شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الفاتيكان


"قادة الأعمال كوكلاء للدمج الاقتصادي والاجتماعي" - Séamus Finn، OMI ديسمبر 5th، 2016

فيما يلي نص الملاحظات الافتتاحية التي أدلى بها مؤخرا الأب. Séamus Finn ، OMI في مؤتمر UNIAPAC الدولي في الفاتيكان.

 

شيموس-2b

سأستكشف بإيجاز موضوعين في الوقت المتاح لدي. أولاً ، أريد أن أقدم بعض وجهات النظر حول تفاعل التدريس الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي مع عالم المال والتجارة. ثانيًا ، سأقدم ملخصًا موجزًا ​​لنتائج مؤتمرين حول الاستثمار المؤثر تم برعاية مشتركة من قبل المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام وخدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية وكلية مندوزا للأعمال في جامعة نوتردام في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا والمالية والتجارية

قدمت CST في تطورها التاريخي تحليلاً مستدامًا ثابتًا ونقدًا وتأكيدًا لمختلف أنواع المعاملات المالية والتجارية التي ظهرت على مدى القرون.

هذه هي الأنشطة البشرية التي وجدت وتطورت على مدى الألفية ، وبالتالي قدمت أسئلة وتحديات الوجودية لتعاليم ومبادئ التقليد الديني. وشملت الجهات الفاعلة والإجراءات والمواضيع التي تم بحثها أدوار ومسؤوليات المالكين والعملاء والمشترين ؛ المقترضين والمقرضين. التزامات المدينين ومدى ملاءمة معدلات الفائدة ؛ المسؤولية تجاه معايير العدالة والدعوة إلى الإحسان التي يطالب بها الإيمان.

في العقود الأخيرة ، دعت لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا وطعنت في الدخول في تحليل أعمق لكيفية تطبيق مبادئ لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا ، التي نحن على دراية كاملة بها ، والتضامن ، والتبعية ، والمشاركة ورعاية الخ. وما إلى ذلك ، في المعاملات المالية والتجارية. والأنشطة التي تمارس اليوم. تاريخياً ، كان النقاش في هذا التقليد غالباً حول أدوار ومسؤوليات الكنيسة في التدريس والتشديد والدولة في حكم وتنظيم القضايا والقطاعات العديدة التي أثرت على المجتمع. واليوم ، أصبح القطاع الخاص ممثلاً في المجتمع المدني والشركات يحتل مكانه الصحيح على طاولة النقاش والعمل بشأن جميع القضايا التي تواجهها المجتمعات.

وقد أدى التقاء بعض السائقين الداخليين والخارجيين إلى ظهور هذا النموذج الجديد لأصحاب المصلحة المتعددين. داخليا منذ المجمع الفاتيكاني الثاني ، تطورت الكنيسة والمؤمنون إلى وعي أعمق بأنفسهم كفاعلين في المجتمع ومساهمين في البحث عن استجابات بناءة للتحديات التي تواجهها المجتمعات. في العقود الأخيرة من خلال تدخل الباباوات المتعاقبين ، كانت هناك صحوة عميقة في الكنيسة إلى الوضع المترابط الذي تتشارك فيه كل المخلوقات في كوكب محدود. أخيراً أكد البابا فرنسيس في الإرشاد الرسولي إيفانجليلي غوديوم و Laudato Sí المنشور على تعليم التقاليد وذكر في 2013 أن هناك حاجة إلى "السماح لمبادئ الإنجيل بالتغلغل في الأنشطة المالية والاقتصادية للكنيسة أيضًا". هذا يتفق مع دعوة المجلس في فرح ورجاء ومع التحدي الواضح الذي يقدمه العدالة في العالم في 1971 (لا. 40) ؛ "في حين أن الكنيسة ملتزمة بتقديم شهادة للعدالة ، فهي تدرك أن أي شخص يغامر للتحدث إلى الناس عن العدالة يجب أن يكون في نظره أولاً. ومن ثم يجب علينا إجراء فحص لأساليب التمثيل والممتلكات ونمط الحياة الموجودة داخل الكنيسة نفسها".

