OMI JPIC logo

Justice, paix et intégrité de la création

Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée États-Unis

Logo OMI
News
Traduire cette page:

Nouvelles Récentes

News

Archives des actualités


Dernière vidéo et audio

Plus de vidéo et audio>

Archives des actualités »Nations Unies


Nations Unies et les Oblats de Marie Immaculée Décembre 11th, 2018

Fr. Daniel LeBlanc est un Oblat canadien qui a également été missionnaire au Pérou. Il est actuellement le représentant de l'OMI aux Nations Unies. Dans la vidéo, il explique comment et pourquoi nous sommes présents dans le plus grand organisme international au monde.


Réunion de haut niveau sur les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) prévue en juillet 9-18 Juillet 6th, 2018

INFORMATIONS PARTAGÉES par le p. Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, (Représentant des Missionnaires Oblats aux Nations Unies)

"Nous devons retrouver la conviction que nous avons besoin les uns des autres, que nous partageons la responsabilité des autres et du monde, et qu'être bon et décent en vaut la peine." Laudato Si '76

Le système Forum politique de haut niveau (FPHN) sur l'objectif de développement durables (ODD) est une réunion des États membres des Nations Unies sous les auspices du Conseil économique et social. Le forum 2018 se tiendra à partir du mois de juillet 9-18. Le HLPF est chargé du rôle central du suivi et de la révision du Programme mondial de développement durable 2030. Et le point culminant du forum est le Voluntary National Reviews (VNR). Dans le cadre du mécanisme de suivi et d’examen des objectifs de développement durable, les RNV facilitent le partage des expériences, des enseignements tirés et des difficultés rencontrées par les États membres en vue de la mise en œuvre des objectifs de développement durable. Quarante-sept pays mèneront les examens volontaires nationaux lors du forum 2018. La plateforme du FPHN offre des possibilités de partenariat entre les États membres. Les organisations de la société civile, les agences des Nations Unies, le secteur privé, les universités et d'autres parties prenantes participent également activement au forum.

Les objectifs suivants, notamment l'objectif 17 (Renforcer les moyens de mise en œuvre et revitaliser le Partenariat mondial pour le développement durable), seront examinés au cours du FPHN 2018. Le thème central du 2018 HLPF est, “Transformation vers une société durable et résiliente.”

  • Objectif 6. Assurer la disponibilité et la gestion durable de l'eau et de l'assainissement pour tous
  • Objectif 7. Assurer l'accès à une énergie abordable, fiable, durable et moderne pour tous
  • Objectif 11. Rendre les villes et les établissements humains inclusifs, sûrs, résilients et durables
  • Objectif 12. Assurer des modes de consommation et de production durables
  • Objectif 15. Protéger, restaurer et promouvoir l'utilisation durable des écosystèmes terrestres, gérer durablement les forêts, lutter contre la désertification, stopper et inverser la dégradation des terres et mettre fin à la perte de biodiversité

En savoir plus:

2018 Forum politique de haut niveau sur les objectifs de développement durable https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2018


Le père Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, anime une manifestation parallèle des ONG au 17e Forum permanent des Nations Unies sur les questions autochtones Mai 3rd, 2018

L'Instance permanente des Nations Unies sur les questions autochtones (UNPFII) a tenu sa dix-septième session à partir du mois d'avril 16 - 27. Le thème du forum 2018 était: «Droits collectifs des peuples autochtones sur les terres, les territoires et les ressources». Selon l'UNPFII, les peuples autochtones sont des héritiers et des praticiens de cultures et de façons uniques d'établir des relations avec les gens et l'environnement. Les peuples autochtones ont conservé des caractéristiques sociales, culturelles, économiques et politiques distinctes de celles des sociétés dominantes dans lesquelles ils vivent. Plusieurs communautés autochtones du monde entier étaient représentées à l'UNPFII. Beaucoup d'entre eux ont eu l'occasion de présenter des déclarations sur des sujets d'intérêt pour leurs différentes communautés.

