شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »أزمة الرهن العقاري


منظمة مجتمع ولاية فيرجينيا الشمالية تقوم بتطوير صندوق إعادة تطوير 30 مليون دولار أكتوبر 1st، 2013

fd81abd254d7751c4d3d0b1efc49d95fتم تسليط الضوء على VOICE ، وهي منظمة مجتمع شمال فيرجينيا التي كانت تتعامل مع آفة الإسكان في المنطقة ، في مقال نشرته صحيفة واشنطن بوست مؤخرًا. وقد جمعت المنظمة مبلغ 30 مليون دولار "برينس ويليام ، VA Restoration Fund" من مقرضي الرهن العقاري المسؤولين عن أزمة حبس الرهن الكبرى في المنطقة. تم تصميم الصندوق لمعالجة آفة الأحياء الناجمة عن أزمة الرهن والقروض المفترسة في مجتمعات منازل البلدة مثل جورج تاون ساوث في ماناساس ، فيرجينيا. دعمت Oblates بنشاط جهود VOICE لتطوير صندوق إعادة تطوير المجتمع هذا من خلال اتصالات المساهمين النشطاء.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الزعماء الدينيين الصحافة جي بي مورغان تشيس إلى Reinvest في ولاية فرجينيا ضرب بقوة من قبل التعويقات 20 يونيو، 2013

الأب Seamus Finn ، OMI تدعو للعدالة من JP Morgan Chase

الأب Seamus Finn ، OMI تدعو إلى الاستثمار في المجتمعات التي دمرها الرهن العقاري من JP Morgan Chase

سار الزعماء الدينيون في شمال فيرجينيا هذا الصباح إلى مكاتب جي بي مورغان في العاصمة بعد أن رفض البنك الاستثمار بشكل كاف في مقاطعة برينس ويليام بولاية فيرجينيا. تعرضت المقاطعة لضربة شديدة في أزمة الرهن العقاري ، وهناك حاجة للاستثمار لإعادة بناء المجتمعات المنكوبة.

الأب وقد دعم كل من سيموس فين ، OMI و Oblates ، كمستثمرين في البنوك الكبرى ، جهود المجتمع للتعامل مع أزمة الرهن العقاري ، من خلال VOICE (Virginians المنظمة من أجل المشاركة المجتمعية بين الأديان). الأب تحدث الفنلندي في المسيرة ، ودعا JP مورغان تشيس لتحقيق استثمار هادف في المجتمع. شاهد مقطع فيديو للخطاب على YouTube.

يخطط قادة VOICE للاجتماع مع المنظمين الفدراليين في الشهر المقبل لمطالبتهم بمعاقبة البنك على ممارسات الإقراض المفترسة ، والتحقيق في توقيع روبو على بطاقة الائتمان في شمال ولاية فرجينيا.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


عابرة المسؤولية تنتشر في 2013 30 يناير، 2013

استقبلنا في أوائل يناير بإعلان آخر عن تسوية بين المنظمين في مكتب المراقب المالي للعملة (OCC) والاحتياطي الفيدرالي مع البنوك الأمريكية الكبرى 10 بشأن اتهامات الممارسات المسيئة والخاطئة في عملية الرهن المنزل. هذه المرة كان المبلغ 8.5 مليار دولار. وشمل ذلك تخفيف المبالغ المتنوعة للذين وقعوا ضحايا في العملية.

اقرأ المزيد على هافينغتون بوست ...


فوز VOICE يفوز اتفاق إسكان مهم مع بنك أوف أميركا أكتوبر 12th، 2012

في مساء يوم الاثنين أكتوبر 1st ، كان VOICE (Virginians المنظمة من أجل المشاركة المجتمعية بين الأديان) عمل ناجح بشكل ملحوظ لدفع تخفيف الرهن العقاري إلى أصحاب المنازل المتضررين في مقاطعة الأمير وليام بولاية فيرجينيا. بعد أيام من المفاوضات المكثفة ، وأماكن الإقامة في اللحظة الأخيرة ، والكثير من السياسات المتقلبة ، قام قادة 800 + VOICE بتعبئة كنيسة القديس بولس الميثودية في وودبريدج بولاية فيرجينيا ، وظهرت مع بعض الاتفاقيات المثيرة للإعجاب.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


