحصول على موافقة JP Morgan على المشاركة في إعادة بناء مجتمعات شمال فيرجينيا المدمرة.

توضح Op Ed المعاناة التي لا تزال تعاني منها المجتمعات المحلية التي تعرضت لحبس الرهن العقاري ، لكنها تقول: "... هناك القليل من الأمل: في نوفمبر 2013 ، حصلت وزارة العدل الأمريكية (DOJ) على تسوية بقيمة 13 مليار دولار من JP Morgan Chase إصدار أوراق مالية سامة مضمونة بالرهن العقاري ، بما في ذلك 4 مليارات دولار لإغاثة المستهلك. عمل VOICE مع السناتور مارك وارنر (ديمقراطي من فرجينيا) ، والمسؤولين الفيدراليين وحلفاء آخرين لتضمين خيار في التسوية للبنك للوفاء بهذا الالتزام من خلال منح لرأس مال صناديق استعادة الأسهم المجتمعية ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ميا مينما كولبا أكتوبر شنومكسند، شنومكس

والد شيموسكتب القس شيموس ب. فين ، OMI مدونة جديدة على Huffington Post ، تسمى  ميا مينما كولبا.

"هناك أكثر من القليل من السخرية في القائمة الطويلة للقصص حول كبار المديرين التنفيذيين للبنوك الذين يتفاوضون على التسويات مع المنظمين الحكوميين والموافقة على الغرامات قبل الذهاب إلى المحكمة للتسوية ..."  اقرأ أكثر….

 


جعل وول ستريت مساءلة إلى الشارع الرئيسي يوليو 15th، 2013

مشتقة قنبلةأخبر عضو مجلس الشيوخ عن ولاية نيويورك جيليبراند وشومر أن تنظيم المشتقات لا ينبغي أن يتأخر !!

قبل خمس سنوات ، هددت تجارة المشتقات غير المقيدة في الولايات المتحدة النظام المالي العالمي بأكمله. وفقد عدد لا يحصى من المواطنين وظائفهم وبيوتهم ومعاشاتهم ، حيث أدى الإقراض الخطير الذي تغذيه المشتقات غير المنظمة إلى إثارة أزمة الرهن العقاري. 

انضم إلى أعضاء الجمعية التبشيرية والأعضاء الآخرين في مركز الحوار بين الأديان بشأن المسؤولية المؤسسية (ICCR) في المطالبة بإصلاح المشتقات الآن.

قم بالتوقيع (كفرد) على العريضة المتاحة على change.org:  http://chn.ge/11GhghC

الرجاء النشر على موقع Facebook و Twitter لنشر الكلمة.


الزعماء الدينيين الصحافة جي بي مورغان تشيس إلى Reinvest في ولاية فرجينيا ضرب بقوة من قبل التعويقات 20 يونيو، 2013

الأب Seamus Finn ، OMI تدعو للعدالة من JP Morgan Chase

الأب Seamus Finn ، OMI تدعو إلى الاستثمار في المجتمعات التي دمرها الرهن العقاري من JP Morgan Chase

سار الزعماء الدينيون في شمال فيرجينيا هذا الصباح إلى مكاتب جي بي مورغان في العاصمة بعد أن رفض البنك الاستثمار بشكل كاف في مقاطعة برينس ويليام بولاية فيرجينيا. تعرضت المقاطعة لضربة شديدة في أزمة الرهن العقاري ، وهناك حاجة للاستثمار لإعادة بناء المجتمعات المنكوبة.

الأب وقد دعم كل من سيموس فين ، OMI و Oblates ، كمستثمرين في البنوك الكبرى ، جهود المجتمع للتعامل مع أزمة الرهن العقاري ، من خلال VOICE (Virginians المنظمة من أجل المشاركة المجتمعية بين الأديان). الأب تحدث الفنلندي في المسيرة ، ودعا JP مورغان تشيس لتحقيق استثمار هادف في المجتمع. شاهد مقطع فيديو للخطاب على YouTube.

