شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الاحتباس الحراري


نقل كوكب كان مذهلا! 26 سبتمبر، 2011

كان Moving Planet يومًا عالميًا لتخطي أنواع الوقود الأحفوري ، مع أحداث 2000 في أكثر من بلدان 175! أعرف أكثر…


ألبرتا القطران الرمال: النفط القذرة 9 مايو، 2010

تثير الكارثة البيئية الأخيرة المتعلقة بالنفط في خليج المكسيك أسئلة حول مصادر الطاقة التي نعتمد عليها كثيرًا. مصدر النفط المهم بشكل متزايد للولايات المتحدة هو رمال القطران في ألبرتا ، كندا.

يُشار إلى رمال ألبرتا تار ، وهي عبارة عن شكل كثيف ولزج للغاية من النفط يُطلق عليه اسم البيتومين ، باعتباره المشروع الأكثر ضرراً على كوكب الأرض. ووفقًا لمنظمة Greenpeace ، فإن الانبعاثات من استخراج الرمال القطر يمكن أن تنمو إلى ما بين 127 و 140m طن بواسطة 2020 ، وهو ما يتجاوز الانبعاثات الحالية من النمسا والبرتغال وأيرلندا والدنمارك. إذا استمر التوسع المقترح ، فسوف ينتج عنه فقدان مساحات شاسعة من الغابات الشمالية ومستنقعات الخث في منطقة بحجم إنجلترا.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


يوم الأرض 2010! أبريل 22nd، 2010

صور-153يصادف شهر أبريل 22nd الذكرى السنوية 40th ليوم الأرض. بعد مرور أربعين عاما على أول يوم للأرض ، أصبح العالم في خطر أكبر من أي وقت مضى. في حين أن تغير المناخ هو أكبر تحد في عصرنا ، فإنه يمثل أيضاً الفرصة الكبرى - فرصة غير مسبوقة لبناء اقتصاد طاقة صحي ومزدهر ونظيف الآن وفي المستقبل. أنماط الاستهلاك أيضا تشكل خطرا. يؤدي استهلاك اليوم إلى تقويض قاعدة الموارد البيئية وتفاقم عدم المساواة.

أرسل دانيال ليبلانك ، OMI - الموجود الآن في بوليفيا لحضور قمة المناخ البديل ما يلي من أجل تفكيرنا وعملنا في يوم الأرض:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


البنك الدولي يوافق على قرض بقيمة 3 مليار دولار لمصنع الفحم المثير للجدل في جنوب إفريقيا 12 أبريل، 2010

في أبريل / نيسان 8th 2010 ، وافق البنك الدولي على قرض مثير للجدل بقيمة مليار دولار مقابل محطة لتوليد الطاقة من الفحم إلى ESKOM ، شركة الكهرباء المملوكة للدولة في جنوب أفريقيا ، على الرغم من المخاوف الجدية من المنظمات البيئية والجماعة الدينية. امتنعت الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والنرويج وإيطاليا وهولندا عن التصويت على قرض الفحم بسبب المخاوف البيئية غير المحسومة والآثار الاقتصادية على المجتمعات المحلية.

أيدت أكثر من منظمات 200 في جميع أنحاء العالم نقدًا للقرض قائلاً إنه سيكون عبئًا على الفقراء الذين سيرون على الأرجح فواتيرهم المنزلية ، بينما ستستمر الشركات الاستخراجية الدولية في تلقي الطاقة المدعومة بسبب اتفاقيات التسعير الخاصة مع Eskom

Eskom هي رابع أكبر شركة للطاقة في العالم وأكبر مصدر لانبعاثات الكربون في إفريقيا ، وتمثل 40٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات جنوب إفريقيا. أثار القرض مخاوف بيئية خطيرة مثل التلوث وانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، وأثار تساؤلات حول التزام البنك الدولي بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ائتلاف واسع يطلب مجلس الشيوخ للتشريعات المتعلقة بتغير المناخ مسيرة 19th، 2010

CO2انضمت شركة The Missionary Oblates JPIC Office إلى الشركات والمؤسسات 184 ، وناشطات 77 الفردية ، مطالبة مجلس الشيوخ بتشريع إجراءات للحد من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري. هذه الرسالة ، التي أرسلت إلى جميع أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ ، تجادل بأن "انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري يمكن قطعها بسرعة وبطريقة اقتصادية وبيئية عن طريق سقف الانبعاثات الوطنية الذي يتحقق من خلال مزيج من كفاءة الطاقة العدوانية والمتجددة معايير الطاقة ".