خارجيا ، تركت عملية العولمة المتواصلة أثرا في كل مكان. وقد كان له تأثير عميق على التحالفات السياسية والمجتمع المدني ونمو وتغلغل الشركات وتوسيع الحركات الاجتماعية بقيادة التوسع القطاعي العالمي وتكامل النظام المالي. إن الابتكارات التكنولوجية التي سهلت الكثير من وصول العولمة وشمولها منتشرة في المناطق النائية من الكوكب.

الاستثمار تأثير

فتح مؤتمرا الاستثمار المؤثر اللذان تمت رعايتهما بالاشتراك مع المجلس البابوي في عامي 2014 و 2016 أرضية جديدة في مشاركة الكنيسة مع الرأسمالية وتجاوزا النهج التقليدية للاستثمار المسؤول اجتماعيًا والمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات. من نواحٍ عديدة ، كانوا يمثلون جهدًا للرد على الانتقادات التي حظيت بتغطية إعلامية جيدة للرأسمالية التي قدمها البابا فرانسيس ودعوته إلى نظام مالي شامل يهتم بالبيئة ويأخذ مسؤوليتنا بجدية تجاه الأجيال القادمة. أظهرت هذه المؤتمرات كيف كان الاستثمار المؤثر متسقًا مع لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا ، وكيف يعمل المستثمرون الأفراد والمؤسسات لمواءمة نشر أصولهم لدعم التأثيرات الاجتماعية والبيئية الإيجابية والنظر في الأدوات والنهج اللازمة لتحقيق تلك الأهداف.

جمعوا وكالات التنمية من القطاع الخاص والرسمي وكذلك المؤسسات وممثلي المؤسسات المالية الدولية. كما قاموا بتجميع ممثلي المشاريع والمبادرات التي كانت تبحث عن مصادر موثوقة لرأس المال المناسب للمريض ملتزمة بتحقيق عوائد مالية واجتماعية وبيئية. أعتقد أن كلا هذين الحدثين تماشيا مع الدور التقليدي الذي لعبته الكنيسة عندما تسعى إلى خلق فضاء حيث يمكن احتضان المبادرات الجديدة التي تبشر بالخير في الاستجابة للاحتياجات المتطورة للمجتمعات.

الرأسمالية 2.0

في هذا السياق ، دعا البابا فرانسيس كل واحد منا للمشاركة في الترويج للرأسمالية 2.0 الذي يترك وراءه المقاربات والأنشطة التي لا تأخذ في الاعتبار العواقب الاجتماعية والبيئية السلبية لأفعالهم والتي تكون الأولوية الوحيدة لها هي الربح. و القوة. وهذا يتفق مع الجهود السابقة لتعزيز الاتحادات الائتمانية والتعاونيات التي تدعمها لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا. يجب أن تكون المؤسسات والشركات في Capitalism 2.0 على استعداد لطرح أسئلة صعبة مثل: ما وكيف يساهم نشاطك أو منتجك أو خدمتك في الصالح العام؟ المستثمرون أيضًا ، بدءًا من أولئك الذين يسعون إلى الاستثمار بطريقة تتوافق مع عقيدتهم وبالتالي يجب على CST أن تطلب ؛ اين تنام نقودك وأثناء نومك ما هي أموالك التي تستخدم في التمويل؟ في الرأسمالية التي تصورتها لجنة العلم والتكنولوجيا والبابا فرانسيس ، قد نسأل أيضًا ؛ ما أنواع البنوك والشركات والمستثمرين والمؤسسات التي نحتاجها في CAP 2؟ ما هي أنواع اللوائح والإشراف والشفافية التي نحتاجها عبر جميع الولايات القضائية المتعددة المسؤولة عن ضمان استقرار وسيولة النظام المالي وموثوقية المؤسسات الرئيسية التي تعمل في النظام. 

