OMI JPIC logo

Justice, paix et intégrité de la création

Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée États-Unis

Logo OMI
News
Traduire cette page:

Nouvelles Récentes

News

Archives des actualités


Dernière vidéo et audio

Plus de vidéo et audio>

Archives des nouvelles »VIH-sida


Progrès importants dans le développement pédiatrique de médicaments contre le sida Décembre 3rd, 2014

moment_quoteLa Journée mondiale de lutte contre le sida a été marquée par deux annonces importantes concernant le développement de médicaments contre le sida pédiatriques indispensables. C'est une question sur laquelle les Oblats et d'autres investisseurs confessionnels dans le Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise (ICCR) ont pressé les sociétés pharmaceutiques sur des années. Étant donné que la plupart des patients pédiatriques atteints du SIDA se trouvent dans des pays en développement pauvres, l'incitation commerciale habituelle au développement de médicaments n'existe pas. Et, le développement de médicaments pédiatriques contre le SIDA, en particulier pour les nourrissons, est difficile. Les membres de l'ICCR ont activement encouragé les grandes sociétés pharmaceutiques à participer à Pool de brevets de médicaments, un mécanisme mis en place sous les auspices de l'ONU pour «regrouper» les brevets de médicaments afin de rendre les formulations existantes plus facilement disponibles pour la production générique et pour des combinaisons de doses fixes innovantes à développer.

Lundi, Journée mondiale du sida, AbbVie a annoncé la signature d'un accord de licence pour le lopinavir (LPV) et le ritonavir (r), les principaux médicaments pour enfants recommandés par l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Cette licence permettra à d’autres entreprises et organisations de reformuler et de fabriquer des traitements pédiatriques et LPV spécialement conçus pour la distribution dans les pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire où vit 99% des enfants séropositifs du monde en développement. [Abbvie est une entreprise dérivée d’Abbott Laboratories qui regroupe le secteur pharmaceutique fondé sur la recherche.]

Le même jour, le forum de l’industrie de la recherche sur les médicaments anti-VIH a annoncé son adhésion au forum. PEPFAR, Fonds mondial, et le Initiative de traitement pédiatrique du VIH (PHTI) dans le «Engagement à l'action mondial contre les antirétroviraux pédiatriques (ARV)», récemment créé, pour accélérer l'innovation et sauver la vie des enfants. L'initiative est conçue pour accélérer le développement de nouvelles co-formulations d'ARV pédiatriques hautement prioritaires pour le traitement de première et de deuxième intention par 2017.

Cliquez ici pour en lire plus "


International AIDS 2012, juillet 22 - 27: tourner la marée ensemble Juillet 28th, 2012

Les questions suivantes ont été discutées à la Conférence internationale sur le sida cette semaine:

Oblats à la conférence sur le sida

Des organisations confessionnelles se réunissent pour discuter de la réponse au VIH / SIDA lors de la conférence internationale 2012 sur le SIDA

En marge de la XIXe Conférence internationale sur le sida (AIDS 2012), des organisations confessionnelles et des dirigeants se sont réunis pour discuter de leurs efforts pour répondre à l'épidémie de VIH / sida. Un rassemblement de la foi, intitulé «Le Sommet sur le rôle de la communauté chrétienne de foi dans la santé mondiale et le VIH / SIDA», a eu lieu à l'Université de Georgetown. Parmi les autres conférences préparatoires à la foi figurent la conférence internationale sur le sida à l'American Catholic University et la conférence internationale InterFaith sur le sida. Les membres du Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise (ICCR) - dans lequel les Oblats sont actifs - ont présenté sur l'un des panneaux les dialogues religieux de longue date avec les compagnies pharmaceutiques.

La France lancera l'impôt sur les transactions financières pour aider à financer la riposte mondiale au sida

"Une nouvelle taxe sur les transactions financières devrait être lancée en France en août, et pourrait générer des milliards de dollars pour aider à financer la lutte mondiale contre le VIH / SIDA, ... Nous voulons créer d'autres instruments de financement innovants. C'est le but de la taxe sur les transactions financières que mon pays a décidé de mettre en œuvre ", a déclaré le président français François Hollande, s'exprimant dans un message vidéo préenregistré lors de la session plénière de la Conférence internationale sur le sida.