غاضبون أصحاب المنازل ، وجماعات المجتمع المحتج في ويلز فارجو AGM 29 أبريل، 2012

اجتمع الآلاف من أصحاب المنازل الغاضبين والمهاجرين وأعضاء النقابات والمحتلين والمجموعات المجتمعية في الاجتماع السنوي لحملة الأسهم لبنك ويلز فارجو. في احتجاج تم تصميمه بعناية ، غادرت مسيرات متزامنة جاستن هيرمان بلازا على الواجهة البحرية للمدينة ، موقع معسكر احتلوا سان فرانسيسكو في الخريف الماضي. سار المتظاهرون في شوارع موازية إلى الحي المالي ، حيث طوّقوا المبنى الذي كان من المقرر عقد الاجتماع فيه ، في قاعة جوليا مورغان في مبنى ميرشانت للصرافة.

 اشترت مجموعة من الممثلين الدينيين والنقاب والمجتمع المحلي أسهمًا في البنك مسبقًا ، مما سمح لهم بحضور اجتماع المساهمين. حتى أن بعضهم كان يمتلك وكلاء ، مما سمح لهم بالتصويت على الأسهم التي تخص الآخرين. وبينما كان الاحتشاد يدور بالخارج ، والخطب والأغاني تملأ الشوارع الآن خالية من المرور المعتاد ، أغلقت الشرطة المبنى ورفضت السماح للمساهمين بالداخل:

قام Wells Fargo بسد ما يزيد عن مائة من المساهمين الشرعيين من دخول الاجتماع ، قائلين إن الغرفة وصلت إلى الحد الأقصى من السعة. حول المساهمين 20 تناوبوا على الرئيس التنفيذي في الداخل أثناء محاولته إلقاء خطابه. تم اصطحابهم خارج الاجتماع. انتهى الاجتماع في دقائق 37 (مقارنة بسنوات 2.5 في السنوات السابقة) ، مع عدم وجود سؤال واحد ، ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى الاضطراب في كل من الاجتماع وداخله وحقيقة أن ويلز احتشدت الغرفة مع موظفيها.

في الوقت الذي صورت فيه التغطية الإعلامية الأحداث كجزء من حركة "احتل" ، قدمت مجموعات PICO في منطقة Bay ، و SEIU ، و NPA ، و ACCE ، و AJS ، و NBL وغيرها من المجموعات التنظيمية القيادة الأساسية لهذا الحدث.

 

 


يستضيف منظمو المجتمع القائم على الإيمان تجمع عام على أزمة الرهن في ولاية فرجينيا أكتوبر 6th، 2011

في 30 تشرين الأول (أكتوبر) ستعقد المؤسسات الأعضاء VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement) تجمعًا عامًا مع أكثر من 1,000 شخص للاحتفال بالتقدم المحرز في حملاتهم الأخيرة ، لا سيما عملهم لمعالجة أزمة الرهن في مقاطعة برينس ويليام وماناساس ومنتزه ماناساس. . دعمت Oblates عمل VOICE بشأن حبس الرهن من خلال منح المنظمة حق الوصول إلى اجتماعات الشركة وربطها مع نشطاء المساهمين الدينيين الآخرين.

سيكون الإجراء القادم فرصة للاحتفال بالنجاحات (في مقاطعة الأمير وليام وعبر ولاية فرجينيا الشمالية) والإعلان عن الخطوات التالية لمعالجة احتياجات إعادة الاستثمار المحلية.

وسيحضر السناتور مارك وارنر (D-VA) وكبار المديرين التنفيذيين في البنك.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » mortgage crisis


Northern Virginia Community Organization Develops $30 Million Redevelopment Fund October 1st, 2013

fd81abd254d7751c4d3d0b1efc49d95fVOICE, the northern Virginia community organization that has been addressing housing blight in the region, was highlighted in a Washington Post article recently. The organization has put together the $30 million “Prince William, VA Restoration Fund” from mortgage lenders responsible for a major foreclosure crisis in the area. The fund is designed to address neighborhood blight caused by the foreclosure & predatory loan crisis in town home communities like Georgetown South in Manassas, VA.  The Oblates have actively supported VOICE’s efforts to develop this community redevelopment fund through our activist shareholder connections.

