شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »سلامة الخلق


بتشجيع من عمل البابا فرانسيس ، يدعو الحاخامات إلى عمل قوي بشأن تغير المناخ 14 مايو، 2015

اعتبارًا من صباح مايو 13 ، 2015 ، وقع أكثر من حاخام 300 على خطاب رباني حول أزمة المناخ ، داعين إلى اتخاذ إجراءات صارمة لمنع تدهور المناخ المتفاقم والبحث عن العدالة الاجتماعية-البيئية. تم تشجيع الحاخامات من قبل عمل البابا فرانسيس على هذه القضية ، على وجه الخصوص ، الرسالة البابوية المنتظرة كثيرا على البيئة المستحقة هذا الصيف.

الرسالة موجهة: إلى الشعب اليهودي ، إلى جميع مجتمعات الروح ، وإلى العالم: رسالة ربانية عن أزمة المناخ

اقرأ رسالة الحاخامات هنا ...


الأديان انظر تغير المناخ كتهديد أخلاقي وعملي 4 مايو، 2015

المجموعات الدينية تعبئ على تغير المناخ ، وترى أنها تهديد وجودي للإبداع. سيصدر البابا فرانسيس باباسة بابوية حول البيئة هذا الصيف ، والتي من المتوقع أن تسلط الضوء على كل من الحاجة إلى الحد من انبعاثات الكربون التي يصنعها الإنسان ، ولكي تساعد الدول الغنية الدول الفقيرة على التعامل معها ، حيث أنها لم تفعل الكثير لإيجاد المشكلة .

في هذه الأثناء ، تضع كنيسة إنجلترا جنيها و بنسها في فمها: أعلن الجسد الذي يدير الشركة الأنغليكانية في الأسبوع الماضي أنه التجريد من الفحم الحراري ورمال القطران.

التمويل الإسلامي لعبت دورا رئيسيا في استثمار الطاقة النظيفة حتى الآن في هذا العقد.

إن سحب الاستثمارات من أشد أنواع الطاقة الكثيفة الكربون هو أيضًا إدارة مالية جيدة. مع تزايد الضغوط من الشركات المعنية حول كيفية العمل في عالم يعطله تغير المناخ ، والحركات الشعبية القوية على نحو متزايد ، فإن سعر الكربون الذي يثبط استخدامه ، أصبح أكثر احتمالا. جنبا إلى جنب مع هذا هو حقيقة أن أشكال الطاقة المتجددة - الرياح والطاقة الشمسية والطاقة الحرارية الأرضية ، وما شابه ذلك ، هي تنافسية على نحو متزايد من حيث التكلفة. إذا كانت الأضرار التي لحقت بالصحة والمناخ قد أخذت بعين الاعتبار في أسعار وقود الكربون ، فإن مصادر الطاقة المتجددة ستكون بالفعل فائزة واضحة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


الفاتيكان يعلن قمة تغير المناخ أبريل 22nd، 2015

بفضل الحياة الريفية الكاثوليكية للحصول على المعلومات في هذا المنصب.

أعلن الفاتيكان هذا الأسبوع أنه سيستضيف مؤتمرا ليوم واحد حول تغير المناخ في أبريل 28 ، ويضم بعض من أبرز علماء المناخ في العالم. المؤتمر بعنوان حماية الأرض ، كريمة الإنسانية وهو مترجم بعنوان "الأبعاد الأخلاقية لتغير المناخ والتنمية المستدامة".

وسيلقي المؤتمر الضوء على "الصلة الجوهرية بين احترام البيئة واحترام الناس - لا سيما الفقراء والمستبعدين وضحايا الاتجار بالبشر والعبودية الحديثة والأطفال والأجيال القادمة" ، هذا ما جاء في إعلان للفاتيكان.

الهدف من المؤتمر ، وفقا لإعلان الفاتيكان ، هو المساعدة في بناء حركة عالمية عبر جميع الأديان من أجل التنمية المستدامة وتغير المناخ في جميع أنحاء 2015 وخارجها.

وإلى جانب علماء المناخ ، ستضم القمة التي تستغرق يوما واحدا مشاركين من الديانات الرئيسية في العالم. الهدف هنا ، كما يقول الفاتيكان ، هو "رفع الجدل حول الأبعاد الأخلاقية لحماية البيئة قبل البابوية البابوية".