يخطط قادة VOICE للاجتماع مع المنظمين الفدراليين في الشهر المقبل لمطالبتهم بمعاقبة البنك على ممارسات الإقراض المفترسة ، والتحقيق في توقيع روبو على بطاقة الائتمان في شمال ولاية فرجينيا.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


البابا فرانسيس ومساهميها متحدون في الأولويات 28 مايو، 2013

والد شيموسفي هذا بلوق على هافينغتون بوست ، الاب. ويدرس Seamus Finn OMI الصلات بين نشاط حملة الأسهم المدفوع بالدين وحديث حديث أجراه البابا فرانسيس حول بعض القضايا المهمة التي تم مناقشتها علانية منذ انهيار النظام المالي.

اقرأ المقال….

 


نشاط المساهمين الناشئين 22 مايو، 2013

ارفع يديكشخص منذور للخدمة فى دير نشاط المساهمين تم الاعتراف بها مؤخرًا من قبل ريتشارد إيسكو * ، المدونة على هافينغتون بوست حول الأخلاق (أو عدم وجودها) لنظامنا المالي. هذا مقتطف من مدونته:

المصرفيون غير الأخلاقيون أو الخارجون عن القانون مسؤولون أخلاقياً عن أفعالهم. لم نخالف القانون ولم نطرد الناس من منازلهم. لقد فعلوا.

ولكن حتى لو لم نشارك في الشعور بالذنب ، فإننا نتشارك المسؤولية. هل فعلنا كل ما في وسعنا لإيقافهم؟ سيقول الناس إنهم أقوياء للغاية ، وهذا صحيح. لكن علينا مسؤولية المحاولة والاستمرار في المحاولة مهما حدث. تقع على عاتقنا مسؤولية الانخراط في جهد كبير ، وهو كفاح من أجل تنظيم أفضل واقتصاد أكثر إنسانية. إنه أيضًا صراع على القلوب والعقول - ديمون ، ووسائل الإعلام ، وعقولنا. يجب أن نطالب بالمزيد - من البنوك التي تخدمنا ، من وسائل الإعلام التي تسلينا (إن لم تخبرنا) ، من الوكالات الحكومية التي تعمل لدينا.

العقود الآجلة

وينبغي أن نطالب بالمزيد منا. هذه صناديق التقاعد النقابية ، والمستثمرين المؤسسيين في JPMorgan Chase ، اتخذت إجراءات اليوم لتغيير طريقة العمل هناك. هكذا فعلت الأب سيموس فين من مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركاتالذي قدم أحد القرارات نيابة عن شركة عائلية مع سهم JPM.

يحتاج المزيد منا للانضمام إليهم في نشاط اقتصادي منسق وبناء. يمكننا أيضًا العمل على تقليل اعتمادنا على أنواع القروض التي تؤدي إلى العبودية المالية ، إلى الحد الممكن في هذا المناخ الاقتصادي القاسي ".

اقرأ مدونة Huffington Post من ريتشارد إسكو على JP Morgan Chase

* ريتشارد اسكو هو كاتب ومضيف "The Breakdown" ، بالإضافة إلى زميل أول في Campaign for America's Future

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » financial crisis


Big banks must clean up their mess June 17th, 2014

“Hannah Senft, Candy Savannah and Ron Taylor have been neighbors for more than 20 years in Georgetown South, a community of 800 town homes in Manassas, Virginia. It’s a diverse, working-class suburban neighborhood about 30 miles from the White House.”

“And it’s being decimated.”

Thus begins a powerful Op Ed calling for  requiring banks to rebuild communities they destroyed through predatory loans and resulting foreclosures published today in the The Hill, a daily newspaper/On-Line news site read extensively by Congress, their staff, and other Federal officials. The Oblate JPIC Office has been working with VOICE to try to get JP Morgan to agree to participate in the rebuilding of the devastated Northern Virginia communities.