Le président de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, M. Miroslav Lajčák, dans son allocution d'ouverture au forum, a brossé un tableau sombre de la situation des plus de X millions de peuples autochtones dans le monde. Il a indiqué que, si les peuples autochtones représentent environ 300 pour cent de la population mondiale, ils représentent 5 pour cent des populations les plus pauvres du monde. Une situation qu'il a qualifiée de "choquante". M. Lajčák a également souligné certains des problèmes auxquels les peuples autochtones sont confrontés: violations des droits de l'homme, marginalisation et violence auxquels ils sont confrontés pour faire valoir leurs droits. En se concentrant sur le thème des terres, territoires et ressources autochtones, M. Lajčák a souligné que «les peuples autochtones sont dépossédés des terres que leurs ancêtres appelaient leur patrie», souvent par des agriculteurs et des sociétés minières de grande taille et multinationaux.

Dans un rapport récent de Conselho Indigenista Missionaria («Conseil missionnaire autochtone» - une filiale de la Conférence nationale des évêques du Brésil), certains des défis auxquels font face un certain nombre de communautés autochtones au Brésil (ainsi que des communautés autochtones du monde entier) incluent; taux élevé de suicide, manque de chaleursoins de santé, mortalité infantile élevée, abus d’alcool et de drogues, manque d’éducation autochtone et manque soutien de l'État.

Evènement d'ONG at United Nations 17th Instance permanente sur les questions autochtones

Dans le cadre des nombreux événements parallèles du Forum, le père Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, a animé, en avril, 18, une séance sur "Lien spirituel et droit de gestion des terres, des territoires et des ressources, y compris l'eau pour les peuples autochtones,"Avec les panélistes qui comprenaient:

  • Atilano Alberto Ceballos Loeza - Leader dans les pratiques agricoles durables et défenseur des terres et des territoires au Yucatan
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez - Membre du Conseil de Gouvernement de la Communauté CASCOMI (Communauté Amazonienne d'Action Sociale Cordillera del Cóndor Mirador), intégrée par les familles autochtones et les colons de la paroisse Tundayme-Equateur
  • Augostina Mayán Apikai - La dirigeante autochtone Awajún, née à Cordoncanqui, est présidente de l'Organisation de développement des communautés frontalières de Cenepa - ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • Leila Rocha - Guarani Ñandeva, membre du conseil d'administration d'Aty Guasu Guarani et de Kaiowá, Mato Grosso do Sul
  • Sachem HawkStorm - Premières nations Schaghticoke

L'événement a eu lieu au Centre épiscopal de l'Église à New York et organisé par Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée; Groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur les mines Comité des ONG sur les droits des peuples autochtones; Congrégation de la Mission VIVAT International; Caritas International; Conférence dominicaine sur le leadership Franciscains internationaux; Rouge Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM); Conseil missionnaire autochtone (CIMI); Société de méditation Sunray

En savoir plus:

Instance permanente des Nations Unies sur les questions autochtones: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

Nouvelles des Nations Unies sur les droits fonciers des peuples autochtones: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

Rapport de Conselho Indigenista Missionaria sur la violence contre les peuples autochtones au Brésil en anglais, espagnol et portugais: https://bit.ly/2F1w133


Lancement officiel du programme de développement post-2015 Octobre 15th, 2015

Vue d'ensemble

Le 70 des Nations Uniesth session s'est tenue à New York en septembre 2015 avec l'adoption officielle des objectifs de développement durable (ODD) par ses États membres 193. Les ODD remplacent les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le Développement (OMD), le programme de développement en cours depuis 2000, qui s'est terminé par 2015. À l'instar de son précurseur, les ODD auront une durée 15-year et resteront en vigueur jusqu'à 2030. C'est le résultat d'un processus consultatif international qui a vu le jour à la réunion Rio + 20 de 2012.

Certains considèrent les ODD comme le programme de lutte contre la pauvreté le plus audacieux des Nations Unies, comme l'ont exprimé le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Ban Ki Moon, les qualifiant de «17 des objectifs audacieux mais réalisables visant à mettre fin à la pauvreté».

