شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »seamus finn


يفلح مضيفي مركز 2019 McLean Center 17 سبتمبر، 2019

عقد مجلس البحوث في القيم والفلسفة ندوته السنوية 2019 من أغسطس 18 إلى سبتمبر 20 تحت شعار معنى الديمقراطية: الأسس والتحديات المعاصرة. الندوة هي مبادرة متعددة التخصصات والثقافات مع مشاركين من علماء 15 من مختلف البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم المشاركة. هدف واحد من الندوة هو للمشاركين لممارسة التفاهم المتبادل وبالتالي تحقيق أشكال دائمة من الصداقة والتعاون الأكاديمي.

زار المشاركون مرتين المجتمع Oblate في واشنطن العاصمة خلال شهر سبتمبر. سبتمبر 8th شاركوا في القداس في الكنيسة وفي سبتمبر 10th انضموا إلى المجتمع لتناول طعام الغداء واستمعوا إلى محاضرة ، "قضايا العدالة / الديمقراطية والمالية اليوم" قدمه الأب. سيموس فين OMI.

في يوم الاثنين ، أيلول (سبتمبر) 16th Fr ، سيموس فين ، عمل OMI أيضًا في لجنة من العلماء والممارسين في حدث عام -الثقافة الاقتصادية الأمريكية المعاصرة وقيمها- نظمه مركز ماكلين لدراسة الثقافة والقيم.

القس جورج ف. ماكلين ، OML (1929-2016) ، كان مؤسس مركز الجامعة الكاثوليكية لدراسة الثقافة والقيم ، والمجلس الدولي للبحوث في القيم والفلسفة (RVP ، www.crvp.orز). قام بتدريس الفلسفة في CUA من 1956-1993 لكنه كرس حياته بالكامل لتعزيز الحوار والتعاون بين مختلف الشعوب والثقافات والأديان في جميع أنحاء العالم.

في 2017 لتكريم الأب. افتتحت ماكلين الجامعة رسمياً مركز CUA McLean لدراسة الثقافة والقيم (MCSCV). الأب بدأ McLean ندوة سنوية في 1984 لدعوة العلماء والفلاسفة من مختلف الثقافات والحضارات إلى المشاركة في حلقات دراسية لمدة خمسة إلى عشرة أسابيع في واشنطن العاصمة لمناقشة القضايا الفلسفية الحالية والعاجلة.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول زيارة المركز http://www.crvp.org/McLean/McLean.html

(انقر الصور مرتين لزيادة الحجم)


الأب Séamus Finn، OMI Speaking at the Third Vatican Conference in Rome 25 فبراير، 2019

مؤتمر الفاتيكان الثالث حول الاستثمار المؤثر: التوسع في الاستثمار في خدمة التنمية البشرية المتكاملة تركز على الطرق الملموسة التي يمكن استخدامها لرأس المال لمساعدة الفقراء في جميع أنحاء العالم.


الآباء روفوس وايتلي وسياموس فين في مؤتمر الفاتيكان 25 فبراير، 2019

أعيد نشرها من OMIUSA.ORG

مؤتمر الفاتيكان الثالث حول الاستثمار المؤثر: التوسع في الاستثمار في خدمة التنمية البشرية المتكاملة تركز على الطرق الملموسة التي يمكن استخدامها لرأس المال لمساعدة الفقراء في جميع أنحاء العالم.

التقى الحاضرون في الفاتيكان من جميع أنحاء العالم لسماع مجموعة متنوعة من المؤسسات الاجتماعية و impacإن الصناديق المصممة للقيام بذلك - بعضها أمثلة على كيفية قيام المستثمرين بنشر رؤوس أموالهم ، والبعض الآخر يسعى بنشاط للحصول على تمويل يتراوح من الاستثمار التجاري إلى التمويل المختلط ، وهو مزيج من الاستثمار والأعمال الخيرية. تستخدم جميع الشركات والصناديق المميزة تأثير رأس المال لتوفير السلع والخدمات و / أو فرص العمل على نحو مستدام للفقراء على نطاق واسع للغاية.

