شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »fr seamus finn omi


مهنيو الاستثمار يجتمعون في جامعة ماركيت لمناقشة الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا أكتوبر 10th، 2019

نشر في الأصل من قبل مركز صنع السلام في جامعة ماركيت

كان القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، المتحدث الرئيسي في ندوة ماركيت الأولى حول الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا. استكشف الفنلندي الرئيسي تاريخ الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا ، بالاعتماد على القصص الشخصية من خلفيته والعمل كرئيس لمجلس إدارة مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركة (ICCR).

أثار الحدث أيضًا تبادل المعرفة المثمر والتواصل بين طلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في ماركويت وخبراء الاستثمار في ميلووكي. بحثت حلقة نقاش واسعة النطاق مجموعة متنوعة من الاستراتيجيات والتحديات في أذهان ممارسي الاستثمار والمدافعين عن المسؤولية الاجتماعية.

تحدث عن الحرم الجامعي المستثمر اجتماعيًا ، حيث حضر ضيفًا فنلنديًا في فصول اللاهوت والتمويل خلال زيارته التي استمرت ثلاثة أيام للحرم الجامعي.

الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا من 1970 إلى اليوم

القس فين يجتمع مع الطلاب في برنامج هدف ماركيت

أشار الفنلندي إلى حدثين على أنه بداية الحركة الحديثة نحو الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا: الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا واستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية في فيتنام. كانت دعوة المساهمين هي الطريقة التي استخدمها المركز في مكافحة هذه المظالم. في كل حالة من هذه الحالات ، أظهر المساهمون القدرة على التأثير على شركات مثل جنرال موتورز وفورد والعديد من البنوك القديمة لدورهم في تأجيج الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا ، وشركة داو كيميكال لصناعة نابالم ووكيل أورانج المستخدمة في فيتنام.

منذ ذلك الحين ، تعمل ICCR مع العديد من الشركات لتحسين حقوق الإنسان وسلامة الأغذية واستدامتها ، والصحة البيئية ، وسلامة المياه واستدامتها ، والخدمات المالية ، والصحة العالمية والمحلية. على الرغم من أن ICCR ليست منظمة كاثوليكية على وجه الحصر ، فإن تأثير التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي (CST) واضح في هذه الأولويات. خص الفنلندي بها 1986 رسالة رعوية USCCB حول التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي والاقتصاد الأمريكي بعنوان "العدالة الاقتصادية للجميع".

لذلك ، كيف تفعل ICCR هذا؟ من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من أشكال الدعوة للمساهمين ، بما في ذلك قرارات المساهمين ، وكلاء التصويت ، حوارات الشركات ، وغيرها من الاستراتيجيات.

بعض الأدوات الفنلندية المقدمة لتشجيع الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا هي الفحص الإيجابي والسلبي ، والفحص القائم على المعايير الدولية ، والتصويت بالوكالة ، وتكامل العوامل البيئية والاجتماعية والمجتمعية والحكومية (ESG) ، والاستثمار تحت عنوان الاستدامة ، والاستثمار / التأثير المجتمعي.

القضايا المعاصرة في الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا

شارك الفنلندي ما يراه بعضًا من أهم القضايا بين المستثمرين المسؤولين اجتماعيًا اليوم:

  1. التغيرات المناخية
  2. السجون الخاصة
  3. الوصول إلى الأسلحة النارية
  4. إدمان المواد الأفيونية
  5. الذكاء الاصطناعي والروبوتات

وأشار فين إلى أن هذه ليست مجرد اهتمامات داخل القطاع المالي / الشركات ، فهي نتيجة الاهتمامات المجتمعية واهتمام المساهمين. علاوة على ذلك ، أشار إلى أن الاهتمام العام بتغير المناخ فريد من حيث أن تأثيره يصل إلى جميع القطاعات.

واختتم الفنلندي تصريحاته ببيان مؤثر حول ما هو على المحك في جميع القضايا المستهدفة اجتماعيًا للاستثمار. وعلى الرغم من مستوى المعيشة غير المسبوق الموجود لمعظم الناس في الولايات المتحدة ، حذر الفنلندي من قبول الولايات المتحدة ببساطة باعتبارها "وعدًا" وقال فين ، إنه من الضروري أن نتذكر تكلفة ذلك ، حيث يجب علينا أن نتذكر بتواضع رصين إراقة الدماء التي ساهمت في الرخاء الذي نتمتع به اليوم.

تعد أهمية التعرف على أولئك الذين عانوا والعمل على منع المعاناة في المستقبل جزءًا لا يتجزأ من المشاركة في SRI وتعزيز السلام من خلال قطاع الأعمال.