أشارت المنظمات إلى أنه "من خلال التركيز على هذه الاستراتيجية ثلاثية المحاور (أي غطاء الكربون + الكفاءة + مصادر الطاقة المتجددة) ، قد يكون من غير الضروري - في الوقت الحالي على الأقل - معالجة أي من الخيارين الأكثر إثارة للجدل لمعالجة تغير المناخ: "نظام تداول" لائتمانات الانبعاثات أو فرض ضرائب على الكربون ".

وشددت الرسالة أيضًا على أن "التشريعات المتعلقة بالمناخ التي تعزز الاستخدام المستمر أو الموسع للوقود الأحفوري و / أو الطاقة النووية ، أو التي تتراجع عن الضمانات البيئية الحالية ، يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مشروع قانون قد يكون في الواقع أسوأ من عدم وجود أي فاتورة على الإطلاق".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


أخبار من الامم المتحدة مسيرة 1st، 2010

الأمم المتحدةمتابعة اتفاق كوبنهاجن بشأن تغير المناخ

أنشأت الأمم المتحدة فريقا رفيع المستوى لتنفيذ عنصر رئيسي في اتفاق كوبنهاغن لتشجيع تمويل تخفيف آثار تغير المناخ والتكيف معه في البلدان النامية.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » global warming


Moving Planet was amazing! September 26th, 2011

Moving Planet was a worldwide day to move beyond fossil fuels, with over 2000 events in more than 175 countries! Learn more…


Alberta Tar Sands: Dirty Oil May 9th, 2010

The recent oil-related ecological disaster in the Gulf of Mexico raises questions about the sources of the energy on which we are so dependent.  An increasingly important source of oil for the United States is the tar sands of Alberta, Canada.

The Alberta Tar sands, an extremely dense and viscous form of petroleum called bitumen, have been referred to as the most damaging project on the planet. According to Greenpeace, emissions from tar sands extraction could grow to between 127 and 140m tonnes by 2020, exceeding the current emissions of Austria, Portugal, Ireland and Denmark. If proposed expansion proceeds,it will result in the loss of vast tracts of boreal forest and peat bogs of a territory the size of England.

Click here to read more »


Earth Day 2010! April 22nd, 2010

Picture-153April 22nd marks the 40th anniversary of Earth Day. Forty years after the first Earth Day, the world is in greater peril than ever. While climate change is the greatest challenge of our time, it also presents the greatest opportunity – an unprecedented opportunity to build a healthy, prosperous, clean energy economy now and for the future. Consumption patterns also pose a threat. Today’s consumption is undermining the environmental resource base and exacerbating inequalities.

Daniel LeBlanc, OMI – now in Bolivia for the Alternative Climate Summit sent the following for our contemplation and action on Earth Day:

Click here to read more »


World Bank Approves $3 Billion Loan for Controversial Coal Plant in South Africa April 12th, 2010

On April 8th 2010, the World Bank approved a controversial $ 3 billion loan for a coal-fired power station to ESKOM, the South Africa-based, state owned electricity utility, despite serious concerns from environmental organizations and the faith community. United States, Britain and Norway, Italy and the Netherlands abstained from voting for the coal loan due to unresolved environmental concerns and economic impacts on local communities.

More than 200 organizations across the world have endorsed a critique of the loan saying it will be a burden to poor people who will likely see their household bills increase, while international extractive corporations will continue to receive subsidized energy due to special pricing agreements with Eskom

Eskom is the world’s fourth-largest power company and Africa’s largest carbon emitter, and accounts for 40% of South Africa’s total emissions. The loan raised serious environmental concerns such as pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, and raised questions about the World Bank’s commitment to renewable energy sources.

Click here to read more »


Broad Coalition Asks Senate for Climate Change Legislation March 19th, 2010

CO2The Missionary Oblates JPIC Office joined184 businesses and organizations, and 77 individual activists, calling on the Senate to legislate action to curb global warming. The letter, which was sent to all members of the Senate, argues that “greenhouse gas emissions can be cut swiftly and in an economically and environmentally sound way by means of a national emissions cap that is realized through a combination of aggressive energy efficiency and renewable energy standards.”

The organizations noted that “by focusing on this three-pronged strategy (i.e., carbon cap + efficiency + renewables), it may prove unnecessary – for the moment at least – to tackle either of the two most controversial options for addressing climate change: creating a “trading system” for emissions credits or imposing carbon taxes.”

The letter also stressed that “climate legislation that promotes continued or expanded use of fossil fuels and/or nuclear power, or which rolls back existing environmental safeguards, could result in a bill that might actually be worse than no bill at all.”

Click here to read more »


News from the UN March 1st, 2010

united-nationsFollow-up on Copenhagen Accord on Climate Change

The United Nations has set-up a High-Level Panel to implement a key component of the Copenhagen Accord to promote climate mitigation and adaptation financing in developing countries.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top