Les objectifs de 17 couvrent un large éventail de problèmes sociaux, économiques et environnementaux: la pauvreté et la faim, l'amélioration de la santé et de l'éducation, la réduction des inégalités et la lutte contre le changement climatique. Ils ont été salués comme une avancée par rapport aux OMD car ils abordent des problèmes plus actuels et intègrent tous les pays riches et pauvres.


Participation oblate

image001 [2]

Père Daniel LeBlanc OMI

Outre les gouvernements, des groupes de la société civile ont activement participé aux processus ayant conduit à l’adoption finale de l’accord global. Au cours des 18 derniers mois, le père Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, représentant de JPIC auprès des Nations Unies, a collaboré avec plusieurs groupes de travail, notamment le groupe de travail sur l'industrie minière, la Confédération syndicale internationale et le groupe majeur des peuples autochtones. Ces groupes ont œuvré pour l'inclusion d'une perspective des droits de l'homme dans l'accord final. Certains de ces droits incluent le droit à l'eau et à l'assainissement, le droit à un travail décent, les droits des peuples autochtones et l'éradication de l'extrême pauvreté.

La question de savoir comment les objectifs seront financés par les différents pays est un sujet particulièrement préoccupant pour la société civile et les autres parties prenantes. Un processus de négociation séparé a eu lieu à Addis-Abeba (Éthiopie) au début de l'année à la 3rd Financing for Development Conference. À Addis-Abeba, le père Daniel LeBlanc OMI s'est joint à d'autres groupes de la société civile pour promouvoir un nouveau processus de suivi élargi qui permettra à la société civile de mieux vérifier si les pays respectent leur engagement et fournissent un soutien aux pays en difficulté. Sans le financement nécessaire, de nombreux pays ne parviendront pas à atteindre leurs objectifs et cibles dans le délai 2015-2030.

sgs-synthesis-report-image

Les ODD sont organisés sous les «éléments essentiels» de 6: o Dignité o Prospérité o Justice o Partenariat o Planète o Gens

Des ressources supplémentaires sur les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) peuvent être trouvées sur ces sites:

1. Conférence des évêques catholiques des États-Unis (USCCB) Contexte sur les objectifs de développement durable

2. Objectifs de développement durable de Caritas Internationalis (SDGS): Questions fréquentes

3. Télécharger un Lettre ouverte au pape Francis du Groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur les mines:

Merci au P. Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, représentant des Oblats à l'ONU, pour cette information


Développement durable: le monde que nous voulons Février 3rd, 2015

sgs-synthesis-report-imageLequel de ces objectifs de développement durable (ODD) travaillez-vous?

  • Dignité: mettre fin à la pauvreté et lutter contre les inégalités
  • Personnes: assurer une vie saine, le savoir et l'inclusion des femmes et des enfants
  • La prospérité: développer une économie forte, inclusive et transformatrice
  • Planète: pour protéger nos écosystèmes pour toutes les sociétés et nos enfants
  • Justice: promouvoir des sociétés sûres et pacifiques et des institutions fortes
  • Partenariat: catalyser la solidarité mondiale pour un développement durable

2015 est la dernière année pour les objectifs de développement du millénaire, qui ont été lancés dans 2000 pour faire des progrès globaux sur la pauvreté, l'éducation, la santé, la faim et l'environnement. Sur la base d'un vaste processus consultatif international, les États membres des Nations Unies sont en train de finaliser les objectifs de développement durable pour les remplacer. Qu'est-ce que les ODD visent à atteindre? En quoi sont-ils différents des OMD? Quels progrès ont été accomplis pour atteindre les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement? Voyez comment les OMD se sont déplacés dans les ODD, et explorez chaque ODD plus en détail: Un interactif sur les objectifs de développement durable: tout ce que vous devez savoir

Pour plus d'informations sur les ODD, lisez la Rapport 2015 du Secrétaire général de l'ONU: La route vers la dignité par 2030: Mettre fin à la pauvreté, transformer toutes les vies et protéger la planète

Merci à Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, représentant des Oblats aux Nations Unies, pour cette information.


