شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »نشاط المساهمين


تحالف المستثمرين يحث شركات الغاز الطبيعي بنجاح على معالجة آثار التكسير 17 يونيو، 2014

تحت ضغط من ائتلاف من المستثمرين للسنة الخامسة على التوالي ، وافقت شركات النفط والغاز الرئيسية بما في ذلك إكسون موبيل ، EQT ، وأوكسيدنتال بتروليوم على الإبلاغ عن الخطوات التي يتم اتخاذها للتخفيف من الآثار البيئية والاجتماعية السلبية لعمليات التكسير الهيدروليكي.

قدم ائتلاف المستثمرين ، الذي يضم مستثمرين على أساس ديني ومسؤولين اجتماعيين ، بالإضافة إلى صناديق التقاعد العامة الكبرى ، مقترحات المساهمين في شيفرون ، إكسون موبيل ، إي كيو تي ، إي أو أو جي ، بايونير ناتشورال ريسورسيز ، وأوكسيدنتال بتروليوم في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، مما أثار المخاوف بشأن المخاطر المرتبطة بآثار عمليات التكسير الهيدروليكي للشركة. استجابةً لالتزامات الشركة ، سحب المساهمون المقترحات في ExxonMobil و EQT و Occidental Petroleum و Pioneer Natural. صوّت ما يقرب من ثلث المساهمين لصالح المقترحات المقدمة في EOG والاجتماعات السنوية لحملة الأسهم لشيفرون.

شاركت شركة The Mutray Oblates في اقتراح التكسير مع شركة Chevron ، واشتركت في عدد من شركات النفط والغاز بشأن تخفيضات الانبعاثات.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


ينضم مكتب برنامج العراق إلى دوميني والمساهمين الآخرين في حث Google على دفع حصتها العادلة من الضرائب 11 مايو، 2014

googleevilوتدعي العديد من الشركات أنها مضطرة من قبل حملة الأسهم لتفادي الضرائب من أجل زيادة الأرباح إلى الحد الأقصى ، ولكن ماذا تفعل الشركة إذا ما أصر مساهموها على أنها تدفع فعليًا حصتها العادلة في الضرائب؟

قد تكتشف قريبًا مجموعة من المساهمين في Google ، برئاسة Domini Social Investments. وقد قدمت المجموعة أ مقترح للنظر في الاجتماع السنوي للمساهمين مطالبة الشركة بتبني مجموعة من المبادئ المتعلقة بالضرائب. يوصي المساهمون بأن تتضمن المبادئ النظر في أي "اختلال بين الاستراتيجيات الضريبية وأهداف وسياسات Google المعلنة فيما يتعلق بالاستدامة الاجتماعية والبيئية."

ويأتي هذا الاقتراح بعد العديد من القصص التي تم نشرها على نطاق واسع حول التخطيط الضريبي الجاد لشركة Google والذي ينقل مليارات الدولارات سنويًا إلى الملاذات الضريبية الخارجية. في 2012 بمفردها ، تهربت Google من ضريبة الدخل المقدرة بـ 2 مليار دولار تقريبًا عن طريق تحويل مبلغ 9.5 مليار دولار إلى ملاذات ضريبية في الخارج.

استمر في قراءة هذه القصة من Citizen's for Tax Justice ...

 

 


نشاط المساهمين الناشئين 22 مايو، 2013

ارفع يديكشخص منذور للخدمة فى دير نشاط المساهمين تم الاعتراف بها مؤخرًا من قبل ريتشارد إيسكو * ، المدونة على هافينغتون بوست حول الأخلاق (أو عدم وجودها) لنظامنا المالي. هذا مقتطف من مدونته:

المصرفيون غير الأخلاقيون أو الخارجون عن القانون مسؤولون أخلاقياً عن أفعالهم. لم نخالف القانون ولم نطرد الناس من منازلهم. لقد فعلوا.

ولكن حتى لو لم نشارك في الشعور بالذنب ، فإننا نتشارك المسؤولية. هل فعلنا كل ما في وسعنا لإيقافهم؟ سيقول الناس إنهم أقوياء للغاية ، وهذا صحيح. لكن علينا مسؤولية المحاولة والاستمرار في المحاولة مهما حدث. تقع على عاتقنا مسؤولية الانخراط في جهد كبير ، وهو كفاح من أجل تنظيم أفضل واقتصاد أكثر إنسانية. إنه أيضًا صراع على القلوب والعقول - ديمون ، ووسائل الإعلام ، وعقولنا. يجب أن نطالب بالمزيد - من البنوك التي تخدمنا ، من وسائل الإعلام التي تسلينا (إن لم تخبرنا) ، من الوكالات الحكومية التي تعمل لدينا.

