شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »ملاذات ضريبية


ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي: تجنب الضرائب على الشركات يضر بالاقتصاد العالمي والدول الفقيرة 25 يونيو، 2014

يوم الضرائبأصدر صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) ورقة عمل تشير إلى أن تجنب ضرائب الشركات يؤثر سلبًا على جميع الاقتصادات ، ولكنه يضر بالدول النامية أكثر من غيره. يأتي إصدار صندوق النقد الدولي في الوقت الذي تسعى فيه مجموعة العشرين ومنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية وهيئات الأمم المتحدة إلى إيجاد وسائل لتقليل التهرب الضريبي على الشركات.

صرح إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي للمجموعة الدينية لمكافحة الفقر ، شبكة Jubilee USA Network: "يخسر العالم النامي في التهرب الضريبي للشركات أكثر مما يتلقاها من مساعدات من الدول المتقدمة". "تظهر الورقة أنه عندما تحول الشركات متعددة الجنسيات أرباحها إلى بلد آخر لدفع ضرائب أقل ، فإننا نرى مستويات أعلى من عدم المساواة العالمية."

ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي بعنوان "الآثار غير المباشرة في ضرائب الشركات الدولية". "التداعيات" هي تأثير سياسات دولة ما على دولة أخرى. من خلال تحويل الأرباح إلى البلدان ذات المعدلات الضريبية المنخفضة (التي يطلق عليها غالبًا "الملاذات الضريبية") ، تتجنب الشركات دفع ضرائبها في البلدان التي تحقق فيها هذه الأرباح. تشير الورقة إلى أن هذه مشكلة كبيرة بشكل خاص في البلدان النامية ، التي تحتاج إلى ضرائب على الشركات لتمويل الخدمات الاجتماعية. تجادل الورقة بأن "العديد من البلدان النامية ... بحاجة إلى حماية أفضل ضد تجنب الضرائب على مكاسب رأس المال على الموارد الطبيعية".

وأشار LeCompte إلى أن "هذه" الآثار غير المباشرة "أشبه بالفيضان". "مقابل كل دولار واحد تحصل عليه البلدان الفقيرة في شكل مساعدات رسمية ، يخرج ما يقرب من 1 دولارات بسبب الفساد والتهرب الضريبي"

اقرأ ورقة صندوق النقد الدولي.

 

بفضل اليوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لهذه المعلومات.

 


ينجح اقتراح المساهم في جلب Google إلى الطاولة للتحدث عن ضرائب الشركات مايو 23rd، 2014

IMG_0849دعمت Oblates اقتراح المساهم المقدم من Domini Social Investments مع عملاق الإنترنت ، Google ، بحثًا عن مدونة سلوك مسؤولة عن الاستراتيجيات الضريبية العالمية. وافقت Google على الجلوس مع مجموعة المستثمرين ومناقشة هذه المسألة ، والتي تعد عنصرًا مهمًا في المحادثة حول دور الحكومة ومصادر الإيرادات المتاحة لها للوفاء بمسؤولياتها.

كتب آدم كانزر ، العضو المنتدب والمستشار العام في دوميني ، شرحًا تفسيريًا وراء موقف المستثمرين بأن الشركات تحتاج إلى دفع حصتها العادلة من الضرائب. في ذلك ، يبدد بعض الأساطير حول ضرائب الشركات الأمريكية ، ويقول إن تحليلًا أعمق يظهر أن "استراتيجيات تقليل ضرائب الشركات تمثل تهديدات خطيرة على خلق الثروات على المدى الطويل وقد تشكل مخاطر أكبر من ضرائب الشركات نفسها".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المساهمين على أساس الإيمان والمسئولين اجتماعيا دعوة على جوجل لدفع حصة عادلة من الضرائب 8 أبريل، 2014

IMG_0849اشتركت The Missionary Oblates مع المستثمر الأخلاقي Domini Social Equity Fund ، في قرار للمساهمين يدعو شركة Google متعددة الجنسيات إلى دفع حصتها العادلة من الضرائب الأمريكية. انضم NEI Investments LP و Robert Burnett و Investor Voice و SPC كممثلين مشاركين. أوصت Google بالتصويت ضد اقتراح المساهمين ، الذي يجادل بأن "الممارسات الضريبية لشركة Google تخضع للتدقيق في المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا ، مما يؤدي إلى ضغوط تنظيمية وتضر بالسمعة". تم الاستشهاد بإقتراح المساهمين كأحد حججه للمقترح ، مقال بلومبرج بعنوان "تخفض Google المليارات من فاتورتها الضريبية كل عام عن طريق إرسال الأرباح عبر أيرلندا إلى صندوق بريد في برمودا."

