شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الأمم المتحدة


الأمم المتحدة و Oblates من مريم الطاهر ديسمبر 11th، 2018

الأب دانييل لوبلان هو الكندي Oblate الذي كان أيضا التبشير إلى بيرو. في الوقت الحاضر ، هو ممثل OMI في الأمم المتحدة. هنا في الفيديو ، يشرح كيف ولماذا نحن موجودون في أكبر هيئة دولية في العالم.


الاجتماع الرفيع المستوى بشأن أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) المقرر عقده في يوليو 9-18 يوليو 6th، 2018

المعلومات التي شاركها الأب. دانيال ليبلانك OMI ، (ممثل Oblates 'في الأمم المتحدة)

"يجب أن نستعيد قناعتنا بأننا بحاجة إلى بعضنا البعض ، وأننا نتحمل مسؤولية مشتركة تجاه الآخرين والعالم ، وأن تكون جيدة ولائقة تستحق العناء". Laudato Si '76

جميع المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى (HLPF) بشأن هدف التنمية المستدامةs (SDGs) هو اجتماع للدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة تحت رعاية المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي. سيعقد منتدى 2018 اعتبارًا من يوليو 9-18. يكلف المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى بالدور المركزي لمتابعة واستعراض جدول الأعمال العالمي 2030 للتنمية المستدامة. وأبرز ما في المنتدى هو المراجعات الوطنية التطوعية (VNRs). كجزء من آلية المتابعة والمراجعة لأهداف التنمية المستدامة ، تسهل البيانات الإخبارية على تبادل الخبرات والدروس المستفادة والتحديات من قبل الدول الأعضاء بهدف تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة. ستقوم 47 دولة بعمليات المراجعة الطوعية الوطنية خلال منتدى 2018. توفر منصة المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى فرصا للشراكة بين الدول الأعضاء. كما تشارك بنشاط في المنتدى منظمات المجتمع المدني ، ووكالات الأمم المتحدة ، والقطاع الخاص ، والأوساط الأكاديمية ، وغيرهم من أصحاب المصلحة.

سيتم استعراض الأهداف التالية ، بما في ذلك الهدف 17 (تعزيز وسائل التنفيذ وتنشيط الشراكة العالمية من أجل التنمية المستدامة) ، خلال 2018 HLPF. الموضوع الرئيسي لـ 2018 HLPF هو ، "التحول نحو مجتمع مستدام ومرن."

  • الهدف 6. ضمان التوافر والإدارة المستدامة للمياه والصرف الصحي للجميع
  • الهدف 7. ضمان الوصول إلى الطاقة الحديثة والموثوقة والمستدامة والحديثة للجميع
  • الهدف 11. جعل المدن والمستوطنات البشرية شاملة وآمنة ومرنة ومستدامة
  • الهدف 12. ضمان أنماط الاستهلاك والإنتاج المستدامة
  • الهدف 15. حماية واستعادة وتشجيع الاستخدام المستدام للنظم الإيكولوجية الأرضية ، وإدارة الغابات على نحو مستدام ، ومكافحة التصحر ، ووقف تدهور الأراضي وعكس مساره ووقف فقدان التنوع البيولوجي

المزيد:

2018 المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى المعني بأهداف التنمية المستدامة: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2018


Fr Daniel LeBlanc، OMI، The Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous issues مايو 3rd، 2018

عقد منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم المعني بقضايا السكان الأصليين (UNPFII) دورته السابعة عشرة في الفترة من نيسان / أبريل 16 - 27. كان موضوع منتدى 2018 هو: "الحقوق الجماعية للشعوب الأصلية في الأراضي والأقاليم والموارد". ووفقاً لما ذكره المنتدى UNPFII ، فإن السكان الأصليين هم ورثة وممارسون للثقافات الفريدة وطرق تتعلق بالناس والبيئة. احتفظ السكان الأصليون بخصائص اجتماعية وثقافية واقتصادية وسياسية تختلف عن تلك الخاصة بالمجتمعات المهيمنة التي يعيشون فيها. وتم تمثيل العديد من مجتمعات السكان الأصليين من جميع أنحاء العالم في منتدى الأمم المتحدة المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية. كان لدى العديد منهم فرص لعرض البيانات حول القضايا التي تهم مجتمعاتهم المختلفة.