العقود الآجلة

وينبغي أن نطالب بالمزيد منا. هذه صناديق التقاعد النقابية ، والمستثمرين المؤسسيين في JPMorgan Chase ، اتخذت إجراءات اليوم لتغيير طريقة العمل هناك. هكذا فعلت الأب سيموس فين من مركز الأديان المعني بمسؤولية الشركاتالذي قدم أحد القرارات نيابة عن شركة عائلية مع سهم JPM.

يحتاج المزيد منا للانضمام إليهم في نشاط اقتصادي منسق وبناء. يمكننا أيضًا العمل على تقليل اعتمادنا على أنواع القروض التي تؤدي إلى العبودية المالية ، إلى الحد الممكن في هذا المناخ الاقتصادي القاسي ".

اقرأ مدونة Huffington Post من ريتشارد إسكو على JP Morgan Chase

* ريتشارد اسكو هو كاتب ومضيف "The Breakdown" ، بالإضافة إلى زميل أول في Campaign for America's Future

 


طلب Dupont ، موقع ئي باي تقريرا عن الضغط على النفقات والأنشطة 25 أبريل، 2013

logo_dupontقدم المساهمون في ICCR ، بقيادة Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate ، مقترحات المساهمين في DuPont و eBay ، مطالبتهم بالإبلاغ عن أنشطة الضغط الشاملة والسياسات وآليات الرقابة. حصل التصويت على 34٪ في Dupont و 24٪ في eBay ، وهي نسبة أعلى من المعتاد.

في 2012 ، قام المستثمرون الناشطون ، بالتنسيق مع رابطة الموظفين الفيدرالية والولاية والمقاطعة والبلدية (AFSCME) وإدارة Walden Asset Management في بوسطن ، بدعم حملة تدعو إلى الكشف عن أنشطة وسياسات الضغط. تم تقديم القرارات في شركات 40 ، حيث جاءت 20 للتصويت ، بمتوسط ​​دعم المساهمين 24٪. يمثل اقتراح المساهمين هذا 2013 أول مرة يتم فيها تقديم قرار للمساهمين حول أنشطة وسياسات الضغط في DuPont. كان الاقتراح في eBay غير منتظم على ما يبدو ، لكن الإدارة سمحت بالتصويت عليه.

كانت المقترحات غير ملزمة وطلبت من الشركة تقديم تقرير سنوي عن أنشطتها وسياساتها وآليات الرقابة المتعلقة بالضغط. دعا اقتراح دوبونت الشركة إلى الإبلاغ عن:

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


Goldman Sachs Heeds يقوم المستثمرون على أساس الإيمان 16 أبريل، 2012

الأخت نورا ناش مع الأب. سيموس فين قبل اجتماع مع جولدمان ساكس

لقد اضطرت شركة Goldman Sachs ، إحدى أقوى الشركات المالية في العالم ، إلى الاهتمام بمناصرة المساهمين على أساس ديني.

نُقل عن القس سيموس فين ، OMI ، مدير مكتب OMI JPIC في مقالة حديثة في وول ستريت جورنال: "لقد كان انتقالًا صعبًا لـ ... [غولدمان] لمعرفة كيف تكون شركة عامة." تمتلك The Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate 286,000 سهم من Goldman ، ووافقت بعد مناقشات مع رئيس علاقات المستثمرين في الشركة Dane Holmes على سحب اقتراحها الذي يركز على ممارسات Goldman مع العملاء والسرية الضريبية. الاب. أوضح سيموس ، "لقد أدركوا أخيرًا أننا لن نذهب بعيدًا وعليهم على الأقل إشراكنا".

التقى الأب فين في الماضي مع جون إف دبليو روجرز ، سكرتير مجلس إدارة بنك جولدمان ، مع السيد بلانكفين ورئيس جولدمان ، غاري دي كوهن.

اقرأ المقال…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » shareholder activism


Investor Coalition Successfully Urges Natural Gas Companies to Address Fracking Impacts June 17th, 2014

Under pressure from a coalition of investors for the fifth year in a row, major oil and gas companies including ExxonMobil, EQT, and Occidental Petroleum agreed to report on steps being taken to mitigate the adverse environmental and community impacts of their hydraulic fracturing operations.

The coalition of investors, which includes faith-based and socially responsible investors, as well as major public pension funds, filed shareholder proposals at Chevron, ExxonMobil, EQT, EOG, Pioneer Natural Resources, and Occidental Petroleum earlier this year, raising concerns about the risks associated with the impacts of company hydraulic fracturing operations. In response to corporate commitments, shareholders withdrew the proposals at ExxonMobil, EQT, Occidental Petroleum, and Pioneer Natural. Nearly a third of shareholders voted in favor of the proposals presented at EOG and Chevron’s annual meetings of shareholders.