نص الاقتراح على أنه "على الرغم من أن معظم مهندسي Google موجودون في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث يتم تطوير الكثير من المنتجات ، فإن حقوق الملكية الفكرية لشركة Google محتفظ بها في برمودا ، والتي لا تفرض ضرائب على الشركات". ومضت تقول: تتميز مناطق "الملاذ الضريبي" بمعدلات ضريبية منخفضة وسرية مالية وقواعد تنظيمية خفيفة. تسهل الملاذات الضريبية الغموض المالي والأنشطة غير القانونية بما في ذلك التهرب الضريبي وغسيل الأموال ".

تلقى الاقتراح تغطية في وصنداي تايمز في لندن و Independent.ie مصدر إخباري أيرلندي. على الرغم من أنه من غير المتوقع تمريره ، إلا أن الاقتراح سيجذب الانتباه مرة أخرى إلى الإنفاق الضريبي المنخفض لشركة Google مقابل عائدات تقدر بالمليارات.


يجب أن يكون تجنب الضرائب على جدول أعمال مؤتمر 17-18 June G8 Summit 12 يونيو، 2013

Tax_justice_CAكبار الاساقفة الكاثوليك من جميع الدول G8 حث وزراء G8 لمعالجة التهرب من الضرائب ، قائلا ذلك "دفع حصة عادلة من الضرائب" هو "التزام أخلاقي". نظم الكاردينال برادي ، رئيس الكنيسة الكاثوليكية في أيرلندا ، رسالة إلى مجموعة الثماني ، يحث فيها القادة على الوفاء بتعهدهم بمعالجة التهرب الضريبي العدواني في قمة في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر.

في الشهر الماضي ، وصف أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي أيرلندا بأنها "ملاذ ضريبي" ، متهمين إياها بتسهيل هيكل تجنب الضرائب بمليارات الدولارات لشركة آبل. جادل نشطاء العدالة الضريبية بأن معدل ضريبة الشركات المنخفض للغاية في أيرلندا البالغ 12.5٪ ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع سلسلة من الحوافز الضريبية الإضافية ، له تأثير مدمر على الخزائن الضريبية في أماكن أخرى ، وخاصة الدول الفقيرة.

يقول أوليفر دي شاتر ، المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بالحق في الغذاء: "فيما يتعلق بمعالجة الجوع ، لا يوجد شيء أكثر أهمية ... من العدالة الضريبية".

قال وزير الطاقة والمعادن التنزاني إن تهرب الشركات متعددة الجنسيات من الضرائب وتجنبها من قبل الشركات وغيرها "يعوق التنمية ويؤثر سلبًا على الميزانيات الحكومية لتغطية ... الصحة والتعليم وإنتاج الغذاء." يُزعم أن العديد من الشركات متعددة الجنسيات العاملة في تنزانيا لديها حسابات في جزر فيرجن البريطانية وجزر كايمان وبرمودا والعديد من الأماكن الأخرى في ظل بريطانيا لتجنب دفع الضرائب.

مركز موارد الأعمال وحقوق الإنسان أنشأ موردًا حول هذا الموضوع: "التهرب الضريبي: مقدمة". يرجى زيارة موقعه على الانترنت لهذا المورد ومزيد من المعلومات.

تنتمي Oblates إلى تحالف من المجموعات غير الحكومية والمجموعات الدينية - العدالة العدالة الشبكة - تقوم بحملات من أجل نظام ضرائب دولي أكثر عدلاً.


