شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »البنك الدولي


الانخراط في التأثير مسيرة 2nd، 2015

لماذا يقوم المساهمون ذوو الإيمان بإشراك شركات التعدين؟ 

تمت مقابلة القس سيموس فين ، OMI في الآونة الأخيرة من قبل SUSTAIN ، وهو منشور لمؤسسة التمويل الدولية ، وهي الذراع المقرض للبنك الدولي الذي يركز حصرا على القطاع الخاص. تهتم مؤسسة التمويل الدولية بكيفية إشراك الكنيسة في السنوات الأخيرة في صناعة الاستخراج. الأب شارك الفنلندي بشكل مركزي في الاجتماعات رفيعة المستوى التي دعا إليها الفاتيكان ورئيس أساقفة كانتربري مع رؤساء تنفيذيين في مجال التعدين وممثلي ديانات لمناقشة سبل زيادة احترام حقوق عمليات التعدين وتقليل تأثيرها على المجتمعات المحلية. وهو مدير الاستثمار القائم على الإيمان لصندوق الاستثمار الدولي الراعي (OIP) ، والمدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الاستثمار الدولي بين الأديان (3iG)

بعض الأسئلة المطروحة في المقابلة هي: "لماذا يجب أن تهتم الكنيسة بالمواد الاستخراجية؟" ، "لماذا العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال الاستثمار؟" ، و "هل هناك طريقة لتأمين العدالة المجتمعية؟ هل هو دائمًا ديناميكي أم أن هناك بقعة جميلة؟ "

اقرأ المقال كاملا هنا…

 

 


اشترك في البنك الدولي MOOC بشأن تغير المناخ! ديسمبر 18th، 2013

يقدم البنك الدولي دورة مكثفة مفتوحة عبر الإنترنت (MOOC) عن تغير المناخ الشهر المقبل ، بدءًا من يناير 27 ، 2014. يقدم هذا المساق أدلة علمية حديثة بالإضافة إلى بعض الفرص لاتخاذ إجراء عاجل بشأن تغير المناخ. كما يغطي أحدث المعارف والمعلومات على أساس البحوث المتطورة.

يتم تقديمه في مسارين: (1) GeneralPublic ؛ و (2) صناع السياسات والممارسين. تستمر الدورة في الأسابيع 4 ، وهي مجانية. يمكنك الوصول إلى المادة لمدة تقرب من الأشهر 6 بعد انتهاء الدورة التدريبية.

قم بالتسجيل لأول تسليم للدورة في https://www.coursera.org/#course/warmerworld 

يؤثر تغير المناخ علينا جميعًا ، لذا لا تتردد في مشاركة رابط التسجيل على أوسع نطاق ممكن في شبكاتك.

 


رئيس مجموعة البنك الدولي والبابا يناقشان إنهاء الفقر أكتوبر 28th، 2013

ميزة img والبرازيل مكافحة الفقرالتقى رئيس مجموعة البنك الدولي جيم يونغ كيم و قداسة البابا فرانسيس في أكتوبر 28th في الفاتيكان لمناقشة جهودهم المتبادلة لإنهاء الفقر المدقع وتوفير فرص أكبر للفقراء والضعفاء.

وقال كيم: "لقد كنت ممتنًا للغاية لمقابلة الأب الأقدس واستلهم شغفه والتزامه بمساعدة الفقراء والمرضى والجوعى". "تحدثنا عن طرق يمكننا العمل بها مع الزعماء الدينيين لإتاحة خيار تفضيلي للفقراء ، حتى يكون لديهم فرصة أكبر وعدالة في حياتهم".

وشكر كيم البابا فرانسيس على تصريحاته القوية التي تشجع الخدمة المتواضعة للأفراد الأقل حظا ، وكذلك دعمه للتعليم الأفضل والرعاية الصحية وحماية البيئة والوظائف بأجور عادلة لمساعدة الفقراء على انتشال أنفسهم من الفقر.

في أعقاب اجتماع 20-minute ، وافق البابا فرانسيس وكيم على استكشاف طرق للعمل معاً لإنهاء الفقر المدقع.