في شهر يوليو الماضي في روما ، اجتذب المؤتمر قادة من الكنيسة الكاثوليكية ، والأعمال التجارية ، والبنوك ، وعالم الاستثمار ، والأوساط الأكاديمية ، والمؤسسات ، والمنظمات الإنسانية والعديد من المهتمين بالمسألة. كما هو الحال في السنوات السابقة ، شارك في استضافته Dicastery من أجل تعزيز التنمية البشرية المتكاملة (IHD) وخدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية (CRS) ، وهي وكالة إنسانية رسمية خارجية في المجتمع الكاثوليكي في الولايات المتحدة.

قم بزيارة موقع OMIUSA الإلكتروني لقراءة المقال كاملاً.


حدث قادم: حوار حول الأبعاد الأخلاقية للصناعات الاستخراجية يناير 31st، 2018

جميع العدل والسلام ونزاهة مكتب الخلق من OMI Lacombe بالشراكة مع قديس
جامعة بول هي يسرنا أن ندعوك لحوار الصباح.

احضر الحدث أو شاهده عبر الإنترنت. معلومات التسجيل أدناه.


حيث: جامعة سانت بول ، 223 الشارع الرئيسي ، أوتاوا ، كندا - قاعة Laframboise

الموعد: فبراير 13 ، 2018 - 9: 30am to 12: 00pm EDT

تحت عنوان أبعاد أخلاقية للصناعات الاستخراجية في التدريس الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي ، هذا الحدث هو فرصة للمناقشة المفتوحة حول Laudato سي يدعو إلى تغيير ممارسات التعدين في الصناعات الحديثة. في حين شجب الانتهاكات on حقوق الانسان والبيئة و نهج غير مستدام وغير مسؤول من القطاعات الاستخراجية الحالية ، وهذا أيضا فرصة ل معا إيجاد بدائل للتغيير وممارسات أفضل.

المتحدثون الضيوف هم:
السيد جيم كوني، محاضر في معهد نورمان ب. كيفيل للهندسة التعدينية في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية (UBC) ، كندا ؛ من سيتحدث عن التعدين والتنمية المستدامة من Laudato Si ' منظور

Rev. Seamus Finn، OMI، تذكار مهنة العمدة من أجل OIP Investment Trust and consultant to the US Province JPIC الذي سيخاطب الأبعاد الأخلاقية الكاثوليكية للصناعات الاستخراجية.

أنت مدعو للانضمام إلى هذا الحدث الهام الذي يهدف إلى تغذية تفكير أولئك الذين يريدون أن يكونوا جزءًا من ائتلاف كبير من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي.

لحضور الاجتماع في Saint Paul ، يرجى التسجيل هنا.

للبث عبر الإنترنت ، لا حاجة للتسجيل. يمكنك الانضمام مباشرة على فبراير 13 و 2018 - 9: 30am to 12: 00pm EDT بالضغط هنا.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الحدث أو للتسجيل ، لا تتردد في الاتصال بـ:

فرناندا دي كاسترو - مكتب JPIC
jpic@ustpaul.ca
613-236-1393 ext.2661 ، أو

ليوناردو ريجو OMI
613-236-1393 ext.2660


المشاركة في منتدى جامعة 10th في جامعة هارفارد حول التمويل الإسلامي 20 أبريل، 2012

الأب شارك Séamus Finn ، OMI في منتدى جامعة 10th حول التمويل الإسلامي الذي عقد في كامبريدج ، ماساتشوستس في مارس 24-25 ، 2012. كان عضوا في الجلسة العامة حول الاستثمار القائم على الإيمان والمسؤولية الاجتماعية.

قدم كتيب المنتدى هذا الملخص للإجراءات:

يضم المنتدى العاشر ثلاث جلسات موازية رئيسية تعكس ثلاثة مواضيع رئيسية في موضوع التنمية الاقتصادية. وتشمل هذه مساهمة القطاع المالي الإسلامي في التنمية الاقتصادية العالمية ، والتمويل الإسلامي وتطوير الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة (SMEs) ، والاستثمار الديني والمسؤولية الاجتماعية. وإلى جانب هذه الجلسات الثلاث الرئيسية ، هناك جلسات موازية حول التمويل الإسلامي وحركات الربيع العربي ، وجهات نظر عالمية حول التمويل الإسلامي ، والتمويل الإسلامي ، والتفكير الاقتصادي البديل ، والأبحاث الأكاديمية الحالية حول تطوير المنتجات في صناعة التمويل الإسلامي. من خلال مكبرات الصوت 50 و 30 الممثلة ، يجذب المنتدى كبار الممارسين من الأوساط الأكاديمية والصناعة لمناقشة القضايا المذكورة أعلاه بشكل نقدي بهدف اقتراح خطط التنمية المستدامة لصناعة التمويل الإسلامي بشكل عام. لا شك في أن هذا الحقل المتطور بسرعة في النظام المالي العالمي يتطلب تدقيقًا وثيقًا لتسخيره إلى أقصى حد لتنمية الاقتصاد العالمي.

معرفة المزيد عن مشروع التمويل الإسلامي ...


تأملات في الأعمال وحقوق الإنسان يناير 1st، 2012

قراءة الأب. أحدث مدونة هافينغتون بوست من سيموس فين على المبادئ التوجيهية بشأن الأعمال التجارية وحقوق الإنسان تم التصديق عليه مؤخرًا من قبل مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة. وقد تم تطوير المبادئ لتقديم التوجيهات لتنفيذ إطار "الحماية والاحترام والإصلاح"، قدم لأول مرة الممثل الخاص جون روجي في 2008. وهي تقدم توصيات عملية وملموسة للغاية بشأن كيفية تفعيل الإطار ، الذي تم بناؤه حول الركائز المركزية الثلاثة التالية:

  • تقع على عاتق الدول مسؤولية الحماية من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من قبل أطراف ثالثة ، بما في ذلك الشركات ؛
  • تقع على عاتق الشركات مسؤولية احترام حقوق الإنسان ؛
  • يجب أن يكون ضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان أحراراً في الوصول إلى سبل الانتصاف الفعالة.

أعرف أكثر…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » seamus finn


Oblates Host 2019 McLean Center Scholars September 17th, 2019

The Council for Research in Values and Philosophy held its 2019 Annual Seminar from August 18-September 20 under the theme The Meaning of  Democracy: Foundations & Contemporary Challenges. The seminar is an interdisciplinary and intercultural initiative with 15 scholars from different countries around the world participating. One objective of the seminar is for participants to practice mutual understanding and so achieve lasting forms of academic friendship and cooperation.

Participants twice visited the Oblate community in Washington DC during the month of September. On September 8th they participated in liturgy at the chapel and on September 10th they joined the community for lunch and listened to a lecture, “Issues of Justice/Democracy and Finance Today” presented by Fr. Séamus Finn OMI.

On Monday September 16th Fr, Séamus Finn, OMI also served on a panel of scholars and practitioners at a public event  –Contemporary American Economic Culture and Its Values–  organized by the McLean Center for the Study of Culture and Values.

Rev. George F. McLean, OMl (1929-2016), was the Founder of Catholic University of America’s (CUA) Center for the Study of Culture and Values, and the International Council for Research in Values and Philosophy (RVP, www.crvp.org). He taught philosophy at CUA from 1956-1993 but devoted his entire life to promoting dialogue and cooperation among different peoples, cultures and religions around the globe.

In 2017 to honor Fr. McLean the university officially inaugurated the CUA McLean Center for the Study of Culture and Values (MCSCV). Fr. McLean initiated an annual seminar in 1984 to invite scholars and philosophers from diverse cultures and civilizations to participate in five to ten week seminars in Washington, D.C. to discuss current and urgent philosophical issues.

For more information about the Center visit http://www.crvp.org/McLean/McLean.html

(Click photos twice to increase size)

 

 


Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI Speaking at the Third Vatican Conference in Rome February 25th, 2019

The Third Vatican Conference on Impact Investing: Scaling Investment in Service of Integral Human Development focused on concrete ways that capital can be put to use to help the poor around the world.

 


Fathers Rufus Whitley and Séamus Finn at Vatican Conference February 25th, 2019

Republished from OMIUSA.ORG

The Third Vatican Conference on Impact Investing: Scaling Investment in Service of Integral Human Development focused on concrete ways that capital can be put to use to help the poor around the world.