The Op Ed details the suffering still experienced by communities hit by numerous foreclosures, but says: “… there is a sliver of hope: In November 2013, the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) secured a $13 billion settlement from J.P. Morgan Chase over its issuance of toxic mortgage-backed securities, including $4 billion for consumer relief. VOICE worked with Sen. Mark Warner (D-Va.), federal officials and other allies to include an option in the settlement for the bank to fulfill this obligation through grants to capitalize community equity restoration funds.”

Click here to read more »


Mea Minima Culpa October 2nd, 2013

Father-SeamusRev. Seamus P. Finn, OMI has written a new blog on Huffington Post, called  Mea Minima Culpa.

“There is more than a little irony in the long list of stories about the major CEOs of banks negotiating settlements with government regulators and agreeing to fines before going to court to settle…”  Read more….

 


Make Wall Street Accountable to Main Street July 15th, 2013

derivative-bombTell New York Senators Gillibrand and Schumer that derivatives regulation should not be delayed!!

Five years ago, unchecked derivatives trading in the U.S. threatened the entire global financial system. Countless citizens lost their jobs, homes and pensions, as risky lending fueled by unregulated derivatives fomented the mortgage crisis. 

Join the Missionary Oblates and other members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) in demanding derivatives reform now.

Sign on (as an individual) to the petition available at change.org:  http://chn.ge/11GhghC

Please post to your Facebook site and Tweet to spread the word.


Religious Leaders Press JP Morgan Chase to Reinvest in Virginia County Hit Hard by Foreclosures June 20th, 2013

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI calls for justice from JP Morgan Chase

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI calls for investment in mortgage-devastated communities from JP Morgan Chase

Northern Virginia Religious leaders marched this morning to JP Morgan’s DC offices after the Bank refused to invest adequately in Prince William County, VA. The county was hard hit in the mortgage crisis, and the investment is needed to re-build the blighted communities.

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and the Oblates, as investors in the major banks, have been supportive of the community effort to deal with the mortgage crisis, through VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement). Fr. Finn spoke at the rally, calling on the JP Morgan Chase to make a meaningful investment in the community. Watch a video of the speech on YouTube.

VOICE leaders plan to meet with Federal Regulators in the next month to ask them to sanction the bank for predatory lending practices, and to investigate credit card robo-signings in Northern Virginia.

Click here to read more »


Pope Francis and Shareholders United in Priorities May 28th, 2013

Father-SeamusIn this blog on Huffington Post, Fr. Seamus Finn OMI examines the connections between faith-driven shareholder activism and a recent talk by Pope Francis on some of the important issues that have been publicly debated since the near collapse of the financial system.

Read the article….

 


Oblate Shareholder Activism Appreciated May 22nd, 2013

hands-upOblate shareholder activism was recognized recently by Richard Eskow*, blogging on Huffington Post about the morality (or lack thereof) of our financial system. Here is an excerpt from his blog:

“Unethical or lawbreaking bankers are morally responsible for their actions. We didn’t break the law or throw people out of their homes. They did.

But even if we don’t share in the guilt, we share the responsibility. Did we do everything we could to stop them? They’re too powerful, people will say, and that’s true. But we have a responsibility to try, and to keep on trying, no matter what. We have a responsibility to engage in the great effort, which is a struggle for better regulation and a more humane economy. It’s also a struggle for hearts and minds – Dimon’s, the media’s, and our own. We should be demanding more – of the banks that serve us, of the media that entertain (if not inform) us, of the government agencies that work for us.

Futures

And we should be demanding more of us. These union pension funds, institutional investors at JPMorgan Chase, took action today to change the way business is done there. So did Father Seamus Finn of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, who introduced one of the resolutions on behalf of a family trust with JPM shares.

More of us need to join them in concerted, constructive economic activism. We can also work to reduce our dependence on the kinds of loans that lead to financial servitude, to the extent that’s possible in this harsh economic climate.”

Read the Huffington Post blog by Richard Eskow on JP Morgan Chase

*Richard Eskow is a writer, and host of ‘The Breakdown’, as well as a Senior Fellow at Campaign for America’s Future

 

Return to Top