شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيفات الأخبار »المياه


انظر ، القاضي ، تأمل في تأثير آثار التعدين من روما 2 فبراير، 2015

250px-تشوكويكاماتا-002

منجم تشوكويكاماتا للنحاس ، شيلي

كلنا نستخدم الأشياء المصنوعة من المعادن المستخلصة من الأرض - من الهواتف المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر إلى السيارات والطائرات. لكن التعدين يحدث غالبًا في أماكن بعيدة عن مجتمعاتنا ، لذلك لا نختبر تأثيرات عمليات التعدين بشكل شخصي. وإذ يساورها القلق إزاء المعلومات التي جمعتها في استطلاع أجرته 2013 حول تأثيرات التعدين ، فقد أنشأت مجموعة العمل المعنية بالنزاهة في روما التي تتخذ من روما مقراً لها ، لجنة العدل والسلام ونزاهة الإبداع (JPIC) التابعة لمجموعة USG-UISG مورداً قوياً لمشاركة ذلك. . يهدف الكتيب إلى إنشاء مجموعة تهدف إلى تقديم مقدمة عامة لفهم تأثير صناعات التعدين على المجتمع والبيئة.

باستخدام دورة الرعوية أو نموذج عملية مراجعة قانون القضاة ، ينقسم الكتيب إلى ثلاثة أقسام رئيسية: الجزء الأول ("انظر") يقدم لمحة عامة عن بعض خصائص صناعات التعدين ، كما يتضح من خلال عدالة الأسهم ؛ الجزء الثاني ("القاضي") يقدم الانعكاسات اللاهوتية ، الكتابية ، والأخلاقية ؛ والجزء الثالث ("القانون") يقدم اقتراحات عملية لتغيير السلوك الشخصي والمجتمعي ، والتي تشمل طرق العمل للأطر القانونية الوطنية والدولية المناسبة ، والتنفيذ لضمان مستقبل مستدام لمجتمع الأرض. كما يقترح الكتيب الموارد والخبرات والصلوات ، بما في ذلك الأسئلة الخاصة بك ومجتمعك.

اقرأ: انظر ، قاضي ، تأمل في التأثير على التعدين (تنزيل ملف PDF)

 

 


سلسلة Fracking الكاثوليكية لخدمة الأخبار تضيء القضية المثيرة للجدل فبراير شنومكست، شنومكس

مصدر الصورة: وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية

مصدر الصورة: وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية

كتب مراسل أخبار الخدمة الكاثوليكية ، دنيس سادوسكي ، سلسلة من خمس مقالات حول التكسير الهيدروليكي من منظور إيماني. Fracking مسألة معقدة ، ومع ذلك يقدم Sadowski نظرة عامة واضحة على مصدر الطاقة المثير للجدل في حين يمزج في تعاليم العدالة البيئية للكنيسة.

من خلال النقر على العنوان ، سيتم نقلك إلى المقال على الموقع الإلكتروني لخدمة الأنباء الكاثوليكية:

للتصدع أو عدم الانقسام: يدرس النقاش بحث أمريكا عن الطاقة

أدى التقدم في تقنية الحفر إلى التوسع السريع للتكسير

يختار المجتمع الديني الطبيعة على ثروات إيجار الغاز الطبيعي

الإيمان يحفز الكاثوليك على التحدث عن ممارسات الغاز والتنقيب عن النفط

تسعى العائلات إلى اللجوء إلى الدعاوى القضائية المتعلقة بالآبار التي تعتبر مصدر إزعاج

تثير الأصوات الكاثوليكية مخاوف أخلاقية في نقاشات التكسير الهيدروليكي في البلاد

 


يوم الأرض 2014 أبرشية الموارد فبراير شنومكست، شنومكس

الصورة كريستينا هيرمان ، جميع الحقوق محفوظة

الصورة كريستينا هيرمان ، جميع الحقوق محفوظة

مورد هذا العام من إنشاء وزارات العدل بعنوان "ماء ، ماء مقدس" ومتاح مجانًا للتنزيل الإلكتروني. يتعمق المورد في العديد من قضايا المياه التي نواجهها ويسلط الضوء على الأهمية الروحية لهذا المورد. يتم تضمين نصائح العظة. قم بتنزيل نسخة من المورد هنا ...