شيموس-1

تتفق مع الإيمان ومع التقاليد

بينما نسعى لتحسين عملياتنا التجارية ومعاملاتنا المالية مع CST ، فإننا مدعوون للنظر في كيفية إسهامنا بشكل إيجابي في جميع عملياتنا وللمستثمرين أين وماذا نريد الاستثمار فيها. وقد حددت مجالات 10 مثل الزراعة المستدامة ، والإسكان والرعاية الصحية بأسعار معقولة ، والتكنولوجيا النظيفة التي يمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة ولكن جميع العمليات التجارية لها تأثيرات. في سعيها لتقليل الآثار الاجتماعية والبيئية السلبية التي تسببها وتزيد مساهماتها الإيجابية ، يمكن أن يكون قادة الأعمال في جميع القطاعات عوامل اندماج اقتصادي واجتماعي واحتضان البعد الإيكولوجي لرعايتهم لرعاية بيتنا المشترك.


مسؤول في وكالة حماية البيئة يلتقي بمسؤولي الفاتيكان بشأن تغير المناخ 29 يناير، 2015

ومن المقرر أن يلتقي رئيس وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية مع كبار المسؤولين في الفاتيكان يوم الجمعة بشأن قضية تغير المناخ. في مقابلة مع المراسل الكاثوليكي الوطني قبل رحلتها ، وصف مدير مكارثي ، وهو كاثوليكي روماني من ماساتشوستس ، موقف الفاتيكان بأنه "الأهم" في رحلة تستغرق خمسة أيام إلى أوروبا. قامت وكالة حماية البيئة ، في ظل إدارة أوباما ، بالتواصل مع المجتمعات الدينية من جميع الطوائف ، مع الاعتراف بأن معظمهم لديهم تقاليد التدريس الطويلة في رعاية الخلق ، وأن لديهم القدرة على الوصول إلى الناس بطريقة ذات مغزى على ضرورة اتخاذ إجراء بشأن تغير المناخ.

الجانب الأخلاقي لتغير المناخ - حقيقة أن الأكثر عرضة للتأثيرات هم أولئك الذين فعلوا أقل ما يمكن لخلق المشكلة ، وهو أمر تعترف به الإدارة. قال مكارثي: "من الواضح أن تغير المناخ هو قضية مؤثرة من حيث كيف أننا لن نحمي فقط الفئات الأكثر ضعفًا ولكن أيضًا نتحمل مسؤولية حماية موارد الله الطبيعية".

وقالت: "أعتقد أن الرئيس وأنا اتفقا على أن تغير المناخ هو في الواقع قضية أخلاقية." "يتعلق الأمر بحماية أولئك الأكثر ضعفاً ، ووظيفة وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) ، كتركيز على الصحة العامة وحماية البيئة ، كلفنا أنفسنا دائمًا أن ننظر إلى الأشخاص الأكثر ضعفاً وأن نضمن أننا عندما نتخذ إجراءات ، فإننا نعالج احتياجاتهم بفعالية. "

قراءة المقال كاملا…

 

 


تقرير JPIC Fall / Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line 17 سبتمبر، 2014

JPIC-تقرير-شعارأصبح الإصدار 2014 لتقرير JPIC في الخريف / الشتاء متاحًا الآن كملف PDF. وستتوفر قريبًا في شكل مطبوع.

يرجى الاتصال بـ Mary O'Herron في مكتب JPIC إذا كنت ترغب في إضافتك إلى القائمة البريدية.