The Missionary Oblates co-filed on the fracking proposal with Chevron, and has engaged a number of oil and gas companies on emissions reductions

Click here to read more »


OIP joins Domini and other Shareholders in urging Google to pay its fair share of taxes May 11th, 2014

googleevilMany companies claim they are forced by shareholders to dodge taxes in order to maximize profits, but what would a company do if its shareholders insist that it actually pay its fair share in taxes?

A group of Google shareholders, headed up by Domini Social Investments, may soon find out. The group has filed a proposal for consideration at the shareholder annual meeting asking the company to adopt a set of principles regarding taxes. The shareholders are recommending that the principles include consideration of any “misalignment between tax strategies and Google’s stated objectives and policies regarding social and environmental sustainability.”

The proposal comes after several widely publicized stories about Google’s aggressive tax planning which moves billions of dollars annually to offshore tax havens. In 2012 alone, Google dodged an estimated $2 billion in income taxes by shifting an estimated $9.5 billion to offshore tax havens.

Continue reading this story from Citizen’s for Tax Justice…

 

 


Oblate Shareholder Activism Appreciated May 22nd, 2013

hands-upOblate shareholder activism was recognized recently by Richard Eskow*, blogging on Huffington Post about the morality (or lack thereof) of our financial system. Here is an excerpt from his blog:

“Unethical or lawbreaking bankers are morally responsible for their actions. We didn’t break the law or throw people out of their homes. They did.

But even if we don’t share in the guilt, we share the responsibility. Did we do everything we could to stop them? They’re too powerful, people will say, and that’s true. But we have a responsibility to try, and to keep on trying, no matter what. We have a responsibility to engage in the great effort, which is a struggle for better regulation and a more humane economy. It’s also a struggle for hearts and minds – Dimon’s, the media’s, and our own. We should be demanding more – of the banks that serve us, of the media that entertain (if not inform) us, of the government agencies that work for us.

Futures

And we should be demanding more of us. These union pension funds, institutional investors at JPMorgan Chase, took action today to change the way business is done there. So did Father Seamus Finn of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, who introduced one of the resolutions on behalf of a family trust with JPM shares.

More of us need to join them in concerted, constructive economic activism. We can also work to reduce our dependence on the kinds of loans that lead to financial servitude, to the extent that’s possible in this harsh economic climate.”

Read the Huffington Post blog by Richard Eskow on JP Morgan Chase

*Richard Eskow is a writer, and host of ‘The Breakdown’, as well as a Senior Fellow at Campaign for America’s Future

 


Dupont, eBay Asked to Report on Lobbying Expenditures and Activities April 25th, 2013

logo_dupontICCR shareholders, led by the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, filed shareholder proposals at DuPont  and eBay, asking that they report on their comprehensive lobbying activities, policies, and oversight mechanisms. The vote garnered 34% at Dupont and 24% at eBay, higher than usual figures.

In 2012, activist investors, coordinated by the Association of Federal, State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) and Walden Asset Management in Boston, fostered a campaign calling for disclosure on lobbying activities and policies. Resolutions were submitted at 40 companies, 20 of which came to a vote, averaging 24% shareholder support. This 2013 shareholder proposal is the first time that a shareholder resolution on lobbying activities and policies has been filed at DuPont. The proposal at eBay was apparently irregular, but Management allowed a vote on it.

The proposals were non-binding and requested of the company that it annually report on its lobbying-related activities, policies, and oversight mechanisms. The Dupont proposal called on the company to report on:

Click here to read more »


Goldman Sachs Heeds Faith-based Investors April 16th, 2012

Sister Nora Nash with Fr. Seamus Finn before a meeting with Goldman Sachs

Goldman Sachs, one of the world’s most powerful financial firms, has been forced to pay attention to faith-based shareholder advocacy.

The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI, Director of the OMI JPIC Office was quoted in a recent Wall Street Journal article: “It’s been a difficult transition for …[Goldman to figure] out how to be a public company.” The Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate owns 286,000 shares of Goldman, and agreed after discussions with the firm’s investor-relations chief Dane Holmes to withdraw its proposal focused on Goldman’s practices with clients and tax secrecy. Fr. Seamus explained, “They finally recognized that we’re not going away and they have to at least engage us.”

Father Finn has met in the past with John F.W. Rogers, Goldman’s board secretary, with Mr. Blankfein and Goldman’s president, Gary D. Cohn.

Read the article…

Return to Top