Les ONG soulèvent l'alarme sur le barrage hydroélectrique au Guatemala Octobre 15th, 2014

En août de 2013, la communauté a été attaquée et deux enfants ont été tués en représailles pour des plaintes de droits de l'homme déposées par la communauté.

IEn août de 2013, la communauté a été attaquée et deux enfants ont été tués en représailles pour des plaintes de droits humains déposées par la communauté.

Le bureau JPIC des missionnaires oblats s'est associé à d'autres organisations internationales pour adresser une lettre au Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones concernant la construction du barrage hydroélectrique de Santa Rita au Guatemala. Le barrage a été enregistré en tant que projet dans le cadre du Mécanisme de développement propre (MDP) - établi en vertu du Protocole de Kyoto des Nations Unies - en juin 2014. Selon la lettre, «De nombreuses violations contre les communautés autochtones Q'eqchi´ et Poqomchí ont été signalées avant et depuis l'approbation du projet, plus récemment au cours d'incidents violents allant de 14 à 16 August 2014, qui ont causé plusieurs blessures et la mort».

La lettre note que le Rapporteur sur les droits des peuples autochtones de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l'homme a reconnu que les licences actuelles pour les mines et les centrales hydroélectriques étaient accordées sans que l'État ait préalablement consulté librement et en connaissance de cause les communautés autochtones concernées. il est obligé de le faire en vertu de traités internationaux signés par le Guatemala ".

Lis la lettre…

retourner en haut

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » United Nations


High-Level Meeting on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Scheduled for July 9-18 July 6th, 2018

INFORMATION SHARED by Fr.  Daniel LeBlanc OMI, (Missionary Oblates’ representative at the United Nations)

“We must regain the conviction that we need one another, that we have a shared responsibility for others and the world, and that being good and decent are worth it.” Laudato Si’ 76

The High-Level Political Forum (HLPF) on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is a meeting of the Member States of the United Nations under the auspices of the Economic and Social Council. The 2018 forum will be held from July 9-18. The HLPF is tasked with the central role of the follow-up and review of the 2030 Global Agenda for Sustainable Development. And the highlight of the forum is the Voluntary National Reviews (VNRs). As part of the follow-up and review mechanism of the SDGs, the VNRs facilitates the sharing of experiences and lessons learned and challenges by the Member States with a view to implementing the SDGs. Forty-seven countries will be conducting the National Voluntary Reviews during the 2018 forum. The HLPF platform provides opportunities for partnership among the Member States. Civil society organizations, UN agencies, the private sector, academia, and other stakeholders also actively participate in the forum.

The following goals, including goal 17 (Strengthen the Means of Implementation and Revitalize Global Partnership for Sustainable Development), will be reviewed during the 2018 HLPF. The central theme for the 2018 HLPF is, “Transformation Towards Sustainable and Resilient Society.”

  • Goal 6. Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all
  • Goal 7. Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all
  • Goal 11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  • Goal 12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns
  • Goal 15. Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss

Read more

2018 High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development Goals: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2018 

 


Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues May 3rd, 2018

The United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) held it’s seventeenth session from April 16 – 27. The theme for the 2018 forum was; “Indigenous Peoples’ Collective Rights to Lands, Territories and Resources.” According to the UNPFII, indigenous peoples are inheritors and practitioners of unique cultures and ways of relating to people and the environment. Indigenous Peoples have retained social, cultural, economic and political characteristics that are distinct from those of the dominant societies in which they live. Several indigenous communities from around the globe were represented at the UNPFII. Many of them had opportunities to present statements on issues of concern to their different communities.

