شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأزمة المالية


آخر Huffington Blogpost: وسائل الإعلام والثنائي الديناميكي 19 يونيو، 2012

قراءة آخر Huffington blogpost بواسطة الأب. سيموس فين ، OMI الذي يكتب بقسوة عن اللقاءات الأخيرة مع المديرين التنفيذيين لـ Goldman Sachs و JP Morgan Chase في اجتماعاتهم السنوية العامة.

اقرأ المدونة ...

 

 

 


استكشف العدالة الضريبية في فيلم "نحن لم ننكسر" 14 يونيو، 2012

إن ائتلاف حقيقة (حملة من شبكة العدالة الضريبية الأمريكية) في إثارة أسئلة حول الأسباب الحقيقية للأزمة المالية. وفقا للفيلم نحن لسنا كسر, "يواصل النقاد المحافظون والساسة دفع السرد الخاطئ. لم تحطم أمريكا ، لقد تعرضنا للسرقة. لقد أمضت الشركات سنوات في التهرب من مسؤولياتها وعدم دفع حصتها العادلة ".

حدد موقع فحص الفيلم نحن لسنا كسر يرافقه مناقشة متعمقة للسبب الحقيقي لأزمة المالية لدينا على الموقع الإلكتروني ل جولة المشاركة العادلة.

 


التبشيرية المباريات في التضامن مع أصحاب المنازل التي تواجه التعويقات 14 يونيو، 2012

وقد عملت المباراتين التبشيرية في التضامن مع أصحاب المنازل في مقاطعة الأمير وليام VA على قضية الرهن الرهن. في يونيو / حزيران ، جمعت مجموعة Virginis التي تم تنظيمها من أجل المشاركة المجتمعية عبر الأديان (VOICE) أكثر من 3 في الكنيسة المعمدانية الأولى في ماناساس للتفاوض على الالتزامات المتعلقة بحبس الرهن وإعادة ترميم المجتمع من جنرال إلكتريك وبنك أمريكا وشايس. كانت المؤسسات الفرعية والأعضاء الآخرون في مركز الحوار بين الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة عاملين أساسيين في تطوير أجندتهم. الأب ألقى Séamus P. Finn OMI كلمة أمام الجمعية.

مشاهدة الفيديو:

في إجراء 3 يونيو ، مثل المستشار العام لشركة GE Capital الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة GE جيفري إيميلت ، الذي التقت به VOICE في 14 مايو. جاءت هذه الاجتماعات نتيجة للعمل المنسق من قبل منظمة الدعوة بين الأديان والمساهمين الدينيين الذين منحوا المجموعة نفوذاً مع الشركة.

التزمت الشركة بالتفاوض مع VOICE في برنامج إعادة استثمار 300- $ 500 مليون دولار وأعادت تأكيد التزام السيد Immelt بمقابلة VOICE مرة أخرى في أغسطس / أوائل سبتمبر.

وفقًا لمنظمي VOICE ، "لم يكن كل هذا ممكنًا لولا الدعم الثابت من ICCR". تعهد الأب شيموس فين ، OMI بتقديم الدعم المستمر لـ ICCR لحملة VOICE لإعادة الاستثمار بقيمة 300-500 مليون دولار.

كما حضر كبار المسؤولين التنفيذيين من بنك أوف أمريكا وجي بي مورجان إلى حدث الثالث من يونيو. لقد التزموا بتطبيق المساءلة على تسوية الرهن العقاري الوطنية في مكان محلي ، مقاطعة برينس ويليام - وهي المرة الأولى التي يُعرف فيها أن هذا تم في البلاد. التزموا بما يلي:

  • $ 60 Million in principal اكتب في PWCO
  • تعديلات قرض 1,000 في PWCO
  • التفاوض وتوقيع اتفاق إعادة الاستثمار ($ 300- $ 500 Million VOICE الاقتراح) في VOICE October 2012 Action أثناء حرارة الانتخابات.

تعرف على المزيد حول هذه الحملة الفريدة والقوية لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين سحقهم أزمة الرهن العقاري. اقرأ مقال وليام غرايدر في الأمة (تم نشره في أبريل 27 ، 2012): http://www.thenation.com/blog/167625/predator-ge-we-bring-bad-things-life

 

 


أخبر الكونجرس: نهاية أكبر من أن تفشل. جعل المصرفية آمنة 17 مايو، 2012

تتحكم البنوك الخمسة الكبرى الآن في نسبة 52 من أصول الصناعة المالية. كان لديهم 17 بالمائة في 1970. تسيطر البنوك الستة الكبرى على أصول تساوي نسبة 62 في المائة من إجمالي الناتج القومي للبلاد. قد لا يكونون أكبر من أن يفشلوا ، بل قد يكونون أكبر من أن يدخروا.