إن العهد الكاثوليكي للمناخ تشير إلى أنه في 2014 ، ننضم إلى عشرات الآلاف من الكاثوليك الآخرين الذين سيتعلمون عن الدليل الدراماتيكي لتغير المناخ واستكشاف التدريس الكاثوليكي بشأن تغير المناخ. برنامج عيد القديس فرنسيس هذا العام هو "ذوبان الجليد ، وإصلاح الخلق: نهج كاثوليكي لتغير المناخ".

يسلط البرنامج الضوء على بيان مجموعة العمل الخاصة بالأكاديمية البابوية للعلوم (PAS) ، مصير الأنهار الجليدية في الأنثروبوسين. هذا جنبا إلى جنب مع "TED" الحديث من جيمس بالوج، المصور العلمي وراء الفيلم الوثائقي Chasing Ice ، الذي وثق بعض الأدلة الأكثر حيوية حتى الآن لتغير المناخ.

في إعلانها ، تدعو الأكاديمية البابوية للعلوم جميع الناس والدول إلى إدراك الآثار الخطيرة والتي لا رجعة فيها للاحترار العالمي الناجمة عن انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري وغيرها من الملوثات البشرية المنشأ ، والتغيرات في الغابات والأراضي الرطبة والأراضي العشبية وغيرها. استخدامات الأرض. اقرأ التقرير والملخص (الصفحات 5 الأولى) من التقرير هنا. 

الوصول إلى مواد ذوبان الجليد وإصلاح الخلق هنا ...

 


تأثيرات تغير المناخ على الماء ديسمبر 18th، 2013

100_0976

على طول نهر ريو غراندي في ولاية تكساس. الصورة مجاملة من باتي رادل

من المرجح أن تؤدي الزيادة في درجات الحرارة العالمية بواسطة 2 درجة مئوية إلى ندرة مياه مزمنة - أقل من 1,000 متر مكعب للشخص الواحد في السنة - بالنسبة إلى 21 في المائة من سكان العالم ، وفقًا لنماذج المناخ الجديدة التي طورها معهد Potsdam لأبحاث تأثير المناخ ، تم الإبلاغ عن تقدم المناخ. إن زيادة درجة 1 درجة مئوية فقط ستؤدي إلى ندرة مياه مزمنة لنسبة 13 في المائة من السكان وندرة المياه المطلقة - أقل من 500 متر مكعب للشخص الواحد سنوياً - لـ 6 في المائة من السكان.

وتتنبأ دراسة حديثة صدرت عن حوض نهر ريو غراند ريفر سيؤدي تغير المناخ إلى تقليل إمدادات المياه بأكثر من 86,000 فدانًا كل عام بواسطة 2060, مما ادى الى انخفاض اجمالي الامدادات السنوية في حوض 678,522 acre-feet ، وفقا لما ذكرته ساينس ديلي. ومن المتوقع أن يخلق النقص مشاكل في الري في الحوض ، واقترحت الدراسة النظر في المياه الجوفية المحلاة الملوحة كبديل لإمدادات المياه السطحية.

 


الفاتيكان تستضيف الرؤساء التنفيذيين للتعدين في "يوم التأمل" 11 سبتمبر، 2013

اجتماع التعدين في الفاتيكان 2013

المشاركون في "يوم الفاتيكان للتأمل في التعدين" أمام المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام في روما                                                                 

 

 

ذهب الرؤساء التنفيذيون لبعض أكبر شركات التعدين في العالم إلى الفاتيكان لحضور اجتماع لمدة يوم السبت الماضي لمناقشة طرق أفضل للعمل في المجتمعات التي تحتج بشكل متزايد على الآثار المدمرة للتعدين. تخشى المجتمعات - لسبب وجيه - آثار التعدين على المياه والأرض والهواء.