La secrétaire d'État Clinton réaffirme l'engagement du gouvernement des États-Unis en faveur d'une «génération sans sida», promettant plus de 150M pour les efforts mondiaux

Dans un discours prononcé lors de la XIXe Conférence internationale sur le sida lundi dernier, la secrétaire d'État américaine Hillary Clinton a souligné l'engagement des États-Unis à réaliser une «génération sans sida» et annoncé un financement supplémentaire de plus de 150 millions. La répartition de l'engagement est la suivante:

  • $ 80 millions, à consacrer à la prévention de la transmission mère-enfant à l'étranger, dans le but de l'éliminer d'ici l'année 2015;
  • $ 40 millions alloués pour la circoncision masculine volontaire en Afrique pour diminuer le risque de transmission du virus;
  • $ 15 millions pour la recherche sur les interventions;
  • $ 20 millions pour soutenir les efforts menés par les pays pour développer les services liés au VIH;
  • Un financement de 2 millions de dollars pour les groupes de la société civile afin d'atteindre les populations clés touchées par le VIH

Marcher avec des militants contre le sida près de la Maison Blanche

Les Oblats au Village Mondial, au cœur de la Conférence Internationale sur le SIDA 2012

Le Village Mondial de la Conférence Internationale sur le SIDA a été une plate-forme pour les communautés, les activistes et les praticiens représentant la diversité et la solidarité. Les Oblats étaient représentés par le personnel de JPIC, George Ngolwe, boursier d'été. Ashok Stephen OMI (Sri Lanka), qui a assisté à plusieurs sessions au village global, et le père. Joseph Phiri OMI (Zambie) qui a pris le temps de son horaire académique chargé de faire du bénévolat à la Conférence. Voir ailleurs sur le site de JPIC pour les photos de la conférence sur le sida.

La prochaine conférence internationale sur le sida se tiendra à Melbourne en juillet 2014


Les Oblats assistent à la Conférence sur le VIH / SIDA à Washington, DC Juillet 24th, 2012

Le personnel oblat de JPIC, George Ngolwe et ses amis à la conférence 2012 Washington DC sur le sida

Fr. Ashok Stephen OMI à la conférence 2012 Washington AIDS. Novartis se bat contre une disposition «anti-perpétuelle» de la loi en Inde.

Des militantes du sida à la Conférence sur le sida de Washington DC

Fr. Ashok Stephen OMI avec les défenseurs de la taxe Robin des bois à Washington, DC

Marcher avec des militants contre le sida près de la Maison Blanche


2012 Conférence internationale sur le sida, Washington, DC Juillet 13th, 2012

La 19th International AIDS Conference aura lieu à Washington, DC, à partir de juillet 22-27, 2012. AIDS 2012 réunira des scientifiques de renom, des sociétés pharmaceutiques, des professionnels de la santé publique, des décideurs politiques et des dirigeants de la communauté et de la jeunesse afin d'examiner les récents développements scientifiques sur le SIDA et les leçons apprises. La conférence AIDS 2012 sera l'occasion de structurer le dialogue, de partager de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et de planifier des actions pour mettre fin au VIH / sida dans le monde. A propos des personnes 25,000 sont attendus à assister à la conférence biennale convoquée par la Société internationale du sida (IAS).

Plusieurs conférences ont précédé la conférence internationale AIDS 2012. Les communautés confessionnelles, qui sont généralement en première ligne dans la lutte contre le VIH / SIDA, en hébergeront plusieurs. Les conférences confessionnelles incluent Conférence catholique internationale sur le sida et la Conférence interconfessionnelle sur le sida par l'Alliance œcuménique «Advocacy Alliance», qui se tiendra à partir de juillet 20-21. Les autres activités liées à la conférence sur le SIDA comprennent l'espace libre du village mondial pour les réunions, les expositions et les événements indépendants affiliés, ce qui permettra d'organiser des séances d'information professionnelles et de constituer des réseaux.

C'est la première fois que la conférence sur le sida se déroule aux États-Unis au cours des années 22. La première conférence internationale sur le sida a eu lieu à Atlanta, aux États-Unis, à 1985, puis à San Francisco, à 1990. La conférence devait se tenir deux ans plus tard à Boston, mais la communauté mondiale de la recherche a refusé de retourner aux États-Unis en raison de son interdiction de voyager pour les personnes séropositives. L'administration Obama a levé l'interdiction de 2009.