أكبرهم ، Dimmon JPMorgan Chase ، لديه أصول 2.1 تريليون دولار وأكثر من 239,000. إن رهان البنك الأخير السيئ الذي يصل الآن إلى 3 تريليون دولار ، هو مؤشر واضح على الحاجة إلى الإصلاح الجاد.

قدم السناتور شيرود براون والنائب كيث إليسون تدبيرًا لخفض حجم البنوك الكبيرة جدًا إلى الفشل. القانون المصرفي الآمن (الآمن ، المسؤول ، العادل والكفء) من شأنه أن يضع عنصرًا مهمًا مفقودًا في تشريع الإصلاح المالي الذي كان سائداً منذ عامين: وهو الحد الأقصى الذي يمكن أن تحصل عليه البنوك الكبرى. هزم اللوبي البنك جميع الجهود لتشمل حدودا على حجمها.

والآن أصبحت البنوك الستة الكبرى - بقيادة بنك جيه بي مورجان تشيس - أكبر بشكل جماعي وأكثر تركيزًا مما كانت عليه قبل أن تنفجر الاقتصاد ، مع الأصول التي يسيطرون عليها من 6.1 تريليون دولار قبل الانهيار إلى أكثر من $ 8.5 تريليون اليوم ، بيانات الاحتياطي الفيدرالي.

لقد نجحت جماعات الضغط في وول ستريت في تأخير وتخفيف الضوابط التي كان من المفترض أن تتدفق من مشروع قانون إصلاح وول ستريت. والبنوك الكبيرة لديها طرق للضغط على أي حواجز.

نحن بحاجة إلى آمن من الفشل. إذا كان البنك لا يمكن أن يكون كبيرًا جدًا ، فلن يكون أكبر من أن يفشل.

من بين أحكام قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة أنه لا يمكن لأي بنك أن يحتفظ بأكثر من 10 في المائة من جميع الودائع المصرفية المؤمنة في الدولة ، ولا يمكن أن يكون لدى الشركة القابضة للبنوك التزامات غير متعلقة بالودائع تزيد عن 2 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للدولة .

وفقاً للمعايير الواردة في قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة ، فإن أربعة بنوك موجودة حالياً فوق الحد الأقصى للحجم - JPMorgan Chase ، و Bank of America ، و Citigroup و Wells Fargo - ويجب أن تتقلص. سيكون هذا خطوة رئيسية في جعل الأعمال المصرفية رصينة ومملة ، كما ينبغي أن تكون ، مرة أخرى.

انقر هنا لتخبر الكونجرس: افصل البنوك الكبرى! تمرير السناتور شيرود براون و قانون الخدمات المصرفية الآمنة لكيث إليسون. 

بفضل الحملة من أجل مستقبل أمريكا للحصول على معلومات حول هذا القانون. 


أسئلة مملوءة جي بي مورجان / تشيس المدير التنفيذي خايمي ديمون 16 مايو، 2012

الاب. أدلى Seamus Finn ، OMI الذي يمثل Oblates of Mary Immaculate في JP Morgan / Chase AGM أمس في نابولي ، فلوريدا ، بتعليقات واضحة حول الخسائر الفادحة الأخيرة في الشركة. شكك في معارضة ديمون لـ فولكر القاعدة وممارسة ضغوط البنك في معارضة الجوانب الأخرى للوائح المالية التي يتم تطويرها في لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات ردًا على تشريع دود فرانك.

ونقلت عنه مورين دود اليوم في عمودها في نيويورك تايمز:

قام القس سيموس فين ، ممثلاً بالمساهمين من المنظمة التبشيرية الكاثوليكية "مبشر مريم العذراء" ، بالضغط بلطف على الرئيس: "نحن نتساءل ، السيد ديمون ، بالنظر إلى ما تعلمناه ، هل ما زلت تعتقد أن الشركة قادرة على وأضاف: "علاوة على ذلك ، ينبغي على الشركة أن تنفق بالفعل أموال المساهمين على نحو 10 مليون دولار أمريكي في العام الماضي وحده ، على الجهود المبذولة لإحباط قانون دود-فرانك وعمل المنظمين لكتابة القواعد النابعة من هذا التشريع؟
 
وخلص الكاهن إلى أن حملة الأسهم "مرهقين بالأخطاء" والتعهدات بالإصلاح ، يتساءلون عما إذا كان ديمون يستمع.