يمكنك العثور على جميع مشكلات تقرير JPIC على موقع الويب هذا في قسم الموارد. (قم بتنزيل ملف PDF لأحدث إصدار)

 


الفاتيكان يصدر بيانًا حول مبادئ الأمم المتحدة التوجيهية حول الأعمال وحقوق الإنسان 25 يونيو، 2014

المبادئ التوجيهيةقدم معالي رئيس الأساقفة سيلفانو إم توماسي ، المراقب الدائم للكرسي الرسولي لدى الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الدولية الأخرى في جنيف ، بيانًا حول المبادئ التوجيهية للأمم المتحدة في الدورة السادسة والعشرين لمجلس حقوق الإنسان في 26 يونيو. البيان الذي يحمل عنوان "تقرير الفريق العامل المعني بمسألة حقوق الإنسان والشركات عبر الوطنية وغيرها من مؤسسات الأعمال" ممتاز ، ويدعو إلى الحاجة إلى توسيع نشر المبادئ ، وتحقيق نطاق في التنفيذ ، وبناء الثقة بين أصحاب المصلحة والتغلب على الحواجز لعلاج فعال.

إن المبادئ التوجيهية بشأن الأعمال التجارية وحقوق الإنسان (المبادئ التوجيهية) أقرها مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة في 16 June 2011. توفر المبادئ التوجيهية معيارًا عالميًا موثوقًا لمعالجة التأثيرات السلبية على حقوق الإنسان المرتبطة بالنشاط التجاري في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وقد حددت المبادئ التوجيهية ، في ثلاثة أركان ، المبادئ المتعلقة بواجب الدولة لحماية حقوق الإنسان ، ومسؤولية الشركات عن احترام حقوق الإنسان ، وسبل الانتصاف لضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

فيما يلي لمحة عن البيان الذي يعكس تمامًا اهتمام الفاتيكان بتأثير الهياكل الاقتصادية القوية والنشاط على حياة الناس العاديين:

"إن قدرة الشركات الدولية على الإفلات جزئيًا من الإقليمية وخلق وجود" وسط "للتشريعات الوطنية هي بحق أحد اهتمامات المجتمع الدولي. يسمح تنقلهم من حيث بلد التأسيس والإدارة والإنتاج والتدفقات المالية لهم بالتنقل في التشريعات الوطنية ، والاستفادة من التحكيم التنظيمي واختيار السلطات القضائية التي قد تقدم أفضل عائد من حيث الأرباح. أشار البابا فرنسيس ، في إرشاده الرسولي "فرحة الإنجيل" ، وغيره من القادة الدينيين في المجتمع الدولي مرارًا وتكرارًا إلى أن الربح لا يمكن أن يكون الأساس المنطقي الوحيد للنشاط التجاري. تعد الشركات عبر الوطنية جزءًا من الأسرة البشرية ، وبالتالي يجب أن يلتزم نشاطها بمعايير حقوق الإنسان ".

"نقطة أخرى تهم المجتمع الدولي هي التعقيد المتأصل للشركات عبر الوطنية فيما يتعلق بنماذج التشغيل المتنوعة (طريقة العمل) مما يجعل من الصعب للغاية مراقبتها والإشراف عليها. إن الغياب الناتج عن شفافية قوية وفي الوقت المناسب يجعل من الصعب للغاية قياس الامتثال للقواعد والتشريعات. تحدث انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في كثير من الأحيان بسبب الإهمال المطلق تجاه العواقب التي كان من الممكن توقعها لو اهتم أي شخص بالتفكير فيها. هذه الأنواع من "الإهمال" ليست عرضية ، ولكنها منهجية ".

اقرأ البيان الكامل هنا.


البابا فرانسيس يشجع الحضور في مؤتمر الاستثمار المؤثر 20 يونيو، 2014

1E4A5834.jpgالتقى الأب الأقدس بالمشاركين مؤتمر برعاية الفاتيكان حول الاستثمار في التأثير - استثمارات تهدف إلى خدمة الصالح العام. نظم المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام تبادلًا للاستراتيجيات لمدة يومين حول الاستثمار المؤثر - ما هو وكيف يمكن أن يساعد الفقراء وكيفية تطويره بشكل أكبر. الاب. تحدث شيموس فين ، OMI في المؤتمر يوم الثلاثاء.