فريق الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيا

القس الفنلندي يجتمع مع طبقة لاهوت ماركيت

بعد خطاب الفنلندي ، انتقلت الندوة إلى لجنة من المحترفين من منطقة ميلووكي. ترأس الجلسة كريستوفر ميركر ، أستاذ المالية المساعد في ماركويت الذي يدرس دورة حول التمويل المستدام. وكان المشاركون في المناقشة لورا غوف (بيرد - استشارات استثمار) ، ناديل غروسمان (جامعة ماركيت - القانون والحكم) ، جو هنزلك (ISS - الاستدامة والحكم) ، ليو هارمون (Mesirow Financial - إدارة الأصول) ، وكونر دارو (جامعة ماركيت - الهدف طالب).

ناقشوا مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع بما في ذلك:

  • التعاريف الفردية لل SRI
  • الفحص وأهمية ESG في SRI
  • أفكار حول المائدة المستديرة للأعمال
  • القانون الائتماني والالتزامات
  • القوى المحركة في SRI
  • استخدام SRI في صناديق صغيرة / متوسطة الحجم
  • الاتجاهات في مشاركة المساهمين
  • ربط الدفع لنتائج ESG
  • سحب الوقود الأحفوري
  • أفكار قابلة للتنفيذ لتنفيذ SRI

اختتم هذا الحدث بحفل استقبال ، حيث واصل الحاضرون وأعضاء اللجنة والمتحدثون الرئيسيون مناقشة SRI ومجموعة متنوعة من الآثار المترتبة عليه في تعزيز السلام والعدالة على المستوى المحلي والوطني والدولي.

تم تنظيم ندوة الاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا من قبل مركز صنع السلام ، كلية إدارة الأعمال ، الإدارة المالية. قام برعاية الحدث Baird و CFA Society Milwaukee و Mesirow Financial و Sage Advisory و Federated Investors.


يومين في جنيف مع الأب. Séamus Finn، OMI 2 فبراير، 2017

"التأمل في التناقض الصارخ في وجهات النظر والرسائل والطموح والأحلام وقراءة التاريخ والحالة الراهنة للعلاقات الدولية في مكان مليء بالتاريخ"

تزامنت زيارتي التي استغرقت يومين في جنيف مع أول يومين كاملين من إدارة ترامب في واشنطن. لقد أصبحت هذه التجربة بمثابة تراجع خلصني في وقت من الأوقات من الاتصال بالعديد من الناس والمؤسسات والأفكار التي شكلت النظام العالمي المتعدد الأطراف واستمرّت فيه على خلفية التهديدات بإلغاء وتعطيل الكثير من الاتفاقات والممارسات التي هي المواضيع التي تم دمجها في نسيج التماسك والتعاون الدولي. لا أعتقد أن أي مدينة أخرى ، كما أعتقد ، من حيث عدد الأشخاص والحكومات التي اجتمعت هنا للتفاوض حول السلام ، لتوقيع الاتفاقيات والمعاهدات ولإصلاح مرة أخرى التمزقات والجروح التي غالبًا ما قسمت القبائل والمقاطعات والمناطق.

شاركت في جلسة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة حول تحسين الوصول إلى الأدوية لعلاج الأمراض المهملة في معهد دراسات التنمية الدولية التي جمعت مجموعة دولية متنوعة للغاية من الباحثين وشركات الأدوية والحكومات ووكالات التنمية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمستثمرين. اجتمعوا لتقييم التقدم الذي تم إحرازه من خلال هذه العملية التعاونية ، لمناقشة المفاهيم والمبادرات الجديدة التي كان يجري النظر فيها واستكشاف السبل التي من خلالها نجاح هذه يمكن تعزيز الجهود من خلال هذه المنصة التعاونية المفتوحة.


وفي المساء ، اجتمعت مع آخرين كثيرين في كنيسة القديس نيكولاس دي فلو لإقامة صلاة بين الأديان للاحتفال باليوم العالمي للسلام الذي رعاه المراقب الدائم عن الكرسي الرسولي لدى الأمم المتحدة في جنيف. هذا الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة لليوم العالمي للسلام الذي بدأه البابا بولس السادس في 50 وركز هذا العام على موضوع "اللاعنف: نمط من السياسة من أجل السلام". قدم ممثلو التقاليد الدينية المختلفة ، والإسلام ، واليهود ، والبوذيين ، والأرثوذكس ، والبروتستانت والكاثوليك ، تفكيرهم في رسالة هذا العام من البابا فرانسيس ، وتم تقديم الصلوات بست لغات مختلفة. وأضاف جوقات من أفريقيا والفلبين فضلا عن موكب الصلاة على غرار الفيتنامية لهذا العرض.