تم تنظيم "يوم التفكير في صناعة التعدين" يوم السبت ، بناءً على طلب قادة في قطاع التعدين ، من قبل المجلس البابوي للعدالة والسلام. وشمل الرؤساء التنفيذيين لشركة Anglo American و Rio Tinto و Newmont Mining ، الذين مثلوا بمفردهم شركات تزيد قيمتها السوقية عن 100 مليار دولار (الولايات المتحدة). وحضر أيضا رؤساء أو رؤساء أو كبار المديرين التنفيذيين لعشرات من الشركات الأخرى ، من AngloGold Ashanti إلى African Rainbow Minerals. الأب شيموس فين OMI، من فريق USP JPIC في واشنطن العاصمة ، تمت دعوته ليكون جزءًا من الفريق الذي أعد يوم التفكير وقدم مدخلات خلال اليوم. قدّم البابا فرانسيس رسالة تحية وتحديًا للمجموعة وقدم صلاته وبركاته على الحدث.

كانت الشركات مهتمة "بفتح حوار حيث يتفاعل التعدين مع المجتمع ... لسماع آراء أخرى مع وعد منا جميعًا بإحداث فرق."

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


وسط غرب طبقات المياه الجفاف 21 مايو، 2013

locationmapلقد تم تجفيف الحوض المائي العالي السهول ، الذي كان مصدرًا وفيرًا للمياه والذي يغطي مساحات واسعة من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، إلى مستويات منخفضة بشكل خطير ، خاصة في الجنوب. لم تعد طبقة المياه الجوفية ، وفقا لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، تدعم الري على مئات الأميال من الأراضي الزراعية في تكساس وكانساس.

تعرف على المزيد حول أزمة المياه المتنامية في أمريكا ...

 

 

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » water


A See, Judge, Act Reflection on the Impacts of Mining from Rome February 2nd, 2015

250px-Chuquicamata-002

Chuquicamata Copper Mine, Chile

We all use things that are made with minerals drawn from the earth – from cell phones and computers to automobiles and airplanes. But the mining often happens in places far from our own communities, so we don’t experience the impacts of mining operations personally. Concerned about the information they collected in a 2013 survey on the impacts of mining, the Rome-based Integrity of Creation Working Group of the USG-UISG’s Commission on Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation (JPIC) has created a powerful resource to share this. The booklet created y the group is intended to serve as a general introduction to understanding the impact of mining industries on the community and the environment.

Using the Pastoral Cycle or the See-Judge-Act Process model, the booklet is divided into three main sections: Part One (“See”) provides an overview of some features of mining industries, as seen through the lens of equity; Part Two (“Judge”) presents theological, scriptural and ethical reflections; and Part Three (“Act”) offers practical suggestions for changing personal and communal behavior, which include ways of working for appropriate national and international legal frameworks, and implementation to ensure a sustainable future for the Earth Community. The booklet also suggests resources, experiences and prayers, including questions for you and your community.

Read: A See, Judge, Act Reflection on the Impacts of Mining (Download PDF)

 

 


Catholic News Service’s Fracking Series Illuminates Controversial Issue February 21st, 2014

Image Source: US EPA

Image Source: US EPA

Catholic News Service reporter, Dennis Sadowski, has written a series of five articles on hydraulic fracking from a faith perspective. Fracking is a complicated issue, yet Sadowski provides a clear overview of this controversial energy source while blending in environmental justice teachings of the Church.