ومن المتوقع أن البابا المنتظر كثيرا على البيئة في أواخر يونيو.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


استثمر في التغيير: الإيمان المتسق بالاستثمار في عالم يواجه تحديات مناخية 14 أبريل، 2015

"استثمر في التغيير: الاستثمار المتسق في عالم يواجه تحديات مناخية" هي وثيقة من إنتاج مركز الأديان حول مسؤولية الشركات (ICCR) ، تهدف إلى تحفيز النقاش حول الحلول العملية اللازمة لتسريع التحول إلى بدائل الطاقة المستدامة منخفضة الكربون. يتم تقديمه كدعوة مفتوحة للشركات والمستثمرين والمدافعين عن تبادل الهدايا في العمل الجماعي لبناء اقتصادات وأعمال ومجتمعات أكثر استدامة ومقاومة للمناخ.

أعرف أكثر…


تمويل المناخ الذي يمارسه المستثمرون ذوو العقيدة والمستثمرون الاجتماعيون 14 أبريل، 2015

وتحاول "المبشرين" ، إلى جانب أعضاء آخرين في "المركز الدولي للحقوق المناخية" ، الحد من المخاطر المرتبطة بالمناخ عن طريق المضي قدماً في البحث والاستثمار المخصص في حلول تغير المناخ. تتم متابعة هذه المبادرات المتعلقة بتمويل المناخ من قبل المستثمرين الدينيين والمستثمرين اجتماعيًا لدفع التحول الذي نحتاجه إلى اقتصاد منخفض الكربون.

ما ينقص هو بيئة سياسية مواتية يمكن أن تضمن أفضل العوائد المعدلة حسب المخاطر ، والتي يتعين على المستثمرين ، كمؤتمنين ، تحقيقها. كما هو موضح في بيان المستثمر العالمي بشأن تغير المناخ (أقرها مستثمرو 265 بما في ذلك ICCR ، ويمثلون أصولًا بقيمة 24 تريليون دولار) ، ولن يتدفق الاستثمار الخاص إلا من حيث الحجم والوتيرة اللازمة إذا كان مدعوماً بأطر سياسات واضحة وموثوقة وطويلة الأجل تحول ميزان المخاطرة والمكافأة لصالح استثمار أقل استهلاكا للكربون. ولهذا السبب ، يعمل أعضاء المركز مع جهات أخرى في مجتمع الاستثمار للضغط من أجل التحولات في سياسة المناخ التي ستطلق العنان لتدفق رأس المال هذا ودفع استثمارات الطاقة النظيفة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يسعى الأعضاء إلى تثقيف مجتمع الاستثمار المسؤول الأوسع حول فرص التمويل الحالي والمستقبلي.

فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة للمبادرات التي نشطت فيها المبارات التبشيرية:

PUTTING CAPITAL للعمل في الاقتصاد الأخضر

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


وداعا للحقائب البلاستيكية في لاريدو تكساس 14 أبريل، 2015

حظرت لاريدو ، تكساس استخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية ، بعد حملة استمرت قرابة عقدين من قبل مجموعات بيئية قائمة على المجتمع. الأب ينضم Bill Davis و OMI في مقطع فيديو PSA هذا لتنبيه الأشخاص إلى الحظر ، والذي سيبدأ في أبريل 30th.

سيحظر الحظر استخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الفردي التي يقل سمكها عن 4 ، وأكياس الورق ذات الاستخدام الواحد التي يقل وزنها عن 30-pound. تم إجراء استثناءات للمطاعم ومؤسسات الوجبات السريعة ومنتجات اللحوم والتنظيف الجاف والصحف والمنظمات غير الربحية والأطعمة التي يتم تبريدها أو تجميدها.

في كل عام ، تستهلك لاريدو - وهي مدينة تضم تقريبا أشخاص من 240,000 - ما متوسطه 120 مليون كيس من البلاستيك ، وفقا لتقديرات المدينة. المدينة مليئة بأكياس بلاستيكية ، وقد خلقت مشكلة كبيرة لممرات المدينة ومصارف العواصف ، فضلا عن ريو غراندي ، المصدر الوحيد لمياه الشرب في المدينة.

مركز ريو غراند إنترناشونال للدراسات (RGISC) ، وهو منظمة غير ربحية تعمل مع منظمة Oblates في لاريدو والآن مكتب JPIC ، قاد الجهود الرامية إلى تنظيف المجاري المائية المحلية.

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » Integrity of Creation


Encouraged by Pope Francis’ Work, Rabbis Call for Vigorous Action on Climate Change May 14th, 2015

As of the morning of May 13, 2015, more than 300 rabbis have signed a Rabbinic Letter on the Climate Crisis, calling for vigorous action to prevent worsening climate disruption and to seek eco-social justice. The Rabbis were encouraged by the work of Pope Francis on the issue, in particular, the much anticipated papal encyclical on the environment due out this summer.