ورسم رئيس الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة ، السيد ميروسلاف لاجاك ، في ملاحظاته الافتتاحية في المنتدى ، الصورة القاتمة لحالة أكثر من 100 مليون نسمة من السكان الأصليين حول العالم. وأشار إلى أنه في حين أن السكان الأصليين يشكلون حوالي 300 في المائة من سكان العالم ، إلا أنهم يشكلون 5 في المائة من أفقر الناس في العالم. حالة وصفها بأنها "صادمة". كما سلط السيد Lajčák الضوء على بعض التحديات التي تواجه الشعوب الأصلية باعتبارها انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان ، والتهميش ، والعنف الذي يواجهونه لتأكيد حقوقهم. وبتركيزه على موضوع أراضي الشعوب الأصلية وأقاليمها ومواردها ، أشار السيد لاجاك إلى أن "الشعوب الأصلية يجري تجريدها من الأراضي التي يطلق عليها أسلافها وطنهم" ، في كثير من الأحيان من قبل كبار المزارعين وشركات التعدين المتعددة الجنسيات.

في تقرير صدر مؤخرًا بواسطة Conselho Indigenista Missionaria ("مجلس التبشير في الشعوب الأصلية" - وهو فرع تابع للمؤتمر الوطني للأساقفة في البرازيل) ، بعض التحديات التي يواجهها عدد من مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في البرازيل (وكذلك مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في جميع أنحاء العالم) تشمل: نسبة عالية من الانتحار ، وعدم وجود heaالرعاية الصحية ، ارتفاع معدل وفيات الأطفال ، تعاطي الكحوليات والمخدرات ، قلة تعليم السكان الأصليين ونقص العموم دعم من الدولة.

حدث المنظمات غير الحكوميةر المتحدة الأمم 17th المنتدى الدائم المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية

كجزء من الفعاليات الجانبية العديدة للمنتدى ، أشرف في أبريل / نيسان 18 Fr Daniel LeBlanc ، OMI على جلسة حول "الاتصال الروحاني والإشراف الصحيح على الأراضي والأراضي والموارد ، بما في ذلك المياه للشعوب الأصلية ،"مع أعضاء اللجنة التي شملت:

  • أتلانو ألبيرتو سيبالوس لويزا - زعيم في الممارسات الزراعية المستدامة والمدافع عن الأراضي والأراضي في يوكاتان
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez - عضو في مجلس حكومة المجتمع CASCOMI (مجتمع الأمازون للعمل الاجتماعي كورديليرا ديل Cóndor ميرادور) ، متكاملة من قبل العائلات والمستوطنين من الرعية Tundayme- الإكوادور
  • أوغوستينا مايان أبيكاي - عوجان زعيم امرأة من السكان الأصليين ولد في Cordoncanqui هو رئيس منظمة تنمية المجتمعات الحدودية من Cenepa - ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • ليلى روشا - غواراني رانديفا ، عضو مجلس إدارة Aty Guasu Guarani و Kaiowá ، ماتو غروسو دو سول
  • Sachem HawkStorm - Schaghticoke الأمم الأولى

تم عقد هذا الحدث في مركز الكنيسة الأسقفية في مدينة نيويورك والتي نظمها التبشيريه مبان مريم الطاهر؛ فريق الأمم المتحدة العامل للتعدين لجنة المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية ؛ مجمع البعثة فيفات الدولية كاريتاس الدولية مؤتمر القيادة الدومينيكية الفرنسيسكان الدولية Red Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM)؛ المجلس التبشيري للسكان الأصليين (CIMI) ؛ جمعية التأمل صن راي

مزيد من المعلومات:

منتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم المعني بقضايا السكان الأصليين: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