By clicking on a title, you will be taken to the article at the Catholic News Service website:

To frack or not to frack: Debate examines America’s quest for energy

Advances in drilling technology led to fracking’s rapid expansion

Religious community chooses nature over riches of a natural gas lease

Faith motivates Catholics to speak out on gas, oil-drilling practices

Families seek recourse in lawsuits for wells considered a nuisance

Catholic voices raise moral concerns in country’s fracking debates

 


Earth Day 2014 Parish Resources February 21st, 2014

Photo by Christina Herman, all rights reserved

Photo by Christina Herman, all rights reserved

This year’s resource from Creation Justice Ministries is  entitled “Water, Holy Water” and is available for free as an electronic download. The resource delves into the multitude of water issues we face and highlights the spiritual importance of this resource. Sermon tips are included. Download a copy of the resource here…

The Catholic Climate Covenant suggests that in 2014, we join tens of thousands of other Catholics who will learn about the dramatic evidence of climate change and explore Catholic teaching on climate change. This year’s Feast of St. Francis program is “Melting Ice, Mending Creation: a Catholic Approach to Climate Change.”

The program highlights the Pontifical Academy of Science’s Working Group (PAS) statement, Fate of Mountain Glaciers in the Anthropocene. This is combined with a “TED” talk by James Balog, the science photographer behind the documentary film Chasing Ice, who documented some of the most vivid evidence yet of climate change.

In their declaration, the Pontifical Academy of Science calls on all people and nations to recognize the serious and potentially irreversible impacts of global warming caused by the anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases and other pollutants, and by changes in forests, wetlands, grasslands, and other land uses. Read the Report and the Summary (first 5 pages) of the report here. 

Access the Melting Ice, Mending Creation materials here…

 


Climate Change Impacts on Water December 18th, 2013

100_0976

Along the Rio Grande River in Texas; photo courtesy of Patti Radle

An increase in global temperatures by 2 degrees Celsius would likely result in chronic water scarcity—less than 1,000 cubic meters per person per year—for 21 percent of the global population, according to new climate models developed by the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Climate Progress reported. An increase of just 1 degree Celsius would create chronic water scarcity for 13 percent of the population and absolute water scarcity—less than 500 cubic meters per person per year—for 6 percent of the population.

A newly released study of the Lower Rio Grande River Basin predicts that climate change will reduce water supplies by more than 86,000 acre-feet each year by 2060, leaving a total annual supply shortfall in the basin of 678,522 acre-feet, Science Daily reported. The shortfall is expected to create problems for irrigators in the basin, and the study suggested looking at desalinated brackish groundwater as an alternative to surface water supplies.

 


Vatican Hosts Mining CEO’s in a “Day of Reflection” September 11th, 2013

vatican mining meeting 2013

Participants of the “Vatican Day of Reflection on Mining” in front of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace in Rome                                                                 

 

 

The CEOs of some of the world’s top mining companies went to the Vatican for a day-long meeting last Saturday to discuss better ways to operate in communities that are increasingly protesting the destructive impacts of mining. Communities are fearful – with good reason – of the impacts of mining on their water, land and air.

Saturday’s “day of reflection with the mining industry,” was organized, at the request of leaders in the mining sector, by the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace. It included the CEOs of Anglo American, Rio Tinto and Newmont Mining, who alone represented companies with well more than $100-billion (U.S.) in market value. The chairmen, presidents or senior executives of dozens of other companies, ranging from AngloGold Ashanti to African Rainbow Minerals, were also present. Fr. Seamus Finn OMI, from the USP JPIC team in Washington DC, was invited to be a part of the team that prepared the day of reflection and offered input during the day. Pope Francis offered a message of greeting and challenge to the group and offered his prayers and blessings on the event.

The companies were interested “to open a dialogue where mining interfaces with the community … to hear other views with the promise of all of us making a difference.”

Click here to read more »


MidWest Aquifers Drying Up May 21st, 2013

locationmapThe High Plains Aquifer, a once-bountiful water source that covers broad swaths of the Midwestern United States, has been drained to dangerously low levels, especially in the south. The aquifer, according to the The New York Times, no longer supports irrigation on hundreds of miles of farmland in Texas and Kansas.

Learn more about the growing crisis of water in America…

 

 

 

Return to Top