The letter is addressed: To the Jewish People, to all Communities of Spirit, and to the World: A Rabbinic Letter on the Climate Crisis

Read the Rabbis’ letter here…

 


Faiths See Climate Change as a Moral and Practical Threat May 4th, 2015

Faith groups are mobilizing on climate change, seeing it as an existential threat to creation. Pope Francis will issue a papal encyclical on the environment this summer, which is expected to highlight both the need to reduce man-made carbon emissions, and for wealthy countries to help poorer nations deal with it, as they have done little to create the problem.

Meanwhile, the Church of England is putting its pounds and pence where its mouth is: The body that administers the worldwide Anglican Communion last week announced it is divesting from thermal coal and tar sands.

Islamic finance has played a major role in clean energy investment so far this decade.

Divestment from these most carbon intensive forms of energy is also good financial management. With pressure growing both from businesses concerned about how to operate in a world disrupted by climate change, and increasingly vocal popular movements, a price on carbon to discourage its use, is becoming more likely. Alongside this is the fact that renewable forms of energy – wind, solar, geothermal, and the like, are increasingly cost competitive. If the damages to health and the climate were factored into the price of carbon fuels, renewables would already be a clear winner.

Click here to read more »


The Vatican Announces Summit on Climate Change April 22nd, 2015

Thanks to Catholic Rural Life for the information in this post.

The Vatican announced this week that it will host a one-day conference on climate change on April 28, featuring some of the world’s leading climate scientists. The conference is titled Protect the Earth, Dignify Humanity and is subtitled “The Moral Dimensions of Climate Change and Sustainable Development.”

The conference will highlight “the intrinsic connection between respect for the environment and respect for people—especially the poor, the excluded, victims of human trafficking and modern slavery, children and future generations,” states a Vatican announcement.

The purpose of the conference, according to the Vatican announcement, is to help build a global movement across all religions for sustainable development and climate change throughout 2015 and beyond.

Besides climate scientists, the one-day summit will include participants from major world religions. The aim here, says the Vatican, is to “elevate the debate on the moral dimensions of protecting the environment in advance of the papal encyclical.”

The Pope’s much-anticipated encyclical on the environment is expected in late June.

Click here to read more »


Invested in Change: Faith Consistent Investing in a Climate-Challenged World April 14th, 2015

“Invested in Change: Faith-Consistent Investing In A Climate-Challenged World” is a document produced by the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), intended to catalyze discussion around practical solutions needed to speed the shift to low-carbon and sustainable energy alternatives. It is offered as an open invitation to companies, investors and advocates to share their gifts in the collective work to build more sustainable and climate-resilient economies, businesses and communities.

Learn more…

 


Climate Finance Pursued by Faith-Based and Socially-Responsible Investors April 14th, 2015

The Missionary Oblates, along with other ICCR members, are trying to limit climate-related risk by advancing research and dedicated investment in climate change solutions. These Climate Finance initiatives are being pursued by faith-based and socially responsible investors to propel the shift we need to a low-carbon economy.

What is lacking is a favorable policy environment that can ensure optimal risk-adjusted returns, which, investors, as fiduciaries, are required to achieve. As articulated in the Global Investor Statement on Climate Change (endorsed by 265 investors including ICCR, and representing $24 trillion in assets), private investment will only flow at the scale and pace necessary if it is supported by clear, credible and long-term policy frameworks that shift the risk-reward balance in favor of less carbon-intensive investment. For this reason, ICCR members are working with others in the investment community to press for the climate policy shifts that will unleash this flow of capital and drive clean energy investment. At the same time, members are seeking to educate the broader responsible investment community about both current and future climate finance opportunities.

Here are some examples of initiatives in which the Missionary Oblates have been active:

PUTTING CAPITAL TO WORK IN THE GREEN ECONOMY

Click here to read more »


Goodbye to Plastic Bags in Laredo Texas April 14th, 2015

Laredo, Texas has banned the use of plastic bags, after a nearly decades-long campaign by community based environmental groups. Fr. Bill Davis, OMI joins in this PSA video to alert people to the ban, which will start on April 30th.

The ban will prohibit single-use retail plastic bags with a less than 4 mil thickness, and single-use paper bags with a less than a 30-pound weight standard. Exceptions have been made for restaurants, fast food establishments, meat products, dry cleaners, newspapers, nonprofits, and foods that are chilled or frozen.

Each year, Laredo – a city of roughly 240,000 people – consumes an average of 120 million plastic bags, according to city estimates. The city is littered with plastic bags, and they have created a significant problem for the city’s creeks and storm drains, as well as the Rio Grande, the city’s only source of drinking water.

The Rio Grande International Study Center (RGISC), a non-profit that works with the Oblates in Laredo and now the JPIC Office, spearheaded the effort to clean up local waterways.

 

Return to Top