قال البابا: "من المهم أن تلعب الأخلاق دورها الواجب مرة أخرى في عالم المال وأن تخدم الأسواق مصالح الشعوب والصالح العام للبشرية. ومن غير المقبول على نحو متزايد أن تقوم الأسواق المالية بتشكيل مصير الشعوب بدلاً من تلبية احتياجاتهم ، أو أن القليل منهم يجنون ثروة هائلة من المضاربات المالية في حين أن الكثيرين مثقلون بالعواقب " وبحسب ما ورد قدمت ملاحظاته ملخصًا جيدًا للقضايا والفرص والتحديات التي ينطوي عليها الاستثمار المؤثر.

اقرأ خطاب البابا فرانسيس أمام المشاركين في المؤتمر هنا…

 

 


"الاستثمار من أجل الفقراء: كيف يمكن للاستثمار أن يخدم الصالح العام في ضوء Evangelii Gaudium" 16 يونيو، 2014

2000px-Emblem_of_Vatican_City_State.svgيعقد الفاتيكان مؤتمرا لمدة يومين حول الاستثمار المؤثر - الاستثمارات التي تفيد الفقراء بشكل مباشر. الاب. سيموس فين ، OMI هو أحد المتحدثين في المؤتمر.

قراءة برنامج مؤتمر الاستثمار التأثير

شاهد من يتحدث في المؤتمر ...

 

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » vatican


“Business Leaders as Agents of Economic and Social Inclusion” – Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI December 5th, 2016

The following is the text of opening remarks recently made by Fr. Séamus Finn, OMI at the UNIAPAC International Conference at the Vatican.

 

seamus-2b

I will briefly explore two themes in the time that I have. First I want to offer some perspectives on the interaction of Catholic Social Teaching with the worlds of finance and commerce. Secondly I will offer a brief summary of the outcomes from two conferences on Impact Investing that were jointly  sponsored by the Pontifical Council on Justice and Peace, Catholic Relief Services and the Mendoza College of Business at Notre Dame University in the USA.

CST, Finance and Commerce

CST has in its historical evolution presented a sustained consistent analysis, critique and affirmation of the various types of financial and commercial transactions that came into existence over the centuries.

These are human activities that have existed and evolved over millennium and therefore presented existential questions and challenges to the teachings and principles of the faith tradition. The actors, actions and themes that were being examined included the roles and responsibilities of owners and customers and buyers; borrowers and lenders; the obligations of debtors and the appropriateness of interest rates; the responsibility to the norms of justice and the call to charity that the faith demands.

In recent decades CST has been called and challenged to go into a deeper analysis of how the principles of CST, that we are all very familiar with, solidarity, subsidiarity, participation and care for creation etc. should be applied in the financial and commercial transactions and activities that are practiced today. Historically the debate in the tradition was often about the roles and responsibilities of the church in teaching and admonishing and of the state in governing and regulating the numerous issues and sectors that impacted society. Today the private sector as represented by civil society and corporations has come to occupy its rightful place at the table of debate and action about all the issues that societies encounter.

The confluence of some internal and external drivers have led to the emergence of this new multi stakeholder paradigm. Internally since the Second Vatican Council the church and the faithful have grown into a deeper awareness of themselves as actors in society and as contributors to the search for constructive responses to the challenges that societies face. In recent decades through the intervention of successive popes there has been a profound awakening in the church to the interdependent status that all creatures share in a finite planet. Finally Pope Francis in the apostolic exhortation Evangelii Gaudium and the encyclical Laudato Sí has reiterated the teaching of the tradition and stated in 2013 that there is a need “to allow gospel principles to permeate the Church’s financial and economic activities, too”. This is consistent with the call of the council in Gaudium et Spes and with the explicit challenge offered by Justice in the World in 1971(no. 40); “ While the Church is bound to give witness to justice, she recognizes that anyone who ventures to speak to people about justice must first be just in their eyes. Hence we must undertake an examination of the modes of acting and of the possessions and life style found within the Church herself.”