أخبار الأمم المتحدة حول حقوق الأراضي للشعوب الأصلية: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

تقرير Conselho Indigenista Missionaria عن العنف ضد الشعوب الأصلية في البرازيل باللغات الإنجليزية والإسبانية والبرتغالية: https://bit.ly/2F1w133


خطة ما بعد 2015 للتنمية التي تم إطلاقها رسميًا أكتوبر 15th، 2015

التفاصيل

الأمم المتحدة 70th الدورة التي عقدت في نيويورك في سبتمبر 2015 مع الاعتماد الرسمي لأهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) من خلال الدول الأعضاء في 193. تستبدل أهداف التنمية المستدامة الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية (MDGs) ، وهي أجندة التنمية السائدة منذ 2000 ، والتي انتهت في 2015. وعلى غرار سلفه ، سيكون لأهداف التنمية المستدامة إطار زمني لمدة 15 وتبقى سارية حتى 2030. إنه نتيجة عملية تشاورية دولية نشأت في اجتماع Rio + 20 في 2012.

ويرى البعض أن أهداف التنمية المستدامة هي أجند جدول أعمال لمكافحة الجوع في الأمم المتحدة حتى الآن ، كما عبّر عنها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون الذي وصفها بأنها "أهداف 17 جريئة لكن قابلة للتحقيق تهدف إلى إنهاء الفقر."

تغطي أهداف 17 مجموعة واسعة من القضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية: الفقر والجوع ، وتحسين الصحة والتعليم ، والحد من عدم المساواة ، ومكافحة تغير المناخ. وقد تم الترحيب بهم كخطوة للأمام من الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية لأنهم يعالجون المزيد من قضايا الحاضر ويدمجون جميع البلدان الغنية والفقيرة.


مشاركة مفلنة

image001 [2]

الاب دانييل لوبلانك OMI

بالإضافة إلى الحكومات ، شاركت مجموعات المجتمع المدني بفعالية في العمليات التي أدت إلى الاعتماد النهائي للاتفاقية العالمية. في العام ونصف العام الماضي ، تعاون الأب دانييل لوبلان OMI ، ممثل JPIC لدى الأمم المتحدة مع العديد من مجموعات العمل بما في ذلك مجموعة العمل الخاصة بالتعدين والاتحاد الدولي للنقابات العمالية والمجموعة الرئيسية للشعوب الأصلية. عملت هذه المجموعات لإدراج منظور حقوق الإنسان في الاتفاق النهائي. وتشمل بعض هذه الحقوق الحق في المياه والصرف الصحي ، والحق في العمل اللائق ، وحقوق الشعوب الأصلية والقضاء على الفقر المدقع.

إن مجال الاهتمام الخاص للمجتمع المدني وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين هو مسألة كيفية تمويل الأهداف من قبل كل دولة على حدة. جرت عملية مفاوضات منفصلة في أديس أبابا ، إثيوبيا في وقت سابق من هذا العام في مؤتمر 3rd لتمويل التنمية. في أديس أبابا Fr Daniel LeBlanc انضمت OMI إلى مجموعات المجتمع المدني الأخرى في الدفع من أجل عملية متابعة جديدة وموسعة تسمح للمجتمع المدني برصد أفضل إذا ما أوفت البلدان بالتزاماتها وقدمت الدعم للبلدان المتعثرة. وبدون التمويل اللازم ، فإن العديد من البلدان لن تتمكن من تحقيق أهدافها وأهدافها ضمن الإطار الزمني 2015-2030.