Attendees converged on the Vatican from all corners of the globe to hear about a variety of social enterprises and impact funds designed to do just that — some are examples of how investors can deploy their capital, others were actively seeking funding ranging from commercial investment to blended finance, a combination of investment and philanthropy. All of the featured enterprises and funds use impact capital to sustainably provide goods, services, and/or jobs to the very poor at scale.

Taking place last July in Rome, the conference drew leaders from the Catholic Church, business, banks, the investment world, academia, foundations, humanitarian organizations and many others interested in the issue. As in previous years, it was co-hosted by the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development (IHD) and Catholic Relief Services (CRS), the official overseas humanitarian agency of the Catholic community in the United States.

Visit OMIUSA’s website to read the full article.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Upcoming Event: Dialogue on Ethical Dimensions of Extractive industries January 31st, 2018

The Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation Office of OMI Lacombe in partnership with Saint
Paul University are pleased to invite you to a morning dialogue.

Attend the event or watch it online. Registration information below.


Where: St. Paul University, 223 Main Street, Ottawa, CANADA – Laframboise Hall

When: February 13, 2018 – 9:30am to 12:00pm EDT

Entitled Ethical dimensions of Extractive industries in Catholic Social Teaching, the event is an opportunity for open discussion about Laudato Si’s calls for change in the mining practices of modern industries. While denouncing the violations on human rights, environment and the non-sustainable and irresponsible approach of current extractive sectors, this is also an opportunity to together find alternatives for change and better practices.

Guest speakers are:
Mr. Jim Cooney, Lecturer at the Norman B. Keevil Institute of Mining Engineering at the University of British Columbia (UBC), Canada; who will be talking about Mining and sustainable development from a Laudato Si’ perspective

Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, Chief for the OIP Investment Trust and consultant to the US Province JPIC office, who will be addressing the Catholic Ethical dimensions of Extractive industries.

You are invited to join this important event which aims to feed the thinking of those who want to be part of a grand coalition for social change.

To attend the meeting at Saint Paul, please register here.

For online streaming, no registration is needed. You can join live on February 13, 2018 – 9:30am to 12:00pm EDT by clicking here.

For more information about the event or to register, please feel free to contact:

Fernanda de Castro – JPIC Office
jpic@ustpaul.ca
613-236-1393 ext.2661, or

Leonardo Rego OMI
613-236-1393 ext.2660


Oblates Participate in 10th Harvard University Forum on Islamic Finance April 20th, 2012

Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI participated in the 10th Harvard University Forum on Islamic Finance held in Cambridge, Massachusetts on March 24-25, 2012. He was a panelist in the plenary session on Faith-Based Investment and Social Responsibility.

The Forum brochure offered this summary of the proceedings:

The Tenth Forum features three main parallel sessions, which reflect three major themes within the topic of economic development. These include the Islamic financial sector’s contribution to global economic development, Islamic finance and the development of Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs), and faith-based investment and social responsibility. Apart from these three main sessions, there are also parallel sessions on Islamic finance and the Arab Spring movements, global perspectives on Islamic finance, Islamic finance and alternative economic thinking, and current academic research on product development in the Islamic finance industry. With over 50 speakers and 30 nationalities represented, the forum attracts the leading practitioners from academia and the industry to critically discuss the issues highlighted above with a view to proposing sustainable developmental plans for the Islamic finance industry in general. There is no doubt that this rapidly developing field of the global financial system requires a close scrutiny to maximally harness it for the development of the global economy.

 Learn more about the Islamic Finance Project…


Reflections on Business and Human Rights January 1st, 2012

Read Fr. Seamus Finn’s latest Huffington Post blog on the Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights recently endorsed by the UN Human Rights Council. The principles were developed to offer guidance for the implementation of the “Protect, Respect and Remedy” framework, first introduced by Special Representative John Ruggie in 2008. They provide very practical and concrete recommendations on how to operationalize the framework, which was built around the following three central pillars:

  • States have a responsibility to protect against human rights abuses by third parties, including corporations;
  • Companies have a responsibility to respect human rights;
  • Victims of human rights abuses must be free to access effective remedies.

Learn more…

Return to Top