العاجلة! أخبر الكونجرس ، COSPONSOR قانون وقف إساءة استخدام الملاذ الضريبي (HR1554) 24 أبريل، 2013

ضرائب UGLAND-كبيرنحتاج إلى مساعدتك - يرجى إرسال خطاب إلى ممثلك اليوم للمشاركة في رعاية قانون وقف ضرائب الملاذ الضريبي (HR1554)

يعالج هذا التشريع سببًا منهجيًا للفقر - ​​حقيقة أن العديد من الشركات متعددة الجنسيات لا تدفع ضرائب للحكومات النامية التي هي في أمس الحاجة إلى الإيرادات. بين عامي 2000 و 2008 ، ترك العالم النامي 6.5 تريليون دولار دون ضرائب على الإطلاق. إذا تم فرض ضرائب متواضعة على هذه الأموال ، فلن نواجه أزمة ديون عالمية وسيكون هناك وصول أفضل إلى الغذاء في أفقر البلدان. تتمثل إحدى الطرق الرئيسية التي يحد بها هذا التشريع في الحد من التهرب الضريبي في المطالبة بتقديم تقارير كل بلد على حدة عن مدفوعات الشركات إلى الحكومات.

هذا تشريع جيد له أيضًا تأثيرات إيجابية بالنسبة لنا في الولايات المتحدة ، ويحد من الفساد على مستوى العالم ويمنحنا المعلومات التي نحتاجها للبدء في معالجة مسألة تجنب الضرائب على الشركات على مستوى العالم.

أرسل رسالة إلى الممثل الخاص بك وحثهم على المشاركة في رعاية قانون الإيقاف المؤقت لإيقاف الضريبة (HR1554) للمساعدة في الحد من هذا السلوك الذي يديم دورة الفقر حول العالم.

الصورة: المبنى عبارة عن مأوى ضريبي مشهور يسمى Ugland House في جزر كايمان يضم شركات 18,857 المسجلة.

بفضل Jubilee USA للحصول على المعلومات الواردة في تنبيه العمل هذا!

 


Jubilee USA تجتمع مع موظفي البيت الأبيض يناير 3rd، 2013

في 20 كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، اجتمعت قيادة شبكة Jubilee USA Network مع جايل سميث ، المدير الأول في مجلس الأمن القومي والمساعد الخاص للرئيس أوباما بشأن القضايا المتعلقة بإعفاء الديون ، والصناديق النسر ، والملاذات الضريبية ، والإقراض والاقتراض المسؤولين ، والتمويل الدولي. إصلاح المؤسسة. الاب. حضر Seamus Finn ، OMI الاجتماع نيابة عن Oblates ، الذين هم أعضاء في Jubilee USA. أعرف أكثر…

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » tax havens


IMF Paper: Corporate Tax Avoidance Hurts Global Economy and Poor Countries June 25th, 2014

tax dayThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) released a staff paper noting that corporate tax avoidance negatively impacts all economies, but hurts developing countries the most. The IMF’s release comes as the G20, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and United Nations bodies seek vehicles to diminish corporate tax avoidance.

“The developing world loses more in corporate tax avoidance than it receives in aid from developed countries,” stated Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty group, Jubilee USA Network. “The paper shows that when multinational corporations shift their profits to another country to pay less taxes, we see higher levels of global inequality.”

The IMF paper is entitled “Spillovers in International Corporate Taxation.” “Spillovers” are the impact of one country’s policies on another country. By shifting profits to countries with low tax-rates (often so-called “tax havens”), corporations avoid paying their taxes in the countries where they make those profits. The paper notes that this is a particularly large problem in developing countries, which need corporate taxation to fund social services. The paper argues that “many developing countries…need to be better protected against the avoidance of tax on capital gains on natural resources.”

“These ‘spillovers’ are more like a flood,” noted LeCompte. “For every $1 poor countries are receiving in official aid, nearly $10 is leaving through corruption and tax avoidance.”

Read the IMF paper.

 

Thanks to Jubilee USA for this information.

 


Shareholder Proposal Succeeds in Bringing Google to the Table to Talk about Corporate Taxes May 23rd, 2014

IMG_0849The Oblates supported a shareholder proposal filed by Domini Social Investments with Internet giant, Google, seeking a responsible code of conduct on global tax strategies. Google has agreed to sit down with the investor group and discuss this issue, which is an important element in the conversation around the role of government and the revenue sources available to it to meet its responsibilities.

Adam Kanzer, Managing Director and General Counsel at Domini, wrote an Op Ed to explain the thinking behind the investor position that corporations need to pay their fair share of taxes. In it, he dispels a few myths about US corporate taxes, and argues that a deeper analysis shows that “Corporate tax minimization strategies present serious threats to long-term wealth creation and might pose greater risks than corporate taxation itself.”