Click here to read more »


Religious Leaders Press JP Morgan Chase to Reinvest in Virginia County Hit Hard by Foreclosures June 20th, 2013

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI calls for justice from JP Morgan Chase

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI calls for investment in mortgage-devastated communities from JP Morgan Chase

Northern Virginia Religious leaders marched this morning to JP Morgan’s DC offices after the Bank refused to invest adequately in Prince William County, VA. The county was hard hit in the mortgage crisis, and the investment is needed to re-build the blighted communities.

Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI and the Oblates, as investors in the major banks, have been supportive of the community effort to deal with the mortgage crisis, through VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement). Fr. Finn spoke at the rally, calling on the JP Morgan Chase to make a meaningful investment in the community. Watch a video of the speech on YouTube.

VOICE leaders plan to meet with Federal Regulators in the next month to ask them to sanction the bank for predatory lending practices, and to investigate credit card robo-signings in Northern Virginia.

Click here to read more »


Fleeting Responsibility Abounds in 2013 January 30th, 2013

We were greeted in early January with yet another announcement about a settlement between regulators at the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) and the Federal Reserve with 10 major U.S. banks concerning charges of abusive and faulty practices in the home foreclosure process. This time the amount was $8.5 billion. It included relief of varying amounts of money for those who were victimized in the process.

Read more on Huffington Post…


VOICE Wins Significant Housing Agreement with Bank of America October 12th, 2012

On the evening of Monday October 1st, VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement) had a remarkably successful action to push forward mortgage relief for affected homeowners in Prince William County, VA. Following all-day, intense negotiations, last minute accommodations, and a lot of fluid politics, 800+ VOICE leaders packed St Paul United Methodist Church in Woodbridge, VA and emerged with some impressive agreements.

Click here to read more »


Angry Homeowners, Community Groups Protested at Wells Fargo AGM April 29th, 2012

Thousands of angry homeowners, immigrants, union members, Occupiers and community groups converged on the annual shareholders meeting of Wells Fargo Bank. In a carefully choreographed protest, simultaneous marches left Justin Herman Plaza on the city’s waterfront, site of the Occupy San Francisco encampment last fall. Demonstrators walked up parallel streets into the financial district, where they encircled the block in which the meeting was set to take place, in the Julia Morgan ballroom of the Merchant’s Exchange Building.

 A group of religious, union and community representatives had purchased shares of stock in the bank beforehand, supposedly allowing them to attend the shareholders meeting. Some even held proxies, allowing them to vote the stock belonging to others. As the rally swirled outside, and speeches and songs filled the streets now vacant of their normal traffic, the police closed off the building and refused to let the shareholders inside:

Wells Fargo blocked over a hundred legitimate shareholders from entering the meeting, saying that the room had reached maximum capacity. About 20 shareholders inside took turns interrupting the CEO while he tried to give his speech. They were escorted out of the meeting. The meeting ended in 37 minutes (compared to 2.5 hours in previous years), with not a single question, largely due to the turmoil both outside and inside the meeting and the fact that Wells packed the room with their own employees.

While the media coverage portrayed the events as part of the Occupy movement, PICO groups in the Bay Area, SEIU, NPA, ACCE, AJS, NBL and other organizing groups provided the core leadership for the event.

 

 


Faith Based Community Organizers host Public Gathering on Foreclosure Crisis in Virginia October 6th, 2011

On October 30th VOICE (Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement) member institutions will hold a public gathering with more than 1,000 people to celebrate progress on their recent campaigns, especially their work to address the foreclosure crisis in Prince William County, Manassas, & Manassas Park. The Oblates have supported VOICE’s work on foreclosures by having given the organization access to company meetings and  connecting them with other faith-based shareholder activists.

The upcoming action will be an opportunity to celebrate successes (in Prince William County and across Northern Virginia) and to announce next steps to address local reinvestment needs.

Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) and senior bank executives will be in attendance.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top