Externally the unfolding process of globalization has left its mark everywhere. Led by the financial sector’s global expansion and the integration of the financial system it has had a profound impact on political alliances, civil society, the growth and penetration of corporations and the extension of social movements. The technological innovations that have facilitated much of globalization’s reach and inclusion is pervasive in even the remotest regions of the planet.

Impact Investing

The two conferences on Impact Investing that were jointly sponsored with the Pontifical Council in 2014 & 2016 broke new ground in the church’s engagement with capitalism and went beyond the conventional approaches to socially responsible investing and corporate social responsibility. In many ways they were an effort to respond to the well-publicized critiques of capitalism that Pope Francis has offered and his call for a financial system that is inclusive, that cares for the environment and takes seriously our responsibility to future generations. These conferences demonstrated how impact investing was consistent with CST, how individual and institutional investors were working to align the deployment of their assets to support positive social and environmental impacts and to consider the tools and approaches that were needed to achieve those objectives.

They brought together development agencies from the private and official sector as well as foundations and representatives of international financial institutions. They also gathered representatives of projects and initiatives that were looking for reliable sources of patient appropriate capital that is committed to achieving financial, social and environmental returns. Both of these events, were I think, consistent with the traditional role that the church has played when it seeks to create a space where new initiatives that show promise in responding to the evolving needs of communities can be incubated.

Capitalism 2.0

It is within this context that Pope Francis is inviting all of us to participate in the promotion of a Capitalism 2.0 that leaves behind the approaches and activities that fail to take into account the negative social and environmental consequences of their actions and whose only priority is profit and power. This is consistent with the earlier efforts to promote credit unions and cooperatives that CST supported. The institutions and companies in a Capitalism 2.0 must be willing to ask difficult questions such as: What & How is your activity, product or service contributing to the common good? Investors, also, starting with those who seek to invest in a manner that is consistent with their faith and therefore CST must ask; where does your money sleep? And while you are sleeping what is your money being used to finance? In a Capitalism envisioned by CST and Pope Francis we might further ask; what kinds of banks, companies, investors and institutions do we need in CAP 2? What kinds of regulations and supervision and transparency do we need across all the multiple jurisdictions that are responsible for assuring the stability and liquidity of the financial system and the reliability of the major institutions that operate in the system. 

seamus-1

Consistent with Faith and with the tradition

As we seek to better align our business operations and our financial transactions with CST we are being invited to consider how we are positively contributing value all along our operations and for the investors where and what do we want to invest in. The global impact investing network has identified 10 areas like sustainable agriculture, affordable and accessible housing and healthcare and clean technology that are easily identifiable but all business operations have impacts. In seeking to decrease the negative social and environmental impacts that they cause and increase their positive contributions business leaders in all sectors can be agents of economic and social inclusion and embrace the ecological dimensional their vocation to care for our common home.


EPA Administrator to Meet Vatican Officials on Climate Change January 29th, 2015

The head of the US Environmental Protection Agency is scheduled to meet with senior officials at the Vatican on Friday on the issue of climate change. In an interview with National Catholic Reporter before her trip, Administrator McCarthy, a Roman Catholic from Massachusetts, described the Vatican stop as “the most important” on a five-day trip to Europe. The EPA, under the Obama Administration, has reached out to faith communities of all denominations, recognizing both that most have long teaching traditions on creation care, and that they have the ability to reach people in a meaningful way on the need to take action on climate change.

The moral aspect of climate change – the fact that the most vulnerable to the effects are also those who have done the least to create the problem, is recognized by the Administration.  “Clearly, climate change is an issue that is impactful in terms of how we’re not just going to protect the most vulnerable but also take responsibility for protecting God’s natural resources,” McCarthy said.