في اليوم الثاني توجهت إلى مقر الأمم المتحدة في جنيف للمشاركة في حدث رعته منظمات دينية وعلمانية وحكومية للاعتراف بمساهمات الرهبان الدومينيكيين من القرن 15th في تأسيس القانون الدولي والمبادئ عملية من شأنها أن تؤدي في النهاية إلى إنشاء عصبة الأمم والأمم المتحدة. بمناسبة اختتام الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة لذكرى الرهبان الدومينيكيين ، انضم إلى الفريق العام للمجموعة ، بالإضافة إلى عدد من مسؤولي الأمم المتحدة وممثلي الحكومة ، إلى عدد كبير من المدعوين في قاعة المجلس التي أصبحت الآن موطنًا مؤتمر نزع السلاح وتحمل اسم فرانسيسكو دي فيتوريا ، OP.

عندما غادرت قاعة المجلس واتجهت نحو الخروج من أرضية الأمم المتحدة ، كنت أسير في الطريق إلى جانب صفوف من أعلام البلد التي كان يجري إزعاجها في بعض الأحيان بنسيم لطيف في هذه الليلة الباردة. ووجدت نفسي أتأمل في المناقشات ونعم الحلول الوسط والقادة الذين ساهموا في تأسيس عصبة الأمم ثم الأمم المتحدة وأصول المؤسسات والمنظمات الدولية العديدة الموجودة اليوم. ما هو حلمهم ورؤيتهم التأسيسية ومهمتهم التوجيهية؟ ما هي المشاكل والمشاكل والتحديات التي كانوا يأملون في حلها أو حلها؟ ما كان مصدر إلهام أو شجاعة أو تفاني العديد من الأفراد من جميع أنحاء العالم الذين ساهموا في هذا العمل العظيم. بينما نتخطى عدد سكان العالم من 7.5 بليون ونصارع برعاية بيتنا المشترك الهش والجميل ، كما ذكرنا البابا فرانسيس ، تساءلت أين وكيف سنجد الحكمة والمهندسين المعماريين لبناء المؤسسات والعلاقات التي ستكون اللازمة للحفاظ على نظامنا معا.

إن تنصيب إدارة ترامب يقدم تحديا عميقا في العديد من النواحي لرؤية نظام عالمي وعالمي متجذر في الاعتقاد بأن روح الثقة والتعاون المتبادلين يمكن أن ترتكز على مبادئ القانون الدولي وتحكمها المؤسسات التي تستند على تلك المبادئ. وإذا أخذنا البلد بطرق معينة من شبكة العلاقات الدولية هذه ونخفف من ثقة المرء والتزامه في المؤسسات القائمة لتعزيز الانسجام السلمي ، فإن حل الخلافات وتوفير مكان للنقاش العام والتعاون يبدو متهورا ويفتقر إلى البصيرة. على الأقل ، هناك اختلاف كبير في اتجاه وتمزيق البروتوكولات التي ظلت قائمة منذ عقود.

في الوقت الذي يحدث فيه اضطراب كبير في سياساتنا في الولايات المتحدة وفي أماكن أخرى ، يُترك لنا أن ننظر مرة أخرى إلى أسسنا وأن نجد الاتجاه والمعنى والحياة في دعوتنا. لقد ذكّرتنا الديانة المنزلية في ليتورجيا الرعية المحلية يوم الأحد الماضي بعناية أنه في التطويبات يمكن أن نجد الميثاق للعيش حياة مسيحية وتجربة النعمة مليئة بحضور الله الحي. قد يكون كذلك!


الأب سيموس فين ، OMI و. جوزيف جوميز ، OMI في منتدى السكان الأصليين 19 يناير، 2017

(اليسار) جوزيف جوميز ، OMI ، (على اليمين) الأب. سيموس فين ، OMI ، مع زميل في منتدى السكان الأصليين

قراءة المزيد عن وزارة Oblate مع الشعوب الأصلية.


الأب Seamus Finn تعليقات على معايير الأعمال ويلز فارجو ديسمبر 12th، 2016

frseamusiccrwellsfargo

يواصل أعضاء ICCR الضغط على Wells Fargo على معالجة الأبعاد الأخلاقية لبيان الرؤية والقيم وتعزيز الثقافة التي تعطي الأولوية لخدمة العملاء الحقيقية والسلعة العامة كأولويات.

Sr Nora Nash OSF و Fr Séamus Finn OMI أخلاقيات العمل على ما تريد ويلز فارجو القيام به. http://business-ethics.com/2016/12/10/where-wells-fargo-goes-from-here/


"قادة الأعمال كوكلاء للدمج الاقتصادي والاجتماعي" - Séamus Finn، OMI ديسمبر 5th، 2016

فيما يلي نص الملاحظات الافتتاحية التي أدلى بها مؤخرا الأب. Séamus Finn ، OMI في مؤتمر UNIAPAC الدولي في الفاتيكان.