اس جي اس-تركيب-تقرير-صورة

يتم تنظيم أهداف التنمية المستدامة ضمن "العناصر الأساسية" لـ 6: o الكرامة o الرخاء o العدالة o الشراكة o الكوكب o الناس

يمكن العثور على موارد إضافية حول أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) على مواقع الويب التالية:

1. المؤتمر الأمريكي للأساقفة الكاثوليك (USCCB) خلفية عن أهداف التنمية المستدامة

2. أهداف التنمية المستدامة في كاريتاس الدولية (SDGS): الأسئلة المتكررة

3. تنزيل رسالة مفتوحة إلى البابا فرانسيs من مجموعة عمل الأمم المتحدة للتعدين:

شكراً لفرانك دانيال لوبلان ، OMI ، ممثل مفلح في الأمم المتحدة ، على هذه المعلومات


التنمية المستدامة: العالم الذي نريده فبراير 3rd، 2015

اس جي اس-تركيب-تقرير-صورةأي من أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) التي تعمل عليها؟

  • كرامة: لإنهاء الفقر ومكافحة عدم المساواة
  • الناس: لضمان حياة ومعرفة صحية وإدماج النساء والأطفال
  • الرخاء: لتنمية اقتصاد قوي وشامل وتحويلي
  • كوكب: لحماية أنظمتنا البيئية لجميع المجتمعات وأطفالنا
  • عدالة: لتشجيع المجتمعات الآمنة والسلمية والمؤسسات القوية
  • شراكة: لتحفيز التضامن العالمي من أجل التنمية المستدامة

2015 هو العام الأخير للأهداف الإنمائية للألفية ، التي أطلقت في 2000 لتحقيق تقدم عالمي في مجالات الفقر والتعليم والصحة والجوع والبيئة. تقوم الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة ، على أساس عملية تشاورية دولية واسعة ، بوضع اللمسات الأخيرة على أهداف التنمية المستدامة لاستبدالها. ماذا تهدف أهداف التنمية المستدامة إلى تحقيقها؟ كيف تختلف عن الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية؟ ما هو التقدم المحرز في تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية؟ انظر كيف تحولت الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية إلى أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، واستكشف كل جانب من أهداف التنمية المستدامة بمزيد من التفاصيل: تفاعلية حول أهداف التنمية المستدامة: كل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته

لمزيد من المعلومات حول SDGs ، اقرأ تقرير 2015 للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة: الطريق إلى الكرامة بواسطة 2030: إنهاء الفقر ، تحويل جميع الأرواح وحماية الكوكب

شكراً لدانيال ليبلانك ، OMI ، ممثل Oblate في الأمم المتحدة ، على هذه المعلومات.


منظمات غير حكومية تثير انذار حول السد الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا أكتوبر 15th، 2014

في أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في الانتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان المقدمة من المجتمع.

Iفي أغسطس من 2013 ، تعرض المجتمع لهجوم وقتل طفلين في انتقام لشكاوى حقوق الإنسان التي قدمها المجتمع.

انضم المكتب التبشيطي الممولي (JPIC) إلى منظمات دولية أخرى في رسالة تهم المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية بشأن إنشاء سد سانتا ريتا الكهرومائي في غواتيمالا. تم تسجيل السد كمشروع في إطار آلية التنمية النظيفة (CDM) - التي أنشئت بموجب بروتوكول كيوتو للأمم المتحدة - في يونيو 2014. ووفقًا للرسالة ، "تم الإبلاغ عن العديد من الانتهاكات ضد مجتمعات كيكيتشي وبوكومشي الأصلية قبل ومنذ الموافقة على المشروع ، وكان آخرها في أحداث العنف من 14 إلى 16 أغسطس 2014 مما أدى إلى وقوع العديد من الإصابات والوفيات".

وتلاحظ الرسالة أن مقرر لجنة حقوق الإنسان للدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان قد اعترف "بأن التراخيص الحالية لمنشآت التعدين والطاقة الكهرومائية قد مُنحت دون أن تقوم الدولة بتنفيذ مشاورات مسبقة وحرة ومستنيرة مع المجتمعات الأصلية المتضررة ، وهي ملزمة بالعمل بموجب المعاهدات الدولية التي وقعتها غواتيمالا.