Click here to read more »


Faith-based and Socially Responsible Shareholders Call on Google to Pay Fair Share of Taxes April 8th, 2014

IMG_0849The Missionary Oblates co-filed with ethical investor Domini Social Equity fund, in a shareholder resolution calling on the multinational firm Google to pay its fair share of US taxes. NEI Investments LP, Robert Burnett, and Investor Voice, SPC joined as co-filers. Google recommended a vote against the shareholder proposal, which argues that “Google’s tax practices have come under scrutiny in the United Kingdom and France, leading to regulatory pressures and reputational damage.” The shareholder proposal cited as one of its arguments for the proposal, a Bloomberg article headed “Google cuts billions off its tax bill each year by sending profits through Ireland to a mailbox in Bermuda.”

The proposal stated, “Although most Google engineers are US-based, where much of product development takes place, Google’s intellectual property is held in Bermuda, which does not levy corporate taxes.” It went on to state: ‘Tax haven’ jurisdictions are characterized by low tax rates, financial secrecy and light regulation. Tax havens facilitate financial opacity and illegal activities including tax evasion and money laundering.”

The proposal has received coverage in The Sunday Times in London and the Independent.ie an Irish news source. Although it is not expected to pass, the proposal will once again attract attention to Google’s low tax outlay against multibillion revenues.


Tax avoidance to be on agenda of 17-18 June G8 Summit June 12th, 2013

Tax_justice_CASenior Catholic bishops from all of the G8 countries urged G8 Ministers to tackle tax avoidance, saying that “paying a fair share of taxes” is a “moral obligation”. Cardinal Brady, the head of Ireland’s Catholic church organized a letter to the G8, urging leaders to make good on their pledge to tackle aggressive tax avoidance at a summit later this month.

Last month, US senators described Ireland as a “tax haven”, accusing it of facilitating a multibillion-dollar tax avoidance structure for Apple. Tax Justice campaigners have argued that Ireland’s ultra-low corporation tax rate of 12.5%, combined with a series of additional tax incentives, is having a corrosive impact on tax coffers elsewhere, particularly poorer nations.

“In terms of tackling hunger, nothing is more crucial…than tax justice”, says Oliver De Schutter, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food.

The Tanzania Energy and Minerals Minister says multinationals’ tax evasion and avoidance by companies and others is “crippling development and negatively affecting government budgets to cover…health, education and food production.” Many multinational companies operating in Tanzania are alleged to have accounts in British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Bermuda and several other places under Britain to avoid paying taxes.

The Business & Human Rights Resource Centre has created a resource on the subject: “Tax avoidance: An introduction”. Please visit their website for this resource and more information.

The Oblates belong to a coalition of non-governmental and faith groups – Tax Justice Network – that is campaigning for a more just international tax system.


Urgent! Tell Congress, COSPONSOR the Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act (H.R.1554) April 24th, 2013

taxes-ugland-bigWe need your help – Please send a letter to your Representative today to cosponsor the Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act (H.R.1554)

This legislation addresses a systemic cause of poverty – the fact that many multinational corporations don’t pay taxes to the developing governments that need the revenue most. Between 2000 and 2008, 6.5 trillion dollars left the developing world completely untaxed. If this money had been taxed modestly, we wouldn’t be facing a global debt crisis and there would be better access to food in the poorest countries. A key way this legislation curbs tax dodging is by requiring country-by-country reporting of corporate payments to governments.

This is good legislation that also has positive impacts for us in the United States, curbs corruption globally and gives us the information we need to start addressing global corporate tax avoidance.

Send a letter to your Representative and urge them to cosponsor the Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act (H.R.1554) to help curb this behavior that perpetuates the cycle of poverty around the globe.

Photo: The building is a well-known tax haven called the Ugland House in the Cayman Islands that houses 18,857 registered businesses.

Thanks to Jubilee USA for the information in this Action Alert!

 


Jubilee USA Meets with White House Staff January 3rd, 2013

On December 20th, the leadership of the Jubilee USA Network met with Gayle Smith, Senior Director at the National Security Council and Special Assistant to President Obama on issues related to debt forgiveness, Vulture funds, tax havens, responsible lending and borrowing, and international financial  institution reform. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI attended the meeting on behalf of the Oblates, who are members of Jubilee USA. Learn more…

 

Return to Top