شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »جبهة نمور تحرير تاميل ايلام


مبعوث الأمم المتحدة يرى أدلة على الجريمة الدولية الخطيرة في سريلانكا 7 يونيو، 2011

قام الخبراء بفحص لقطات فيديو مروعة لعمليات الإعدام بإجراءات موجزة على ما يبدو خلال الحرب الأهلية في سريلانكا ، ويبدو أنها أدلة مقنعة على "جرائم دولية خطيرة" ، وفقاً لكريستوف هينز ، المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بالإعدام خارج نطاق القضاء أو بإجراءات موجزة أو الإعدام التعسفي.

منذ أواخر العام الماضي ، درست الأمم المتحدة عن كثب شريط الفيديو الذي يُزعم أنه أظهر أعمالاً ارتكبت أثناء الحرب الأهلية وانتهت في 2009. قال السيد هينز لمجلس حقوق الإنسان في جنيف: "أختتم على أساس الأدلة التقنية الواسعة التي حصلنا عليها من خبراء مستقلين مفادها أن ما تم تصويره في الفيديو قد حدث بالفعل" ، مضيفًا "أعتقد أن هناك حالة ظاهرية خطيرة "لقد تم ارتكاب جرائم دولية." وقال إنه يجب على لجنة دولية التحقيق في الأدلة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المسيحيون السريلانكيون يدعون إلى مصالحة حقيقية 2 مايو، 2011

مستشفى Mullivaikkal قصفت على 30 مايو 2009

أصدر 25 من المسيحيين السريلانكيين ، ومن بينهم اثنان من الكهنة المفلسين ، بيانا يعتقد أنه دفع إلى الإفراج عن تقرير لجنة خبراء الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بشأن الحرب في سريلانكا. وقد دعت المجموعة إلى إجراء مناقشة مفتوحة حول ما حدث في الأشهر الأخيرة من الحرب ، والوضع الحالي في الشمال حيث تعيش غالبية التاميل.

وفقا لرسالتهم:

نؤمن بأن الأمر متروك لنا نحن السري لانكيين لإقرار الحقيقة والاعتراف بها ، والاعتذار عن الأخطاء التي ارتكبت ، وضمان العدالة والمحاسبة ، ومن خلال تدابير مثل التعويضات ، وإظهار رعايتنا ودعمنا تجاه أولئك الذين عانوا مثل عائلات القتلى. واختفى، وأولئك الذين أصيبوا خلال الحرب وبسبب التعذيب، وأولئك الذين لا يزالون رهن الاعتقال دون توجيه اتهامات ودون اتباع الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة، أولئك الذين شردوا وخسروا خصائص وما إلى ذلك لدينا الزعم بأن الحقيقة والعدالة والمساءلة جنبا إلى جنب مع الرعاية والتعويض عن الضحايا هم من العناصر الأساسية لتحقيق التقدم، ووضع ما بعد الحرب سريلانكا، جنبا إلى جنب مع الحل السياسي على المدى الطويل الذي يتناول مظالم المجتمع التاميل التي أدت إلى ولادة الجبهة وحرب واسعة النطاق.

ولكن تقييمنا هو أننا لم نتمكن من إحراز تقدم كبير على أي من الجبهات المذكورة أعلاه داخل سريلانكا ، لا سيما في السنتين الأخيرتين منذ نهاية الحرب. لم تعطنا عملية LLRC [لجنة الدروس المستفادة والمصالحة] الكثير من الثقة على الرغم من أننا ما زلنا نأمل في الحصول على نتائج إيجابية من LLRC ، وخاصة نشر التقرير النهائي والاستنتاجات والتوصيات في أقرب وقت ممكن ، والتي من شأنها أن تكون قادرة على بمثابة مورد قيم لجهودنا المصالحة. وفي هذا السياق ، نعتقد أن المساعدة الدولية يمكن أن تكون حاسمة أيضا في جهود إعادة البناء والمصالحة التي أعقبت الحرب. وبالتالي ، نجد أنه من المشجع أن يتم إظهار الحقيقة ، والاعتذار عن الأخطاء التي ارتكبت ، والعدالة والمحاسبة وجبر الضرر للضحايا في استنتاجات وتوصيات فريق الخبراء المعين من قبل UNSG.