اقرأ الرسالة…

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » United Nations


High-Level Meeting on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Scheduled for July 9-18 July 6th, 2018

INFORMATION SHARED by Fr.  Daniel LeBlanc OMI, (Missionary Oblates’ representative at the United Nations)

“We must regain the conviction that we need one another, that we have a shared responsibility for others and the world, and that being good and decent are worth it.” Laudato Si’ 76

The High-Level Political Forum (HLPF) on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is a meeting of the Member States of the United Nations under the auspices of the Economic and Social Council. The 2018 forum will be held from July 9-18. The HLPF is tasked with the central role of the follow-up and review of the 2030 Global Agenda for Sustainable Development. And the highlight of the forum is the Voluntary National Reviews (VNRs). As part of the follow-up and review mechanism of the SDGs, the VNRs facilitates the sharing of experiences and lessons learned and challenges by the Member States with a view to implementing the SDGs. Forty-seven countries will be conducting the National Voluntary Reviews during the 2018 forum. The HLPF platform provides opportunities for partnership among the Member States. Civil society organizations, UN agencies, the private sector, academia, and other stakeholders also actively participate in the forum.

The following goals, including goal 17 (Strengthen the Means of Implementation and Revitalize Global Partnership for Sustainable Development), will be reviewed during the 2018 HLPF. The central theme for the 2018 HLPF is, “Transformation Towards Sustainable and Resilient Society.”

  • Goal 6. Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all
  • Goal 7. Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all
  • Goal 11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  • Goal 12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns
  • Goal 15. Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss

Read more

2018 High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development Goals: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/hlpf/2018 

 


Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Moderates NGO Side Event at the 17th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues May 3rd, 2018

The United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) held it’s seventeenth session from April 16 – 27. The theme for the 2018 forum was; “Indigenous Peoples’ Collective Rights to Lands, Territories and Resources.” According to the UNPFII, indigenous peoples are inheritors and practitioners of unique cultures and ways of relating to people and the environment. Indigenous Peoples have retained social, cultural, economic and political characteristics that are distinct from those of the dominant societies in which they live. Several indigenous communities from around the globe were represented at the UNPFII. Many of them had opportunities to present statements on issues of concern to their different communities.

The President of the UN General Assembly, Mr. Miroslav Lajčák, in his opening remarks at the forum, painted the grim picture of the situation of the over 300 million Indigenous Peoples around the world. He noted that while Indigenous Peoples make up about 5 percent of the world’s population, they comprise 15 percent of the world’s poorest people. A situation he described as ‘shocking.’ Mr. Lajčák also highlighted some of the challenges faced by Indigenous Peoples as violations of their human rights, marginalization, and violence they face for asserting their rights. Focusing on the theme of indigenous land, territories and resources, Mr. Lajčák pointed out that, “Indigenous Peoples are being dispossessed of the lands their ancestors called home,” often by big time and multi-national farmers and mining corporations.

In a recent report by Conselho Indigenista Missionaria (“Indigenous Missionary Council” – a subsidiary of the National Conference of Bishops of Brazil), some of the challenges faced by a number of indigenous communities in Brazil (as well as indigenous communities around the world) include; high rate of of suicide, lack of health care, high child mortality, alcohol and drug abuse, lack of indigenous education and lack of general support from the State.

NGO Event at United Nations 17th Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

As part of the Forum’s many side events, on April 18 Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, moderated a session on “Spiritual Connection and Right Stewardship of Land, Territory, and Resources, including Water for Indigenous Peoples,” with panelists that included:

  • Atilano Alberto Ceballos Loeza – Leader in sustainable agricultural practices and defender of land and territory in Yucatan
  • Elvia de Jesús Arévalo Ordóñez – Member of the Council of Government of the Community CASCOMI (Amazon Community of Social Action Cordillera del Cóndor Mirador), integrated by native families and settlers of the parish Tundayme-Ecuador
  • Augostina Mayán Apikai – Awajún indigenous woman leader born in Cordoncanqui is the president of the Development Organization of Border Communities of Cenepa – ODECOFROC. http://odecofroc-es.blogspot.com/p/nuestra-organizacion.html
  • Leila Rocha – Guarani Ñandeva, member of the board of Aty Guasu Guarani and Kaiowá, Mato Grosso do Sul
  • Sachem HawkStorm – Schaghticoke First Nations