وقال كيم: "في مجموعة البنك الدولي ، وضعنا هدفا لإنهاء الفقر المدقع في أقل من جيل واحد ، ولتعزيز الرخاء المشترك لنسبة 40 في المائة من الناس في البلدان النامية." "أنا وأتفق مع البابا فرانسيس على الضرورة الأخلاقية الملحة لتخفيف معاناة أكثر من مليار شخص ووضع حد لفضيحة الفقر. نحن نشارك رؤيتنا لعالم مع تعاطف أكبر مع كل المحتاجين. "


البنك الدولي يزيد الشفافية يونيو 1st، 2012

تشيد شبكة Jubilee USA ، التي ينتمي إليها البرنامج التبشيري عضوًا ، بالبنك الدولي لتعزيز موقفه لمكافحة الفساد ومكافحة الاحتيال.
 

واشنطن العاصمة - اتخذ البنك الدولي خطوة مهمة لتعزيز الشفافية حيث أصدرت قرارات مجلس إدارة العقوبات هذا الأسبوع بشأن قضايا الاحتيال والفساد والتواطؤ. يشيد موقع Jubilee USA بتغيير سياسة البنك الدولي ليكشف علناً عن سبب قراره فرض عقوبات على الشركات والأفراد بسبب الفساد والاحتيال.

أشار إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي لشبكة Jubilee USA Network: "هذه خطوة رائعة من جانب البنك الدولي ، والجميع يفوز بهذا القرار". يمكن للمنظمات غير الحكومية والشركات والحكومات الآن مراقبة أنماط الاحتيال والفساد بشكل أفضل. والأهم من ذلك ، سيستفيد الفقراء لأن هذا التقرير يساعد بشكل أكبر في كبح هذا السلوك ويضمن عدم سرقة الموارد من العالم النامي ".

مجلس العقوبات هو محكمة مستقلة يقودها أعضاء خارجيون بشكل رئيسي ويعمل بمثابة صانع القرار النهائي في جميع القضايا المتنازع عليها من مشاريع البنك الدولي الممولة. من الناحية التاريخية ، لم يكشف البنك الدولي إلا عن ملخصات لقرارات مجلس الإدارة السابقة ، لكن هذا التغيير الجديد في السياسة سوف يعطي مراجعة متعمقة لكل نداء والمنطق وراء اتخاذ القرار بشأن مكان حدوث سوء السلوك وما هي العقوبات التي ينبغي إدارتها.

 


كندا تصادق على إلغاء ديون الكونغو يوليو 1st، 2010

طفل شارع الكونغو

شارع الطفل في الكونغو

أعلن البنك الدولي أمس أنه يؤجل إلغاء ديون جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية الذي طال انتظاره رغم أن البلاد تأهلت. جاء التأجيل بناء على طلب من كندا ، لأن شركة المعادن الكندية First Quantum في نزاع مع حكومة جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية حول حقوق المعادن.

كانت جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية تنتظر تخفيف أعباء الديون عن سنوات 7 ، في حين أن صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي قد رضيوا أنفسهم بأن البلاد قد استوفت العديد من الظروف الاقتصادية. لقد ظهرت السياسة من قبل - في العام الماضي أوقف صندوق النقد الدولي تقدم جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية من خلال خطة تخفيف عبء الديون لأن البلاد تقترح الحصول على قروض من الصين. ووافقت الكونغو والصين على خفض مبلغ وشروط القروض في أواخر العام الماضي.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


البنك الدولي يستضيف استشارات عامة حول العمليات في إفريقيا 20 يونيو، 2010

BancoMundialتقوم مجموعة البنك الدولي بالتشاور والبحث عن مدخلات حول عمليات البنك الدولي في أفريقيا. تركز سلسلة المشاورات العامة على كيفية تحسين عمليات البنك الدولي في إفريقيا ومن المتوقع أن تكتمل في يناير 2011. الهدف من هذه العملية التشاورية هو زيادة الوعي حول الفرص والتحديات التي تواجه أفريقيا وجمع منظور متنوع حول عمليات البنك هناك. لقد جعلت الأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية المقترنة بالتغييرات في المشهد السياسي والاجتماعي والاقتصادي في أفريقيا من الضروري مراجعة عمليات البنك الدولي في أفريقيا.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » world bank


Engaging for Impact March 2nd, 2015

Why Do Faith-based Shareholders Engage Mining Companies? 

The Rev. Seamus Finn, OMI was interviewed recently by SUSTAIN, a publication of the International Finance Corporation, a lending arm of the World Bank that focuses exclusively on the private sector. The IFC is interested in how the Church has engaged in recent years with the extractives industry. Fr. Finn has been centrally involved in high-level meetings called by the Vatican and the Archbishop of Canterbury with mining CEOs and faith-based representatives to discuss ways to increase respect for the rights of, and lessen the impact of mining operations, on local communities. He is Director of Faith-Based Investing for the Oblate International Pastoral (OIP) Investment Trust, and Executive Director of the International Interfaith Investment Group (3iG)

Some of the questions asked in the interview are: “Why should the church care about extractives?”, “Why social justice through investment?”, and “Is there a way to secure societal fairness? Is it always a dynamic or is there a sweet spot?”