Pour plus d'informations, visitez le site: www.aids2012.org


Les investisseurs confessionnels demandent aux compagnies pharmaceutiques de se joindre au Pool de brevets sur les médicaments Novembre 30th, 2011

En l'honneur de la Journée mondiale de lutte contre le sida et du thème «Atteindre le zéro» des Nations Unies, les membres du Centre interconfessionnel sur la responsabilité d'entreprise (ICCR) réitèrent leur soutien au Pool de brevets sur les médicaments (MPP) créé par UNITAID. partager leurs licences pour des médicaments contre le SIDA qui sauvent des vies.

"Le thème" Getting to Zero "a trois objectifs principaux", a déclaré Christina Herman des Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée: "Zéro nouvelles infections, zéro discrimination et zéro décès liés au SIDA: le MPP est une stratégie efficace et puissante contre les trois . En tant qu'investisseurs dans des sociétés pharmaceutiques qui considèrent l'accès aux médicaments comme un droit humain fondamental, nous encourageons fortement la participation. "

Lire le communiqué de presse de l'ICCR sur le pool de brevets d'UNITAID ...


Journée mondiale du sida: décembre 1 Novembre 30th, 2010

Le thème global de 2009 et 2010 World AIDS Day est «Accès universel et droits de l'homme», choisi par la Campagne mondiale contre le SIDA. Veuillez visiter l'Alliance oecuménique pour le plaidoyer pour le matériel et l'information liés à cette journée consacrée au VIH / SIDA.

Le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies a publié une brève déclaration à l'occasion de la Journée mondiale du sida. (Télécharger le PDF)

retourner en haut

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » HIV-AIDS


Important Advances in Pediatric AIDS Drug Development December 3rd, 2014

moment_quoteWorld AIDS Day saw two important announcements regarding development of much-needed pediatric AIDS drugs. This is an issue on which the Oblates and other faith-based investors in the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) have pressed pharmaceutical companies on for years. Since most pediatric AIDS patients are in poor, developing countries, the usual market incentive for drug development does not exist. And, the development of pediatric AIDS drugs, particularly for infants, is challenging. ICCR members have actively encouraged the major pharmaceutical companies to participate in the Medicines Patent Pool, a mechanism established under the auspices of the UN to ‘pool’ patents for drugs to make existing formulations more readily available for generic production and for innovative fixed dose combinations to be developed.

On Monday, World AIDS Day, Abbvie announced a licensing agreement for lopinavir (LPV) and ritonavir (r), top World Health Organization-recommended medicines for children. The license will enable other companies and organizations to re-formulate and manufacture specially designed LPV/r and r pediatric treatments for distribution in low- and middle-income countries where 99% of children with HIV in the developing world live. [Abbvie is a spinoff of Abbott Laboratories that contains the research-based pharmaceutical business.]

On the same day, the HIV Medicines Research Industry Forum announced that the forum is joining PEPFAR, the Global Fund, and the Pediatric HIV Treatment Initiative (PHTI) in the newly established “Global Pediatric Antiretroviral (ARV) Commitment-to-Action” to accelerate innovation and save children’s lives. The initiative is designed to accelerate the development of new, high-priority pediatric ARV co-formulations for first- and second-line treatment by 2017.

Click here to read more »


International AIDS 2012, July 22 – 27: Turning the Tide Together July 28th, 2012

The following issues were discussed at the International AIDS Conference this week:

Oblates at the AIDS Conference

Faith-Based Organizations Meet To Discuss HIV/AIDS Response at the 2012 International AIDS Conference

On the sidelines of the XIX International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2012), faith-based organizations and leaders came together to discuss their efforts to respond to the HIV/AIDS epidemic. One faith gathering, titled “The Summit on the Role of the Christian Faith Community in Global Health and HIV/AIDS,” was held at Georgetown University. Other faith based pre-conferences included the International Catholic AIDS conference at American Catholic University and the InterFaith International Conference on AIDS. Members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) – in which the Oblates are active – presented on one of the panels about the long-standing faith-based dialogs with pharmaceutical companies.

France To Launch Financial Transactions Tax To Help Fund Global AIDS Response

“A new tax on financial transactions is set to launch in France in August, and could generate billions of dollars to help fund the global fight against HIV/AIDS,…We want to create additional innovative financing instruments. This is the aim of the tax on financial transactions which my country has decided to implement,” said French President Francois Hollande, speaking in a pre-recorded video message at the plenary session of the International AIDS Conference.