اقرأ الرسالة كاملة ...


تقرير الأمم المتحدة حول جرائم الحرب في سريلانكا 26 أبريل، 2011

توصل فريق الخبراء الذي أنشئ لإسداء المشورة للأمين العام بان كي مون بشأن قضايا المساءلة فيما يتعلق بالمراحل النهائية للصراع في سري لانكا ، إلى تقارير موثوقة عن جرائم حرب ارتكبتها الحكومة ومتمردو التاميل ويدعو إلى إجراء تحقيقات حقيقية في الادعاءات ، وفقا ل تقرير صدر بالكامل من قبل الأمين العام أمس.

ووفقا ل بيان صادر عن المتحدث باسم الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون:

“أعلنت الأمم المتحدة اليوم عن التقرير الاستشاري لفريق الخبراء التابع للأمين العام بشأن المساءلة فيما يتعلق بالمراحل النهائية للصراع المسلح الذي دام عقوداً في سري لانكا ، والذي قُدم إليه في 12 April 2011. تم اتخاذ قرار إصدار التقرير كمسألة الشفافية والمصلحة العامة الأوسع. "

"تمت مشاركة التقرير بأكمله مع حكومة سريلانكا في 12 April. وقد أشار الأمين العام إلى استعداده للإعلان عن رد الحكومة إلى جانب التقرير. ووجهت هذه الدعوة إلى حكومة سري لانكا طوال الأسبوع ، بما في ذلك مرة أخرى يوم السبت من قبل الأمين العام إلى وزير الشؤون الخارجية لسري لانكا. لم ترد الحكومة على هذا العرض ، الذي لا يزال قائماً ".

اقرأ التقرير الكامل ...

رئيس الأساقفة ميلر يصدر نداء نيابة عن لاجئي التاميل في كندا أغسطس 30th، 2010

أصدر رئيس الأساقفة ج. مايكل ميلر من أبرشية فانكوفر بيانا في شهر أغسطس 25 ، 2010 حول وضع لاجئي 492 التاميل الذين وصلوا إلى فانكوفر في أوائل أغسطس طلبًا للجوء.

أدى وصول السفينة المحملة باللاجئين إلى إثارة الجدل داخل كندا. وحثت طائفة التاميل الكندية ، وهي أكبر طائفة من التاميل خارج سريلانكا والهند ، السلطات على قبول طالبي اللجوء ، قائلة إن الأقلية تواجه تمييزًا مستمرًا على أيدي الأغلبية السنهالية في سريلانكا. طلب المفوض السامي في سريلانكا إلى كندا من الدولة رفض منح مركز اللاجئ بسبب صلات مزعومة بالحركة الانفصالية لحركة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام. نمور التاميل أو نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام (LTTE) كجناح عسكري لحركة التاميل الانفصالية وتم محوها بوحشية في ربيع 2009. ويعتقد أن عشرات الآلاف من التاميل قد ماتوا في الأشهر الأخيرة من الصراع ، محاصرين كما كانوا بين الجيوش المتحاربة. يقال إن جرائم الحرب ارتكبت من قبل الطرفين.

"الحفاظ على كرامة اللاجئين التاميل في الاعتبار خلال مناقشة الهجرة"

بيان رئيس الأساقفة ج. ميشيل ميلر الذي خدم في المجلس البابوي للفاتيكان للرعاية الرعوية للمهاجرين والمتحولين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


2009 وزارة الخارجية تقرير حقوق الإنسان البلد على سري لانكا متاح الآن مسيرة 12th، 2010

صدرت 2009 تقارير وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية عن ممارسات حقوق الإنسان في مارس 11 ، 2010.

للاطلاع على التقرير الخاص بسري لانكا ، يرجى الانتقال إلى:

http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/hrrpt/2009/sca/136093.htm

يتم إعداد تقارير حقوق الإنسان السنوية من قبل مكتب الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان والعمل في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية.