The President of the UN General Assembly, Mr. Miroslav Lajčák, in his opening remarks at the forum, painted the grim picture of the situation of the over 300 million Indigenous Peoples around the world. He noted that while Indigenous Peoples make up about 5 percent of the world’s population, they comprise 15 percent of the world’s poorest people. A situation he described as ‘shocking.’ Mr. Lajčák also highlighted some of the challenges faced by Indigenous Peoples as violations of their human rights, marginalization, and violence they face for asserting their rights. Focusing on the theme of indigenous land, territories and resources, Mr. Lajčák pointed out that, “Indigenous Peoples are being dispossessed of the lands their ancestors called home,” often by big time and multi-national farmers and mining corporations.

In a recent report by Conselho Indigenista Missionaria (“Indigenous Missionary Council” – a subsidiary of the National Conference of Bishops of Brazil), some of the challenges faced by a number of indigenous communities in Brazil (as well as indigenous communities around the world) include; high rate of of suicide, lack of health care, high child mortality, alcohol and drug abuse, lack of indigenous education and lack of general support from the State.

NGO Event at United Nations 17th Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

As part of the Forum’s many side events, on April 18 Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, moderated a session on “Spiritual Connection and Right Stewardship of Land, Territory, and Resources, including Water for Indigenous Peoples,” with panelists that included:

  • Atilano Alberto Ceballos Loeza – Leader in sustainable agricultural practices and defender of land and territory in Yucatan
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez – Member of the Council of Government of the Community CASCOMI (Amazon Community of Social Action Cordillera del Cóndor Mirador), integrated by native families and settlers of the parish Tundayme-Ecuador
  • Augostina Mayán Apikai – Awajún indigenous woman leader born in Cordoncanqui is the president of the Development Organization of Border Communities of Cenepa – ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • Leila Rocha – Guarani Ñandeva, member of the board of Aty Guasu Guarani and Kaiowá, Mato Grosso do Sul
  • Sachem HawkStorm – Schaghticoke First Nations

The event was held at the Episcopal Church Center in New York City and organized by Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate; UN Mining Working Group; NGO Committee on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples; Congregation of the Mission; VIVAT International; Caritas International; Dominican Leadership Conference; Franciscans International; Red Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM); Indigenous Missionary Council (CIMI); Sunray Meditation Society

Learn more:

UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

UN News on Indigenous Peoples’ land rights: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

Conselho Indigenista Missionaria report on violence against indigenous peoples in brazil in English, Espanol and Portugese: https://bit.ly/2F1w133

 


Post-2015 Development Agenda Officially Launched October 15th, 2015

 

Overview

The United Nation’s 70th session convened in New York in September 2015 with the formal adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by its 193 member states. The SDGs replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the prevailing development agenda since 2000, which ended in 2015. Like its forerunner, the SDGs will have a 15-year timeframe and remain in effect until 2030. It is the result of an international consultative process that originated at the Rio +20 meeting in 2012.

Some see the SDGs as the UN’s boldest anti-poverty agenda yet, as expressed by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon who called them “17 bold yet achievable goals that aim to end poverty.”

The 17 goals cover a wide range of social, economic and environmental issues: poverty and hunger, improving health and education, reducing inequality, and combating climate change. They have been hailed as a step up from the MDGs because they tackle more present-day issues and incorporate all countries rich and poor.


Oblate Participation

 

image001[2]

Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI

In addition to governments, civil society groups have actively participated in the processes leading up to the final adoption of the global agreement. In the last year and a half, Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI, JPIC’s Representative to the United Nations collaborated with several Working Groups including the Mining Working Group, International Trade Union Confederation and the Indigenous Peoples Major Group. These groups worked for the inclusion of a human rights perspective in the final agreement. Some of these rights include the right to water and sanitation, the right to decent work, the rights of Indigenous Peoples and the eradication of extreme poverty.

