شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »صناعة الملابس


تقرير JPIC خريف / شتاء 2013 العدد المتاحة أكتوبر 24th، 2013

JPIC-تقرير-خريف-2010أصبح الإصدار 2013 لتقرير JPIC في الخريف / الشتاء متاحًا الآن كملف PDF. وهي متاحة أيضا في شكل مطبوع. الرجاء التواصل ماري أوهيرون في مكتب JPIC إذا كنت ترغب في إضافتك إلى القائمة البريدية.

يمكنك العثور على جميع اصدارات تقرير JPIC على هذا الموقع في قسم الموارد. (قم بتنزيل ملف PDF لأحدث إصدار)


تلوث المياه في بنغلاديش يهدد صحة الإنسان والزراعة يوليو 16th، 2013

أصبحت الأنهار والقنوات في بنغلادش ملوثة بشكل متزايد من مياه الصرف الصناعي التي أغرقتها المصانع ، وكثير منها في صناعة النسيج ، ذكرت صحيفة نيويورك تايمز. مدابغ الجلود هي أيضا مصدر هام للملوثات السامة في الهواء والماء. يهدد تلوث المياه إنتاج الغذاء ويثير مخاوف تتعلق بالبيئة والصحة البشرية.

أصدرت هيومن رايتس ووتش تقريراً في أواخر العام الماضي عن الآثار الصحية للبشر للتلوث غير المقيد من صناعة الجلود. التقرير، دباغة سامةيوثق أزمة الصحة والسلامة المهنية بين عمال الدباغة ، رجالا ونساء ، بما في ذلك الأمراض الجلدية والأمراض التنفسية الناجمة عن التعرض لمواد الدباغة ، وبتر الأطراف بسبب الحوادث في آلات دباغة خطيرة. كما يتأثر سكان المنطقة التي توجد فيها المدابغ بشكل خطير. تقاعست الحكومة باستمرار عن فرض قوانين العمل والبيئة في هزاريباغ ، إحدى ضواحي داكا ، وتجاهلت أوامر المحكمة العليا بتنظيف المدابغ أو نقلها.

قراءة مقال نيويورك تايمز ...

اقرأ تقرير HR Watch ...


عصر جديد لصناعة الملابس في بنغلاديش؟ يوليو 7th، 2013

DSC06360

رصيد الصورة: Emma L. Herman

يشرح مقطع فيديو نشرته قناة PBS Religion & Ethics Newsweekly الحقائق التي تواجه صناعة الملابس في بنغلاديش. الملابس الرخيصة تأتي بتكلفة عالية.

شاهد الفيديو ...


الملابس تجار التجزئة الضغط على قضايا السلامة 12 مايو، 2013

DSC06358

رصيد الصورة: Emma L. Herman

نُقل عن القس سيموس فين ، OMI (مدير مكتب OMI JPIC) في مقال نشر مؤخراً في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز عن انهيار المبنى والحرائق في صناعة الملابس في بنغلاديش ، قائلاً: "ما حدث في بنغلاديش هو مغيّر للعبة بسبب الجاذبية". من الوضع والخسائر الهائلة في الأرواح ، "قال الأب فين. "الناس حقا في الحياة حول هذا الموضوع ويقول:" نحن بحاجة إلى القيام بشيء ما. "

يوزع القس فين خطابًا بين المستثمرين الدينيين والمسؤولين اجتماعياً الآخرين - المجموعات التي تتحكم في أصول تزيد عن 100 مليار دولار - تعبر عن استيائها من تجار التجزئة الأمريكيين. ويقول إن تجار التجزئة لم يفعلوا ما يكفي لتحسين السلامة في مكان العمل لأكثر من ثلاثة ملايين عامل ملابس في بنغلاديش.

قراءة مقال نيويورك تايمز ...

تكاليف العمالة في بنغلاديش في صناعة تصنيع الملابس هي الأدنى في العالم. إن عمليات المصانع اللائقة هناك تتعرض لضغوط هائلة من المشترين لخفض التكاليف ، حيث يهدد المشترون "بأخذ أعمالهم على الطريق" ما لم يتم الوفاء بشروطهم.

 


موظفو شركة JPIC يزورون بنجلاديش مايو 3rd، 2013

قرية خاسيزارت كريستينا هيرمان ، مديرة مكتب JPIC ، بنجلاديش في أواخر مارس / أوائل أبريل. رافقت ابنتها ، إيما ، وأخذت آلاف الصور والملاحظات الغزيرة. الأب جوزيف غوميس ، OMI استضافت رحلة مدتها عشرة أيام حول منطقة سيلهيت في بنغلاديش الشرقية ، والتي قدمت نظرة رائعة على حياة شعب خاسي الأصلي والقضايا التي تواجه قراهم. بدأت بعثة Oblate في بنغلاديش في منطقة سيلهيت ، وهناك عدد من الأبرشيات بين الشعوب الأصلية في المنطقة.

كانت الضربات القومية المتكررة (أو الهارتلات) التي دعت إليها معارضة سياسية مصممة على تقويض الحكومة قد جعلت الرحلة صعبة ، لكن المجموعة غطت الكثير من الأرضية.