Read the full article here…

 

 


Sign up for World Bank MOOC on Climate Change! December 18th, 2013

The World Bank is offering a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on climate change next month, starting January 27, 2014. This course presents recent scientific evidence as well as some of the opportunities for urgent action on climate change. It also covers the latest knowledge and information based on cutting-edge research.

It is being offered in two tracks: (1) GeneralPublic; and (2) Policy Makers and Practitioners. The course runs for 4 weeks, and is free of charge. You have access to the material for approximately 6 months after the course ends.

Sign up for the first delivery of the course at https://www.coursera.org/#course/warmerworld 

Climate change affects us all, so please feel free to share the registration link as widely as possible in your networks.

 


World Bank Group President and the Pope Discuss Ending Poverty October 28th, 2013

feature-img-brazil-fighting-povertyWorld Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and His Holiness Pope Francis met on October 28th at the Vatican to discuss their mutual efforts to end extreme poverty and provide greater opportunities for the poor and vulnerable.

“I was so grateful to meet with the Holy Father and was inspired by his passion and commitment to help the poor, the sick, and the hungry,” Kim said. “We talked about ways we could work together with faith leaders to make a preferential option for the poor, so they can have greater opportunity and justice in their lives.”

Kim thanked Pope Francis for his strong statements encouraging humble service to the less fortunate, as well as his support for better education, health care, environmental protection, and jobs with fair wages to help the poor lift themselves out of poverty.

Following the 20-minute meeting, Pope Francis and Kim agreed to explore ways to work together to end extreme poverty.

“At the World Bank Group, we have set a goal to end extreme poverty in less than a generation, and to boost shared prosperity for the bottom 40 percent of people in developing countries,” Kim said. “Pope Francis and I agree on the urgent moral imperative to lessen the suffering of over 1 billion people and to end the scandal of poverty. We share a vision of a world with greater compassion for all people in need.”


World Bank Increases Transparency June 1st, 2012

The Jubilee USA Network, of which the Missionary Oblates is a member, commends the World Bank for promoting an anti-corruption and anti-fraud position.
 

WASHINGTON, DC – The World Bank made an important move to promote transparency as they released this week’s sanctions board decisions on fraud, corruption and collusion cases. Jubilee USA commends the World Bank’s policy change to publicly disclose why they decide to sanction companies and individuals for corruption and fraud.

“This is a great move by the World Bank and everyone wins with this decision,” noted Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA Network. “NGOs, businesses and governments can now better monitor patterns of fraud and corruption. Most importantly, the poor will benefit as this reporting further helps curb this behavior and ensures that resources are not stolen from the developing world.”

The sanctions board is an independent tribunal led by mainly external members and acts as the final decision-maker in all contested cases of World Bank funded projects. Historically, the World Bank only disclosed summaries of past board decisions but this new change in policy will give an in-depth review of every appeal and the logic behind deciding where misconduct occurred and what sanctions should be administered.

 


Canada Holds Up Congo’s Debt Cancellation July 1st, 2010

Congo Street Child

Street Child in Congo DR

The World Bank announced yesterday that it was postponing the Democratic Republic of Congo’s long-awaited debt cancellation, even though the country has qualified. The postponement has come about at the request of Canada, because Canadian mineral firm First Quantum is in dispute with the government of DRC over mineral rights.

The DRC has been waiting for debt relief for 7 years, while the IMF and World Bank have satisfied themselves that the country has met numerous economic conditions. Politics has come into play before – last year the IMF held up DRC’s progress through the debt relief scheme because the country was proposing to take loans from China. Congo and China agreed to reduce the amount and terms of the loans late last year.

Click here to read more »


World Bank Hosting Public Consultations on Operations in Africa June 20th, 2010

BancoMundialThe World Bank Group is consulting and seeking input about World Bank operations in Africa. The series of public consultations is focusing on how to improve World Bank operations in Africa and is expected to be completed in January 2011. The aim of this consultative process is to raise awareness about opportunities and challenges facing Africa and to gather a diverse perspective about the Bank’s operations there. The global economic crisis coupled with changes in Africa’s political and socioeconomic landscape has made it necessary to revise World Bank operations in Africa.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top