“I think that the president and myself agree that climate change is indeed a moral issue,” she said. “It is about protecting those most vulnerable, and EPA’s job, as focusing on public health and environmental protection, always tasked ourselves to look at those most vulnerable and to ensure that when we’re taking action we’re addressing their needs most effectively.”

Read the full article…

 

 


JPIC Report Fall/Winter 2014 Issue Now Available On-Line September 17th, 2014

JPIC-Report-logoThe Fall/Winter 2014 issue of JPIC Report is now available on line as a PDF. It will soon be available in print form.

Please contact Mary O’Herron in the JPIC Office if you want to be added to the mailing list.

You can find all issues of JPIC Report on this website in the Resources section. (Download a PDF of the latest issue)

 


Vatican Issues Statement on the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights June 25th, 2014

Guiding_PrinciplesHis Excellency Archbishop Silvano M. Tomasi, Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the United Nations and Other International Organizations in Geneva submitted a statement on the UN Guiding Principles at the 26th Session of the Human Rights Council on June 11th. The statement, titled “Report of the Working Group on the issue of human rights and transnational corporations and other business enterprises” is excellent, calling for the need to broaden dissemination of the principles, attain scale in implementation, build trust among stakeholders and overcome barriers to effective remedy.

The Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights (Guiding Principles) were endorsed by the United Nations Human Rights Council on 16 June 2011. The Guiding Principles provide an authoritative global standard for addressing adverse impacts on human rights linked to business activity around the world.

The Guiding Principles set out, in three pillars, principles concerning the State duty to protect human rights, the corporate responsibility to respect human rights, and access to remedy for victims of human rights abuse.

The following gives a flavor of the statement that reflects fully the Vatican’s concern for the impact of powerful economic structures and activity on the lives of ordinary people:

“The ability of international corporations to partially escape territoriality and carve for themselves an existence “in-between” national legislation is rightly one of the concerns of the International Community. Their mobility in terms of their country of incorporation, management, production, and financial flows allows them to navigate national legislations, take advantage of regulatory arbitrage and choose the jurisdictions that may offer the best return in terms of profits. Pope Francis, in his Apostolic Exhortation “The Joy of the Gospel”, and other religious leaders in the International Community have repeatedly pointed out that profit cannot be the only rationale of business activity. Transnational corporations are part of the human family and as such their activity should abide by the standard of human rights.”

“Another point of concern to the International Community is the inherent complexity of the transnational corporations regarding their diverse operating models (modus operandi) which makes them very hard to monitor and supervise. The resulting absence of robust and timely transparency makes it very difficult to measure compliance with rules and legislations. Human rights violations all too often occur out of utter neglect toward consequences that would have been foreseeable had anyone cared to think about them. These sorts of “neglects” are not casual, but systemic.”

Read the full statement here.


Pope Francis Encourages Attendees at Impact Investment Conference June 20th, 2014

1E4A5834.jpgThe Holy Father met with participants of a Vatican-sponsored conference on impact investing – investments designed to serve the common good. The Pontifical Council on Justice and Peace organized a two-day sharing of strategies around impact investing – what is it, how it can help the poor and how to develop it further. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI spoke at the conference on Tuesday.

The Pope said: “It is important that ethics once again play its due part in the world of finance and that markets serve the interests of peoples and the common good of humanity. It is increasingly intolerable that financial markets are shaping the destiny of peoples rather than serving their needs, or that the few derive immense wealth from financial speculation while the many are deeply burdened by the consequences.” His remarks reportedly offered a good summary of the issues, opportunities and challenges involved in impact investing.

Read Pope Francis’ address to conference participants here…

 

 


“Investing for the Poor: How Impact Investing Can Serve the Common Good in the Light of Evangelii Gaudium” June 16th, 2014

2000px-Emblem_of_Vatican_City_State.svgThe Vatican is convening a two-day conference on of impact investing – investments that directly benefit the poor. Fr. Seamus Finn, OMI is one of the conference speakers.

Read the Impact Investment Conference Program

See who is speaking at the conference…

 

 

Return to Top