الشهود الخبراء تفاصيل الوضع النازحين في سري لانكا ديسمبر 17th، 2009

شهد ثلاث فرق من الشهود الخبراء في ديسمبر 10 ، يوم حقوق هومام ، حول الحقائق الحالية التي تواجه الأشخاص المهجرين داخلياً في شمال وشرق سري لانكا. وأُثني على القرار الأخير للحكومة أخيرا بالسماح بإعادة توطين المدنيين التاميل المشردين الذين كانوا محتجزين في معسكرات الاعتقال منذ نهاية حرب وحشية في مايو / أيار. وفي الوقت نفسه ، تم الإعراب عن القلق بشأن التناقض في السياسات التي تحكم عمليات النشر الأخيرة ، واستمرار عدم وصول المنظمات الإنسانية (بما في ذلك الأمم المتحدة) إلى الأشخاص النازحين داخليا في مناطق إعادة التوطين وكوادر منظمة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام السابقة في مراكز الاحتجاز ، وسلامة النازحين المفرج عنهم والحاجة لمزيد من إزالة الألغام من المناطق المأهولة بالسكان في السابق.

شهد خبراء الإصدار التاليين:

  • اريك شوارتز ، مساعد وزيرة الخارجية لشؤون السكان والهجرة واللاجئين ، وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية (تنزيل ملف PDF للشهادة)
  • ميشيل جبعودان ، الممثل الإقليمي للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي ، مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (تنزيل ملف PDF للشهادة)
  • ميريام يونغ ، مستشارة أمريكية في سريلانكا
  • كريستوف كويتل ، منظمة العفو الدولية (تنزيل ملف PDF للشهادة)
  • روبرت أوبرست ، جامعة نبراسكا ويسليان
  • جينيفر ليونارد ، المجموعة الدولية لمعالجة الأزمات

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » LTTE


UN Envoy Sees Evidence of Serious International Crime in Sri Lanka Video June 7th, 2011

Shocking video footage of summary executions apparently committed during the Sri Lankan civil war has been examined by experts and appears to be convincing evidence of “serious international crimes,” according to Christof Heyns, the U.N.’s special rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions.

Since late last year, the United Nations has closely studied the video that allegedly showed acts committed during the civil war that ended in 2009. “I conclude on the basis of the extensive technical evidence we obtained from independent experts that what is depicted in the video indeed happened,” Mr. Heyns told the Human Rights Council in Geneva, adding that “I believe that a prima facie case of serious international crimes has been made.” He said an international panel should investigate the evidence.

Click here to read more »


Sri Lankan Christians Call for Genuine Reconciliation May 2nd, 2011

Mullivaikkal Hospital Shelled on 30 May 2009

Twenty-five Sri Lankan Christians, including two Oblate priests, issued a statement that is believed to have prompted the recent release of the report of the UN Secretary General’s panel of experts on the war in Sri Lanka. The group has called for open discussion of what happened in the final months of the war, and the current situation in the north where the majority of Tamils live.

According to their letter:

We believe that it is left to us Sri Lankans to establish and acknowledge the truth, apologize for wrongs done, ensure justice and accountability, and through measures such as reparations, show our care and support towards those who have suffered such as families of those killed and disappeared, those who have been injured during war and due to torture, those who continue to be detained without charges and without due process, those who had been displaced and lost properties etc. It is our contention that truth, justice, accountability together with care and reparation for victims are essential ingredients for progress, development of a post war Sri Lanka, along with a longer term political solution that addresses grievances of Tamil community that led to the birth of the LTTE and full scale war.

But it is our assessment that we have been unable to make significant progress on any of the above fronts within Sri Lanka, particularly in the last two years since the end of the war. The process of LLRC [Lessons Learnt and Reconciliation Commission] had not given us much confidence though we still hope for positive outcomes from the LLRC, particularly the publication of it’s final report, conclusions and recommendations as soon as possible, which would have the potential to serve as a valuable resource for our reconciliation efforts. In this context we believe international assistance can also be crucial in our post war rebuilding and reconciliation efforts. Thus, we find it encouraging that establishment of the truth, apology for wrongs done, justice, accountability and reparation for victims is reflected in the conclusions and recommendations of the panel of experts appointed by the UNSG.