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

شريف جميل ، Buriganga RiverKeeper

في دكا ، تعاونت كريستينا مع حارس المياه البنغلاديشي ، شريف جميل ، في دراسة القضايا البيئية والعمالية المتعلقة بصناعات تصدير الجلود والملابس. لقد زاروا نهر بوريجانجا ، ومدابغ الجلود شمال المدينة ، ومصنع ملابس ضخم ، وعقدوا عددًا من الاجتماعات التثقيفية مع أصحاب المصانع والمديرين ، ومنظمي النقابات العمالية ، وعلماء البيئة.

ماء ملوث من دباغة الجلود

تتدفق المياه الملوثة من دباغة الجلود إلى نهر بوريجانجا

تعتبر المدابغ مصدرًا كبيرًا لتلوث النهر الرئيسي الذي يتدفق عبر دكا ، وهي مدينة ضخمة تقدر بنحو 18 مليون شخص. يعتمد الملايين على الأنهار في الاستحمام وغسل الملابس والمواصلات ، ومع ذلك فهي ملوثة بشدة بالنفايات الصناعية والبشرية. أصدرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش مؤخرًا دراسة عن الآثار الصحية للمدابغ ، تطابق نتائج هذه الرحلة. النفايات الصناعية غير المعالجة المتدفقة من مصانع الملابس شائعة. عامل كبير في التلوث هو عدم وجود معالجة كافية لمياه الصرف الصحي لسكان المدينة المتزايدين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » garment industry


JPIC Report Fall/Winter 2013 Issue Available October 24th, 2013

JPIC-Report-Fall-2010The Fall/Winter 2013 issue of JPIC Report is now available on line as a PDF. It is also available in print form. Please contact Mary O’Herron in the JPIC Office if you want to be added to the mailing list.

You can find all issues of JPIC Report on this website in the Resources section. (Download a PDF of the latest issue)


Water Pollution in Bangladesh Threatens Human Health and Agriculture July 16th, 2013

DSC05993Rivers and canals in Bangladesh are becoming increasingly polluted from industrial wastewater dumped by factories, many of them in the textile industry, The New York Times has reported. Leather tanneries are also a significant source of toxic pollutants to the air and water. The water pollution threatens food production and is raising both environmental and human health concerns.

Human Rights Watch issued a report late last year on the human health effects of unchecked pollution from the leather industry. The report, Toxic Tanneries, documents an occupational health and safety crisis among tannery workers, both men and women, including skin diseases and respiratory illnesses caused by exposure to tanning chemicals, and limb amputations caused by accidents in dangerous tannery machinery. Residents of the area where the tanneries are located are also seriously affected. The government has consistently failed to enforce labor and environmental laws in Hazaribagh, a suburb of Dhaka, and has ignored High Court orders to clean up or move the tanneries.

Read the NY Times article…

Read the HR Watch report…


A New Era for the Bangladesh Garment Industry? July 7th, 2013

DSC06360

Photo credit: Emma L. Herman

A PBS Religion & Ethics Newsweekly video clearly explains the realities confronting the Bangladesh garment industry. Cheap clothes come at a high cost.

Watch the video…


Clothing Retailers Pressed on Safety Issues May 12th, 2013

DSC06358

Photo credit: Emma L. Herman

The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI (OMI JPIC Office Director) was quoted in a recent New York Times article on the building collapse and fires in the Bangladesh garment industry, saying: “What happened in Bangladesh is a game-changer because of the gravity of the situation and the tremendous loss of life,” Father Finn said. “People are really coming to life about this and saying, ‘We need to do something.’ ”

Rev. Finn is circulating a letter among other faith-based and socially responsible investors – groups that control more than $100 billion in assets — expressing displeasure with U.S. retailers. He says the retailers have not done nearly enough to improve workplace safety for the more than three million garment workers in Bangladesh.

Read the NY Times article…

Bangladesh labor costs in the garment manufacturing industry are the lowest in the world. Decent factory operations there are under tremendous pressure from their purchasers to lower costs, with the buyers threatening to ‘take their business down the road’ unless their terms are met.

 


JPIC Staff Visits Bangladesh May 3rd, 2013

Khasi VillageChristina Herman, JPIC Office Associate Director, visited Bangladesh in late March/early April. Her daughter, Emma, accompanied her, taking thousands of photos and copious notes. Fr. Joseph Gomes, OMI graciously hosted a ten day trip around the Sylhet region of NE Bangladesh, which provided a fascinating look at the lives of the indigenous Khasi people and the issues confronting their villages. The Oblate mission in Bangladesh started in the Sylhet region, and there are a number of parishes among the indigenous peoples of the area.

Frequent national strikes (or hartals) called by a political opposition determined to undermine the government made the trip challenging, but the group covered a lot of ground.

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

Sharif Jamil, Buriganga RiverKeeper

In Dhaka, Christina teamed up with the Bangladesh WaterKeeper, Sharif Jamil, in an examination of environmental and labor issues related to the leather and garment export industries. They visited the Buriganga River, leather tanneries north of the city, a massive garment factory, and had a number of informative meetings with factory owners and managers, labor union organizers, and environmentalists.

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries

Polluted Water from Leather Tanneries flows into the Buriganga River

The tanneries are a large source of pollution for the main river flowing through Dhaka, a megacity of an estimated 18 million people. Millions depend on the rivers for bathing, washing clothes, and transportation, yet they are heavily polluted with industrial and human waste. Human Rights Watch recently issued a study of the health impacts of the tanneries, which matched the findings of this trip. Untreated industrial waste flowing from the garment factories is common. A huge factor in the pollution is the lack of adequate sewage treatment for the city’s burgeoning population.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top