الأب كما تم اقتباس الفنلندي في الحارس، وفي CNBC.com, تلغراف, كرين نيويورك بيزنس، و ال timesfreepress.com


البنوك المستهدفة في حملة تصفية الاستثمار ونشاط حملة الأسهم القائمة على العقيدة 29 أبريل، 2012

وقد اتخذت الكنائس والمساهمين العقائديين على حد سواء إجراءات ضد البنوك الكبرى التي فشلت في الاستجابة لمحنة أصحاب المنازل وغيرهم من المتضررين بشكل خطير من الأزمة المالية. وقد عملت مباراتي التبشيرية بنشاط مع البنوك الكبرى والمؤسسات المالية في محاولة للتعامل مع بعض المشاكل الأساسية التي تسببت في الكثير من الألم.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، قام أعضاء من مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) بتسهيل مشاركة VOICE (منظمون فيرجينيا للمشاركة في المجتمع بين الأديان) في ديترويت AGM التابع لشركة GE Capital. VOICE هي منظمة مجتمعية دينية تمثل الأشخاص الذين فقدوا منازلهم أو الذين تتعرض منازلهم للتهديد بسبب أزمة الرهن المستمرة. تمتلك GE Capital بعضًا من هذه الرهون العقارية وقد عارضت التفاوض على شروط الرهن العقاري.

ينظر مقال حديث في خدمة الأخبار الكاثوليكية إلى حملة سحب الاستثمارات المتنامية وبعض الأنشطة الأخرى لجماعات الكنائس مقابل البنوك الكبيرة.

انظر لدينا وظيفة ذات الصلة على المظاهرات خارج Well Fargo AGM الأخيرة في سان فرانسيسكو.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » financial crisis


Latest Huffington Blogpost: The Media and the Dynamic Duo June 19th, 2012

Read the latest Huffington blogpost by Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI who writes scathingly about recent encounters with the CEOs of Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan Chase at their Annual General meetings.

Read the blog…

 

 

 


Explore Tax Justice in the Movie “We’re Not Broke” June 14th, 2012

The FACT Coalition (a campaign of the Tax justice Network USA) in raising questions about the real causes of the financial crisis. According to the movie We’re Not Broke, “conservative pundits and politicians continue to push a false narrative. America hasn’t gone broke, we’ve been robbed. Corporations have spent years dodging their responsibilities and not paying their fair share.”

Locate a screening of the film We’re Not Broke accompanied by an in-depth discussion of the real cause of our financial crisis on the website of The Fair Share Tour.

 


Missionary Oblates in Solidarity with Homeowners Facing Foreclosures June 14th, 2012

The Missionary Oblates have been working in solidarity with homeowners in Prince William County VA on the mortgage foreclosure issue. On June 3rd Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement (VOICE) gathered more than 400 people at the First Baptist Church in Manassas to negotiate commitments on foreclosures and community restoration from GE, Bank of America and Chase. The Oblates and other members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility were instrumental in advancing their agenda. Fr. Séamus P. Finn OMI addressed the assembly.

Watch the video:

At the June 3rd action, GE Capital’s General Counsel represented GE CEO Jeffry Immelt, with whom VOICE had met on May 14th. These meetings came about as a result of coordinated action by the interfaith advocacy organization and religious shareholders who gave the group leverage with the company.

The company committed to negotiate with VOICE on their $300-$500 million Reinvestment agenda and restated Mr. Immelt’s commitment to meet with VOICE again in August/early September.

According to VOICE organizers, “All this would not have been possible without the steadfast support of ICCR”. Father Seamus Finn, OMI pledged ICCR’s continuing support for VOICE’s $300-$500 million reinvestment campaign.

Top executives from Bank of America & JP Morgan also came to the June 3rd action. They committed to implementation accountability on the National Mortgage Settlement in a local place, Prince William County – the first time this is known to have been done in the country. They committed to:

  • $60 Million in principal write down in PWCO
  • 1,000 Loan Modifications in PWCO
  • Negotiate and Sign Reinvestment Deal ($300-$500 Million VOICE proposal) at VOICE October 2012 Action during the heat of the elections.