 

An area of particular concern for civil society and other stakeholders is the question of how the goals will be financed by individual countries. A separate negotiation process took place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia earlier this year at the 3rd Financing for Development Conference. In Addis Ababa Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI joined other civil society groups in pushing for a new and expanded follow-up process that will allow civil society to better monitor whether countries meet their commitment and provide support for struggling countries. Without the necessary financing, many countries will fall short of meeting their goals and targets within the 2015-2030 timeframe.

sgs-synthesis-report-image

The SDGs are organized under 6 ‘essential elements’: o Dignity o Prosperity o Justice o Partnership o Planet o People

Additional resources on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can be found at these websites:

1. U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) Background On Sustainable Development Goals

2. Caritas Internationalis Sustainable Development Goals (SDGS): Frequently Asked Questions 

3. Download an Open Letter to Pope Francis from the UN Mining Working Group:

Thanks to Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Oblate representative at the UN, for this information

 

 

 

 

 


Sustainable Development: The World We Want February 3rd, 2015

sgs-synthesis-report-imageWhich of these Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are you working for?

  • Dignity: to end poverty and fight inequalities
  • People: to ensure healthy lives, knowledge and the inclusion of women and children
  • Prosperity: to grow a strong, inclusive and transformative economy
  • Planet: to protect our ecosystems for all societies and our children
  • Justice: to promote safe and peaceful societies and strong institutions
  • Partnership: to catalyze global solidarity for sustainable development

2015 is the last year for the millennium development goals, which were launched in 2000 to make global progress on poverty, education, health, hunger and the environment. UN member states, on the basis of a broad international consultative process, are finalizing sustainable development goals to replace them. What do the SDGs aim to achieve? How are they different from the MDGs? What progress was made in meeting the Millennium Development Goals? See how the MDGs have shifted into the SDGs, and explore each SDG in more detail: An Interactive on The SDGs: all you need to know

For more information on the SDGs, read the UN Secretary General’s 2015 Report: The Road to Dignity by 2030: Ending Poverty, Transforming All Lives and Protecting the Planet

 Thanks to Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Oblate representative at the UN, for this information.

 


NGOs Raise Alarm About Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala October 15th, 2014

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office has joined other international organizations in a letter of concern to the UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples about construction of the Santa Rita Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala. The dam was registered as a project under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) – established under the UN’s Kyoto Protocol – in June 2014. According to the letter, “Numerous violations against the indigenous Q’eqchi´ and Poqomchí communities have been reported prior to and since project approval, most recently in violent incidents from 14 to 16 August 2014 resulting in several injuries and deaths.”

The letter notes that the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights’ Rapporteur on indigenous peoples’ rights recognized “that the current licenses for mining and hydroelectric plants were granted without the State having implemented prior, free, and informed consultation with affected indigenous communities, as it is obligated to do under international treaties signed by Guatemala”.

Read the letter…

 


Biodiversity Preservation Lagging October 6th, 2014

Pipevine Swallowtail and Thistle

Pipevine Swallowtail and Thistle
Photo credit: Fr. Kevin McLaughlin, OMI

The world is severely lagging behind targets set in 2010 to preserve biodiversity, according to a new report issued by the United Nations. The report said in addition to high profile campaigns to save certain animals, preserving biodiversity also means pursuing goals like reducing nutrient pollution in rivers. Much more efficient use of land, water, energy and materials are needed to meet globally-agreed targets by 2020.

“Bold and innovative action is urgently required if governments are to meet the globally-agreed Strategic Plan for Biodiversity and its Aichi Targets by 2020,” the Montreal-based Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) said referring to the 20 biodiversity goals agreed upon in 2010 in the Japanese city of Nagoya in Aichi prefecture.

“The challenge of achievement of many of these targets stem from the reality that based on current trends, pressures on biodiversity will continue to increase at least until 2020 and that the status of biodiversity will continue to decline,” according to this latest progress report by the CBD. The report cautioned “that continuing with ‘business as usual’ in our present patterns of behaviour, consumption, production and economic incentives will not allow us to realize the vision of a world with ecosystems capable of meeting human needs into the future.”

The report, Global Diversity Outlook 4 was released today at the start of the 12th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity, known as COP-12, in Pyeongchang, Republic of Korea.

Learn more…

 

Return to Top