شيموس-2b

سوف أستكشف باختصار موضوعين في الوقت الذي أملكه. أولاً ، أود أن أقدم بعض وجهات النظر حول تفاعل التدريس الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي مع عوالم التمويل والتجارة. ثانياً ، سأقدم ملخصاً مختصراً عن نتائج مؤتمرين حول الاستثمار المؤثر الذي تم برعاية مشتركة من قبل المجلس البابوي حول العدل والسلام ، وخدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية وكلية مندوزا للأعمال في جامعة نوتر دام في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا والمالية والتجارية

قدمت CST في تطورها التاريخي تحليلاً مستدامًا ثابتًا ونقدًا وتأكيدًا لمختلف أنواع المعاملات المالية والتجارية التي ظهرت على مدى القرون.

هذه هي الأنشطة البشرية التي وجدت وتطورت على مدى الألفية ، وبالتالي قدمت أسئلة وتحديات الوجودية لتعاليم ومبادئ التقليد الديني. وشملت الجهات الفاعلة والإجراءات والمواضيع التي تم بحثها أدوار ومسؤوليات المالكين والعملاء والمشترين ؛ المقترضين والمقرضين. التزامات المدينين ومدى ملاءمة معدلات الفائدة ؛ المسؤولية تجاه معايير العدالة والدعوة إلى الإحسان التي يطالب بها الإيمان.

في العقود الأخيرة ، دعت لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا وطعنت في الدخول في تحليل أعمق لكيفية تطبيق مبادئ لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا ، التي نحن على دراية كاملة بها ، والتضامن ، والتبعية ، والمشاركة ورعاية الخ. وما إلى ذلك ، في المعاملات المالية والتجارية. والأنشطة التي تمارس اليوم. تاريخياً ، كان النقاش في هذا التقليد غالباً حول أدوار ومسؤوليات الكنيسة في التدريس والتشديد والدولة في حكم وتنظيم القضايا والقطاعات العديدة التي أثرت على المجتمع. واليوم ، أصبح القطاع الخاص ممثلاً في المجتمع المدني والشركات يحتل مكانه الصحيح على طاولة النقاش والعمل بشأن جميع القضايا التي تواجهها المجتمعات.

وقد أدى التقاء بعض السائقين الداخليين والخارجيين إلى ظهور هذا النموذج الجديد لأصحاب المصلحة المتعددين. داخليا منذ المجمع الفاتيكاني الثاني ، تطورت الكنيسة والمؤمنون إلى وعي أعمق بأنفسهم كفاعلين في المجتمع ومساهمين في البحث عن استجابات بناءة للتحديات التي تواجهها المجتمعات. في العقود الأخيرة من خلال تدخل الباباوات المتعاقبين ، كانت هناك صحوة عميقة في الكنيسة إلى الوضع المترابط الذي تتشارك فيه كل المخلوقات في كوكب محدود. أخيراً أكد البابا فرنسيس في الإرشاد الرسولي إيفانجليلي غوديوم و Laudato Sí المنشور على تعليم التقاليد وذكر في 2013 أن هناك حاجة إلى "السماح لمبادئ الإنجيل بالتغلغل في الأنشطة المالية والاقتصادية للكنيسة أيضًا". هذا يتفق مع دعوة المجلس في فرح ورجاء ومع التحدي الواضح الذي يقدمه العدالة في العالم في 1971 (لا. 40) ؛ "في حين أن الكنيسة ملتزمة بتقديم شهادة للعدالة ، فهي تدرك أن أي شخص يغامر للتحدث إلى الناس عن العدالة يجب أن يكون في نظره أولاً. ومن ثم يجب علينا إجراء فحص لأساليب التمثيل والممتلكات ونمط الحياة الموجودة داخل الكنيسة نفسها".

خارجيا ، تركت عملية العولمة المتواصلة أثرا في كل مكان. وقد كان له تأثير عميق على التحالفات السياسية والمجتمع المدني ونمو وتغلغل الشركات وتوسيع الحركات الاجتماعية بقيادة التوسع القطاعي العالمي وتكامل النظام المالي. إن الابتكارات التكنولوجية التي سهلت الكثير من وصول العولمة وشمولها منتشرة في المناطق النائية من الكوكب.