Learn more about this unique and powerful campaign to help people crushed by the mortgage crisis. Read William Greider’s article in the Nation (published April 27, 2012): http://www.thenation.com/blog/167625/predator-ge-we-bring-bad-things-life

 

 


Tell Congress: End Too-Big-To-Fail. Make Banking SAFE May 17th, 2012

The top five banks now control 52 percent of the financial industry’s assets; they had 17 percent in 1970. The six largest banks control assets equal to 62 percent of the nation’s gross national product. They may be not only too big to fail, but also too big to save.

The biggest of them, Dimon’s JPMorgan Chase, has $2.1 trillion in assets and more than 239,000 employees. The bank’s recent bad bet that now amounts to $3 trillion, is a clear indication of the need for serious reform.

Sen. Sherrod Brown and Rep. Keith Ellison have introduced a measure to cut too-big-to-fail banks down to size. The SAFE (Safe, Accountable, Fair and Efficient) Banking Act would put in place an important element missing from the financial reform legislation of two years ago: a cap on how big banks can get. The bank lobby defeated all efforts to include a limit on their size.

Now the six largest banks – led by JPMorgan Chase – are collectively larger and more concentrated than they were before they blew up the economy, with the assets they control growing from $6.1 trillion before the collapse to more than $8.5 trillion today, according to Federal Reserve data.

Wall Street lobbyists have successfully delayed and diluted regulations that were supposed to flow from the Wall Street reform bill. And the big banks have ways to push their way around any barriers.

We need a fail-safe. If a bank can’t be too big, then it can’t be too big to fail.

Among the provisions of the Safe Banking Act are that no bank could hold more than 10 percent of all of the insured bank deposits in the country, nor could a bank holding company have non-deposit liabilities greater than 2 percent of the nation’s gross domestic product.

By the standards in the SAFE Banking Act, four existing banks are currently above the size cap—JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, Citigroup and Wells Fargo—and would have to shrink. This would be a major step in making banking sober—and boring, as it should be—once again.

Click here to tell Congress: Break up the big banks! Pass Sen. Sherrod Brown and Rep. Keith Ellison’s SAFE Banking Act. 

Thanks to the Campaign for America’s Future for the information on this bill. 


Oblate Questions JP Morgan/Chase CEO Jaime Dimon May 16th, 2012

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI representing the Oblates of Mary Immaculate at the JP Morgan/Chase AGM yesterday in Naples, Florida, made pointed comments about the latest heavy losses at the company. He questioned Dimon’s opposition to the Volcker Rule and the bank’s lobbying in opposition to other aspects of the financial regulations being developed at the SEC in response to the Dodd-Frank legislation.

He was quoted today by Maureen Dowd in her NY Times column:

The Rev. Seamus Finn, representing shareholders from the Catholic organization Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, did gently press the boss: “We’re wondering, Mr. Dimon, given what we’ve learned, do you still believe a company can self-regulate when trading on their own accounts?” He added: “Furthermore, should our company really be spending shareholder funds on, some $7 million last year alone, on lobbying efforts to thwart the Dodd-Frank legislation and the work of regulators to write the rules stemming from that legislation?”
 
The priest concluded that the shareholders, “weary of mistakes” and pledges to reform, wonder if Dimon is listening.

Fr. Finn was also quoted in The Guardian, on CNBC.com, The Telegraph, Crain’s New York Business, and the timesfreepress.com


Banks Targeted in Divestment Campaign and by Faith-Based Shareholder Activism April 29th, 2012

Churches and faith-based shareholders alike have been taking action against big banks that have failed to respond to the plight of homeowners and others seriously affected by the financial crisis. The Missionary Oblates have been actively engaging the big banks and financial institutions in an effort to deal with some of the underlying problems that have caused so much pain to so many.

Recently, members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) facilitated the participation of VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement) in the Detroit AGM of GE Capital. VOICE is a faith-based community organization representing people who have lost their homes or whose houses are threatened by the on-going foreclosure crisis. GE Capital holds some of these mortgages and has been resistant to negotiation of the mortgage terms.

A recent article in Catholic News Service looks at the growing divestment campaign and some of the other activities of church groups vis a vis the big banks.

See our related post on the demonstrations outside the recent Well Fargo AGM in San Francisco.

Return to Top