Read the full letter…


UN Report on Sri Lanka War Crimes Released April 26th, 2011

The panel of experts set up to advise Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon on accountability issues with respect to the final stages of the conflict in Sri Lanka has found credible reports of war crimes committed by both the Government and Tamil rebels and calls for genuine investigations into the allegations, according to a report released in full by the Secretary General yesterday.

According to a statement released by the Spokesperson for UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon:

“The United Nations has today made public the advisory report of the Secretary-General’s Panel of Experts on accountability with respect to the final stages of the decades-long armed conflict in Sri Lanka, which was submitted to him on 12 April 2011. The decision to release the report was made as a matter of transparency and in the broader public interest.”

“The report was shared in its entirety with the Government of Sri Lanka on 12 April. The Secretary-General has indicated his willingness to publicize the Government’s response alongside the report. This invitation was extended to the Sri Lankan Government throughout the week, including again on Saturday by the Secretary-General to the External Affairs Minister of Sri Lanka. The Government has not responded to this offer, which nonetheless still stands.”

Read the full report…

Archbishop Miller Issues Plea on Behalf of Tamil Refugees in Canada August 30th, 2010

Archbishop J. Michael Miller of Vancouver Diocese issued a statement on August 25, 2010 on the situation of the 492 Tamil refugees that arrived in Vancouver in early August seeking asylum.

The arrival of the refugees-laden ship has generated controversy within Canada. Canadian Tamils, the largest Tamil community outside Sri Lanka and India, have urged authorities to accept the asylum seekers, saying that the minority group faces continued discrimination at the hands of the majority Sinhalese in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka’s high commissioner to Canada has asked the country to reject their refugee status due to alleged links to the Tamil Tiger separatist movement. The Tamil Tigers or Liberation Tigers of Tamil Elam (LTTE) as the military wing of the separatist Tamil movement and was brutally wiped out in the spring of 2009. Tens of thousands of Tamils are believed to have died in the final months of the conflict, trapped as they were between the two warring armies. War crimes are reported to have been committed by both sides.

“Keep the dignity of Tamil refugees in mind during immigration debate”

Statement by Archbishop J. Michael Miller who served on the Vatican Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerants.

Click here to read more »


2009 State Department Human Rights Country Report on Sri Lanka Now Available March 12th, 2010

The 2009 US State Department Country Reports on Human Rights Practices were released on March 11, 2010.

For the report on Sri Lanka, please go to:

http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/hrrpt/2009/sca/136093.htm

The Annual Human Rights reports are put out by the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor of the US Department of State.


Expert Witnesses Detail IDP Situation in Sri Lanka December 17th, 2009

refugees in Sri LankaThree panels of expert witnesses testified on December 10, Humam Rights Day, about current realities facing internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) in northern and Eastern Sri Lanka. The government’s recent decision finally to allow the resettlement of displaced Tamil civilians who had been held in internment camps since the end of a brutal war in May was commended. At the same time, concern was expressed about inconsistencies in policies governing the recent releases, continued lack of access by humanitarian organizations (including the UN) to IDPs in resettlement areas and former LTTE cadres in detention centers, the safety of released IDPs and the need for further de-mining of formerly populated areas.

The following Issue experts testified:

  • Eric Schwartz, Assistant Secretary for Population, Migration and Refugees, U.S. Department of State (Download PDF of testimony)
  • Michel Gabaudan, regional representative for the United States of America and the Caribbean, UNHCR (Download PDF of testimony)
  • Miriam Young, US Counsel on Sri Lanka
  • Christoph Koettl, Amnesty International (Download PDF of testimony)
  • Robert Oberst, Nebraska Wesleyan University
  • Jennifer Leonard, International Crisis Group

Return to Top