الاستثمار تأثير

إن المؤتمرين اللذين عقدا في مؤسسة Impact Investing اللذان رعيا معاً مع المجلس البابوي في 2014 و 2016 قد فتحا أرضية جديدة في مشاركة الكنيسة مع الرأسمالية وتجاوزا المناهج التقليدية للاستثمار الاجتماعي المسؤول والمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات. من نواح عديدة ، كانت محاولة للرد على الانتقادات الموجهة للرأسمالية التي قدمها البابا فرانسيس ودعوته إلى نظام مالي شامل ، يهتم بالبيئة ويأخذ على محمل الجد مسؤوليتنا تجاه الأجيال القادمة. وقد أظهرت هذه المؤتمرات كيف أن الاستثمار كان متسقاً مع لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا ، وكيف يعمل المستثمرون الأفراد والمؤسسات على مواءمة نشر أصولهم لدعم التأثيرات الاجتماعية والبيئية الإيجابية ، والنظر في الأدوات والمناهج اللازمة لتحقيق تلك الأهداف.

جمعوا وكالات التنمية من القطاع الخاص والرسمي وكذلك المؤسسات وممثلي المؤسسات المالية الدولية. كما قاموا بتجميع ممثلي المشاريع والمبادرات التي كانت تبحث عن مصادر موثوقة لرأس المال المناسب للمريض ملتزمة بتحقيق عوائد مالية واجتماعية وبيئية. أعتقد أن كلا هذين الحدثين تماشيا مع الدور التقليدي الذي لعبته الكنيسة عندما تسعى إلى خلق فضاء حيث يمكن احتضان المبادرات الجديدة التي تبشر بالخير في الاستجابة للاحتياجات المتطورة للمجتمعات.

الرأسمالية 2.0

وفي هذا السياق ، يدعونا البابا فرانسيس جميعنا للمشاركة في الترويج للرأسمالية 2.0 التي تترك وراءها المناهج والأنشطة التي لا تأخذ في الاعتبار العواقب الاجتماعية والبيئية السلبية لأفعالها والتي تكون أولويتها الوحيدة هي الربح و القوة. ويتسق هذا مع الجهود السابقة لتعزيز الاتحادات الائتمانية والتعاونيات التي تدعمها لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا. يجب أن تكون المؤسسات والشركات في الرأسمالية 2.0 على استعداد لطرح أسئلة صعبة مثل: ماذا وكيف نشاطك أو منتجك أو خدمتك تساهم في الصالح العام؟ المستثمرون ، أيضا ، بدءا من أولئك الذين يسعون إلى الاستثمار بطريقة تتفق مع عقيدتهم ، وبالتالي يجب على لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا أن تسأل ؛ أين ينام أموالك؟ وبينما كنت نائما ما هي الأموال التي تستخدمها لتمويل؟ في الرأسمالية التي تصوره لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا والبابا فرانسيس ، قد نسأل كذلك. ما أنواع البنوك والشركات والمستثمرين والمؤسسات التي نحتاجها في CAP 2؟ ما هي أنواع اللوائح والإشراف والشفافية التي نحتاجها في جميع الولايات القضائية المتعددة المسؤولة عن ضمان استقرار وسيولة النظام المالي وموثوقية المؤسسات الرئيسية التي تعمل في النظام.

شيموس-1

تتفق مع الإيمان ومع التقاليد

بينما نسعى لتحسين عملياتنا التجارية ومعاملاتنا المالية مع CST ، فإننا مدعوون للنظر في كيفية إسهامنا بشكل إيجابي في جميع عملياتنا وللمستثمرين أين وماذا نريد الاستثمار فيها. وقد حددت مجالات 10 مثل الزراعة المستدامة ، والإسكان والرعاية الصحية بأسعار معقولة ، والتكنولوجيا النظيفة التي يمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة ولكن جميع العمليات التجارية لها تأثيرات. في سعيها لتقليل الآثار الاجتماعية والبيئية السلبية التي تسببها وتزيد مساهماتها الإيجابية ، يمكن أن يكون قادة الأعمال في جميع القطاعات عوامل اندماج اقتصادي واجتماعي واحتضان البعد الإيكولوجي لرعايتهم لرعاية بيتنا المشترك.


الأب Séamus Finn: عرض فيديو عن الأعمال والأسواق والصالح العام نوفمبر 4th، 2016

في هذا الفيديو Séamus فين ، OMI ، عناوين الأعمال والأسواق والصالح العام: تحدي Laudato Si.

نظمت هذه المناقشة العامة من قبل معا من أجل الخير العام (www.togetherforthecommongood.co.uk) في سانت مايكل في كورنهيل ، لندن ، إنجلترا.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » fr seamus finn omi


Investment Professionals Convene at Marquette University to Discuss Socially Responsible Investing October 10th, 2019

Originally Published by The Center for Peacemaking at Marquette University

Rev. Séamus Finn, OMI, was the keynote speaker at Marquette’s first symposium on Socially Responsible Investing. Finn’s keynote explored the history of socially responsible investing, drawing on personal stories from his background and work as board chair of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR).