 

 

 

Secretary Clinton Reaffirms the United State Government’s Commitment To an ‘AIDS-Free Generation,’ Pledging More Than $150M For Global Efforts

In a speech delivered at the XIX International AIDS Conference last Monday, United States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton underscored the United States commitment to achieving an ‘AIDS-free generation’ and announced more than $150 million in additional funding. The breakdown of the pledge is as follows:

  • $80 million, to be dedicated towards preventing mother-to-child transmission abroad, with the goal of eliminating it by the year 2015;
  • $40 million allotted for voluntary male circumcision in Africa to decrease risk of transmission of the virus;
  • $15 million for research on interventions;
  • $20 million toward bolstering country-led efforts to expand HIV-related services;
  • $2 million funding for civil society groups to reach key populations affected by HIV

Marching with AIDS activists near the White House

Oblates at the Global Village, The Heart of the International AIDS 2012 Conference

The Global Village at the International AIDS Conference has been a platform for communities, activists and practitioners representing diversity and solidarity. The Oblates were represented by JPIC Staff George Ngolwe, summer Fellow Fr. Ashok Stephen OMI (Sri Lanka), who attended several sessions at the global village, and Fr. Joseph Phiri OMI (Zambia) who took time from his busy academic schedule to volunteer at the Conference. See elsewhere on the JPIC website for the photos from the AIDS conference.

The next International AIDS Conference will be held in Melbourne in July 2014


Oblates Attend HIV-AIDS Conference in Washington, DC July 24th, 2012

Oblate JPIC Staff, George Ngolwe and friends at the 2012 Washington DC AIDS Conference

 

Fr. Ashok Stephen OMI at the 2012 Washington AIDS Conference. Novartis is fighting an 'anti-evergreening' provision of the law in India.

 

Female AIDS Activists at the Washington DC AIDS Conference

 

Fr. Ashok Stephen OMI with Advocates for the Robin Hood Tax marching in Washington, DC

Marching with AIDS activists near the White House

 

 


2012 International AIDS Conference, Washington, DC July 13th, 2012

The 19th International AIDS Conference will take place in Washington, DC from July 22-27, 2012. AIDS 2012 will bring together leading scientists, pharmaceutical companies, public health professionals, policy-makers and community and youth leaders to review recent scientific developments on AIDS and lessons learnt. The AIDS 2012 conference will provide an opportunity to structure dialogue, share new scientific knowledge and plan actions to end global HIV/AIDS. About 25,000 people are expected to attend the biennial conference convened by the International AIDS Society (IAS).

There are several conferences preceding the International AIDS 2012 conference. Faith communities, which are usually in the front lines in responding to HIV/AIDS, will host several of these. The faith-based conferences include the International Catholic AIDS Conference and the Interfaith AIDS Conference by the Ecumenical Advocacy Alliance running from July 20-21. Other AIDS conference-connected activities include the free global village space for meetings, exhibitions and affiliated independent events, which will provide opportunity for professional briefings and networking.

This is the first time the AIDS conference has been in the United States in 22 years. The first International AIDS Conference was held in Atlanta, U.S. in 1985, and then in San Francisco in 1990. The conference was supposed to be held two years later in Boston, but the global research community refused to return to the United States because of its travel ban on HIV positive people. The Obama Administration lifted the ban in 2009.

For more information, visit: www.aids2012.org


Faith-Based Investors Call on Pharmaceutical Companies to Join the Medicines Patent Pool November 30th, 2011

In honor of World AIDS Day and the United Nation’s theme, “Getting to Zero”, members of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) reiterate their endorsement of the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) created by UNITAID, and call upon pharmaceutical companies to share their licenses for life-savings AIDS medicines.

“The ‘Getting to Zero’ theme has three main goals,” said Christina Herman of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate: “Zero new infections, zero discrimination and zero AIDS-related deaths: The MPP is an effective and powerful strategy against all three. As investors in pharmaceutical companies who view access to medicines as a fundamental human right, we strongly encourage participation.”

Read the ICCR Press Release on the UNITAID Patent Pool…

 


World AIDS Day: December 1 November 30th, 2010

The global theme for 2009 and 2010 World AIDS Day is “Universal Access and Human Rights”, as chosen by The World AIDS Campaign. Please visit the Ecumenical Advocacy Alliance for materials and information related to this day of focus on HIV/AIDS.

The Secretary General of the United Nations has issued a brief statement on the occasion of World AIDS Day. (Download PDF)

Return to Top