The event also sparked fruitful knowledge sharing and networking among Marquette students and faculty, and Milwaukee investment professionals. A wide-ranging panel discussion examined a variety of strategies and challenges on the minds of socially responsible investing practitioners and advocates.

Talk of socially responsible investing permeated campus as Finn guest lectured in Theology and Finance classes during his three-day visit to campus.

Socially Responsible Investing from the 1970’s to today

Rev. Finn meets with students in Marquette’s AIM Program

Finn noted two events as the genesis of the modern movement toward socially responsible investing: apartheid in South Africa and the use of chemical weapons in Vietnam. Shareholder advocacy was the method the ICCR used to combat these injustices. In each of these cases, shareholders demonstrated the ability to influence companies such as General Motors, Ford, and various legacy banks for their role fueling apartheid in South Africa, and Dow Chemical for manufacturing Napalm and Agent Orange used in Vietnam.

Since then, the ICCR has engaged with numerous corporations to improve human rights, food safety and sustainability, environmental health, water safety and sustainability, financial services, and global and domestic health. Though ICCR is not an exclusively Catholic organization, the influence of Catholic Social Teaching (CST) is evident in these priorities. Finn singled out the USCCB’s 1986 Pastoral Letter on Catholic Social Teaching and the U.S. Economy titled “Economic Justice for All.”

So, how does ICCR do this? Through a variety of forms of shareholder advocacy, including stockholder resolutions, voting proxies, corporate dialogues, and other strategies.

Some tools Finn offered for promoting socially responsible investing are positive and negative screening, international norms-based screening, proxy voting, integration of environmental, societal, and governmental (ESG) factors, sustainability themed investing, and impact/community investing.

Contemporary issues in Socially Responsible Investing

Finn shared what he sees as some of the most important issues among socially responsible investors today:

  1. Climate change
  2. Private prisons
  3. Access to firearms
  4. Opioid addiction
  5. Artificial intelligence and robotics

These are not only concerns within the financial/corporate sector, Finn noted, they are a result of societal concern and shareholder interest. Furthermore, he noted that public interest in climate change is unique in that its impact reaches across all sectors.

Finn concluded his remarks with a poignant statement on what is at stake across all of the issues socially responsible investing targets.Despite the unprecedented standard of living present for most people in the United States, Finn cautioned against simply accepting the United States as a “promised land of political freedom and economic opportunities.” It’s imperative to remember the cost of this, Finn said, as we must recall with a sober humility the bloodshed that has contributed to the prosperity we enjoy today.

The importance of recognizing those who have suffered and working to prevent future suffering is integral to participating in SRI and to promoting peace through the business sector.

Socially Responsible Investing Panel

Rev. Finn meets with a Marquette theology class

Following Finn’s speech, the symposium transitioned into a panel of professionals from the Milwaukee area. The panel was moderated by Christopher Merker, an adjunct professor of finance at Marquette who teaches a course on sustainable finance. The panelists were Laura Gough (Baird — Investment Consulting), Nadelle Grossman (Marquette University — Law & Governance), Joe Henzlik (ISS — Sustainability & Governance), Leo Harmon (Mesirow Financial — Asset Management), and Conner Darrow (Marquette University — AIM Student).

They discussed a variety of topics including:

  • Individual definitions of SRI
  • Screening and the importance of ESG in SRI
  • Thoughts on the Business Roundtable
  • Fiduciary law and obligations
  • Driving forces in SRI
  • Using SRI in small/mid-cap funds
  • Trends in shareholder engagement
  • Linking pay to ESG results
  • Fossil fuel divestment
  • Actionable ideas to implement SRI

The event concluded with a reception, where the attendees, panelists, and keynote speakers continued to discuss SRI and the variety of implications that it has in the promotion of peace and justice on a local, national, and international level.

The Socially Responsible Investing Symposium was organized by the Center for Peacemaking, College of Business Administration, and Finance Department. The event was sponsored by Baird, CFA Society Milwaukee, Mesirow Financial, Sage Advisory, and Federated Investors.


Two Days in Geneva with Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI February 2nd, 2017

“Pondering the stark contrast in perspectives, messaging, ambition, dreams, reading of history and the current state of the international relations in a place that is filled with history”

My two day visit to Geneva paralleled the two first full days of the Trump administration in Washington. The experience became like a retreat that at once brought me into contact with so many of the people, institutions and ideas that have formed and sustained the international multilateral system against the background of threats to repeal and disrupt many of the agreements and practices that are the threads that have been knit together into the tapestry of international cohesion and cooperation. It is like no other city, I think, in terms of the numbers of people and governments that have gathered here to negotiate peace, to sign agreements and treaties and to repair again the ruptures and wounds that have often divided tribes and counties and regions.

I participated in a multi stakeholder session on improving access to medicines for the treatment of neglected diseases at the Institute of International Development Studies that brought together a very diverse international set of researchers, pharmaceutical companies, governments, development agencies, NGOs and investors. They came together to evaluate the progress that has been made through this collaborative process, to discuss new concepts and initiatives that were being considered and to explore avenues whereby the success of these efforts might be enhanced through this open collaborative platform.


In the evening I gathered with many others at the church of St. Nicolas de Flüe for an interfaith prayer service to mark the World Day of Peace that was sponsored by the Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the United Nations in Geneva. This marked the 50th anniversary of the World Day of Peace that was initiated by Pope Paul VI in 1967 and focused this year on the theme of “Non Violence: A style of politics for peace”. One by one the representatives of different faith traditions, Islam, Jewish, Buddhist, Orthodox, Protestant and Catholic, offered their reflection on this year’s message from Pope Francis and prayers were offered in six different languages. Choirs from Africa and the Philippines as well as a Vietnamese style prayer procession added to the offering.

On the second day I made my way to the UN headquarters in Geneva to participate in an event that was sponsored by religious, secular and government organizations to recognize the contributions of a 15th century Dominican friar to the foundation of International Law and to the principles and process that would eventually lead to the establishment of the League of Nations and the United Nations. On the occasion of the conclusion of the celebration of the 800th anniversary of the Dominican friars, the Master general of the congregation as well as a number of UN officials and government representatives joined a large number of invitees in the Council Chamber that is now home to the conference on Disarmament and bear the name of Francisco de Vitoria, OP.

As I left the Council Chamber and headed toward the exit of the UN grounds I walked down the avenue and alongside the rows of country flags that were being occasionally disturbed by a gentle breeze on this chilly night. I found myself pondering both the discussions and yes compromises and the leaders that had contributed to the establishment of the League of Nations and then United Nations and the origins of the numerous international institutions and organizations that exist today. What was their dream, their founding vision and their guiding mission? What issues, problems and challenges were they hoping to address or solve? What inspiration, courage or dedication informed the numerous individuals from all over the world who contributed to this great work. As we surpass a world population of 7.5 billion and wrestle with the care of our fragile and beautiful common home, as Pope Francis reminded us, I wondered where and how we will find the wisdom and the architects to build the institutions and relationships that will be needed to hold our system together.

The inauguration of the Trump administration is offering in many ways a profound challenge to the vision of an international and global system that was rooted in the belief that a spirit of mutual trust and collaboration could be grounded in the principles of international law and governed by institutions that were based on those principles. Taking the country in some ways out of that web of international relationships and reducing one’s trust and commitment in the institutions that exist to promote harmony peacefully, resolve differences and provide a venue for public debate and cooperation appears reckless and lacking in foresight. At a minimum it is a significant divergence in direction and disruptive of the protocols that have been in place for decades.

At a time of significant disruption in our politics in the US and elsewhere we are left to look again to our foundations and to find direction and meaning and life in our vocation. The homilist at the local parish liturgy last Sunday carefully reminded us that in the Beatitudes we can find the Charter for living a Christian life and experience the grace filled presence of the Living God. May it be so!


Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI at Indigenous forum January 19th, 2017

(Left) Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI, (right) Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI, with a colleague at Indigenous forum

Read more about Oblate Ministry with Indigenous peoples.


Fr. Seamus Finn Comments on Wells Fargo’s Business Standards December 12th, 2016

frseamusiccrwellsfargo

ICCR members continue to press Wells Fargo on addressing ethical dimensions of their vision and values statement and strengthening a culture that prioritizes true customer service and the common good as priorities.

Sr Nora Nash OSF and Fr Séamus Finn OMI speak to Business Ethics on what Wells Fargo needs to dohttp://business-ethics.com/2016/12/10/where-wells-fargo-goes-from-here/

 


“Business Leaders as Agents of Economic and Social Inclusion” – Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI December 5th, 2016

The following is the text of opening remarks recently made by Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI at the UNIAPAC International Conference at the Vatican.

 

seamus-2b

I will briefly explore two themes in the time that I have. First I want to offer some perspectives on the interaction of Catholic Social Teaching with the worlds of finance and commerce. Secondly I will offer a brief summary of the outcomes from two conferences on Impact Investing that were jointly  sponsored by the Pontifical Council on Justice and Peace, Catholic Relief Services and the Mendoza College of Business at Notre Dame University in the USA.

CST, Finance and Commerce

CST has in its historical evolution presented a sustained consistent analysis, critique and affirmation of the various types of financial and commercial transactions that came into existence over the centuries.

These are human activities that have existed and evolved over millennium and therefore presented existential questions and challenges to the teachings and principles of the faith tradition. The actors, actions and themes that were being examined included the roles and responsibilities of owners and customers and buyers; borrowers and lenders; the obligations of debtors and the appropriateness of interest rates; the responsibility to the norms of justice and the call to charity that the faith demands.

In recent decades CST has been called and challenged to go into a deeper analysis of how the principles of CST, that we are all very familiar with, solidarity, subsidiarity, participation and care for creation etc. should be applied in the financial and commercial transactions and activities that are practiced today. Historically the debate in the tradition was often about the roles and responsibilities of the church in teaching and admonishing and of the state in governing and regulating the numerous issues and sectors that impacted society. Today the private sector as represented by civil society and corporations has come to occupy its rightful place at the table of debate and action about all the issues that societies encounter.

The confluence of some internal and external drivers have led to the emergence of this new multi stakeholder paradigm. Internally since the Second Vatican Council the church and the faithful have grown into a deeper awareness of themselves as actors in society and as contributors to the search for constructive responses to the challenges that societies face. In recent decades through the intervention of successive popes there has been a profound awakening in the church to the interdependent status that all creatures share in a finite planet. Finally Pope Francis in the apostolic exhortation Evangelii Gaudium and the encyclical Laudato Sí has reiterated the teaching of the tradition and stated in 2013 that there is a need “to allow gospel principles to permeate the Church’s financial and economic activities, too”. This is consistent with the call of the council in Gaudium et Spes and with the explicit challenge offered by Justice in the World in 1971(no. 40); “ While the Church is bound to give witness to justice, she recognizes that anyone who ventures to speak to people about justice must first be just in their eyes. Hence we must undertake an examination of the modes of acting and of the possessions and life style found within the Church herself.”

Externally the unfolding process of globalization has left its mark everywhere. Led by the financial sector’s global expansion and the integration of the financial system it has had a profound impact on political alliances, civil society, the growth and penetration of corporations and the extension of social movements. The technological innovations that have facilitated much of globalization’s reach and inclusion is pervasive in even the remotest regions of the planet.

Impact Investing

The two conferences on Impact Investing that were jointly sponsored with the Pontifical Council in 2014 & 2016 broke new ground in the church’s engagement with capitalism and went beyond the conventional approaches to socially responsible investing and corporate social responsibility. In many ways they were an effort to respond to the well-publicized critiques of capitalism that Pope Francis has offered and his call for a financial system that is inclusive, that cares for the environment and takes seriously our responsibility to future generations. These conferences demonstrated how impact investing was consistent with CST, how individual and institutional investors were working to align the deployment of their assets to support positive social and environmental impacts and to consider the tools and approaches that were needed to achieve those objectives.

They brought together development agencies from the private and official sector as well as foundations and representatives of international financial institutions. They also gathered representatives of projects and initiatives that were looking for reliable sources of patient appropriate capital that is committed to achieving financial, social and environmental returns. Both of these events, were I think, consistent with the traditional role that the church has played when it seeks to create a space where new initiatives that show promise in responding to the evolving needs of communities can be incubated.

Capitalism 2.0

It is within this context that Pope Francis is inviting all of us to participate in the promotion of a Capitalism 2.0 that leaves behind the approaches and activities that fail to take into account the negative social and environmental consequences of their actions and whose only priority is profit and power. This is consistent with the earlier efforts to promote credit unions and cooperatives that CST supported. The institutions and companies in a Capitalism 2.0 must be willing to ask difficult questions such as: What & How is your activity, product or service contributing to the common good? Investors, also, starting with those who seek to invest in a manner that is consistent with their faith and therefore CST must ask; where does your money sleep? And while you are sleeping what is your money being used to finance? In a Capitalism envisioned by CST and Pope Francis we might further ask; what kinds of banks, companies, investors and institutions do we need in CAP 2? What kinds of regulations and supervision and transparency do we need across all the multiple jurisdictions that are responsible for assuring the stability and liquidity of the financial system and the reliability of the major institutions that operate in the system. 

seamus-1

Consistent with Faith and with the tradition

As we seek to better align our business operations and our financial transactions with CST we are being invited to consider how we are positively contributing value all along our operations and for the investors where and what do we want to invest in. The global impact investing network has identified 10 areas like sustainable agriculture, affordable and accessible housing and healthcare and clean technology that are easily identifiable but all business operations have impacts. In seeking to decrease the negative social and environmental impacts that they cause and increase their positive contributions business leaders in all sectors can be agents of economic and social inclusion and embrace the ecological dimensional their vocation to care for our common home.


Fr. Séamus Finn: Video Presentation on Business, Markets and the Common Good November 4th, 2016

In this video Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI, addresses Business, Markets and the Common Good: the Challenge of Laudato Si.

This public discussion was organized by Together for the Common Good (www.togetherforthecommongood.co.uk) at St Michael’s Cornhill, London, England.

Return to Top