The event was held at the Episcopal Church Center in New York City and organized by Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate; UN Mining Working Group; NGO Committee on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples; Congregation of the Mission; VIVAT International; Caritas International; Dominican Leadership Conference; Franciscans International; Red Eclesial Pan Amazónica (REPAM); Indigenous Missionary Council (CIMI); Sunray Meditation Society

Learn more:

UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues: https://bit.ly/2pvCccv

UN News on Indigenous Peoples’ land rights: https://bit.ly/2H4EU1M

Conselho Indigenista Missionaria report on violence against indigenous peoples in brazil in English, Espanol and Portugese: https://bit.ly/2F1w133

 


Post-2015 Development Agenda Officially Launched October 15th, 2015

 

Overview

The United Nation’s 70th session convened in New York in September 2015 with the formal adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by its 193 member states. The SDGs replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the prevailing development agenda since 2000, which ended in 2015. Like its forerunner, the SDGs will have a 15-year timeframe and remain in effect until 2030. It is the result of an international consultative process that originated at the Rio +20 meeting in 2012.

Some see the SDGs as the UN’s boldest anti-poverty agenda yet, as expressed by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon who called them “17 bold yet achievable goals that aim to end poverty.”

The 17 goals cover a wide range of social, economic and environmental issues: poverty and hunger, improving health and education, reducing inequality, and combating climate change. They have been hailed as a step up from the MDGs because they tackle more present-day issues and incorporate all countries rich and poor.


Oblate Participation

 

image001[2]

Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI

In addition to governments, civil society groups have actively participated in the processes leading up to the final adoption of the global agreement. In the last year and a half, Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI, JPIC’s Representative to the United Nations collaborated with several Working Groups including the Mining Working Group, International Trade Union Confederation and the Indigenous Peoples Major Group. These groups worked for the inclusion of a human rights perspective in the final agreement. Some of these rights include the right to water and sanitation, the right to decent work, the rights of Indigenous Peoples and the eradication of extreme poverty.

 

An area of particular concern for civil society and other stakeholders is the question of how the goals will be financed by individual countries. A separate negotiation process took place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia earlier this year at the 3rd Financing for Development Conference. In Addis Ababa Fr Daniel LeBlanc OMI joined other civil society groups in pushing for a new and expanded follow-up process that will allow civil society to better monitor whether countries meet their commitment and provide support for struggling countries. Without the necessary financing, many countries will fall short of meeting their goals and targets within the 2015-2030 timeframe.

sgs-synthesis-report-image

The SDGs are organized under 6 ‘essential elements’: o Dignity o Prosperity o Justice o Partnership o Planet o People

Additional resources on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can be found at these websites:

1. U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) Background On Sustainable Development Goals

2. Caritas Internationalis Sustainable Development Goals (SDGS): Frequently Asked Questions 

3. Download an Open Letter to Pope Francis from the UN Mining Working Group:

Thanks to Fr Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Oblate representative at the UN, for this information

 

 

 

 

 


Sustainable Development: The World We Want February 3rd, 2015

sgs-synthesis-report-imageWhich of these Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are you working for?

  • Dignity: to end poverty and fight inequalities
  • People: to ensure healthy lives, knowledge and the inclusion of women and children
  • Prosperity: to grow a strong, inclusive and transformative economy
  • Planet: to protect our ecosystems for all societies and our children
  • Justice: to promote safe and peaceful societies and strong institutions
  • Partnership: to catalyze global solidarity for sustainable development

2015 is the last year for the millennium development goals, which were launched in 2000 to make global progress on poverty, education, health, hunger and the environment. UN member states, on the basis of a broad international consultative process, are finalizing sustainable development goals to replace them. What do the SDGs aim to achieve? How are they different from the MDGs? What progress was made in meeting the Millennium Development Goals? See how the MDGs have shifted into the SDGs, and explore each SDG in more detail: An Interactive on The SDGs: all you need to know

For more information on the SDGs, read the UN Secretary General’s 2015 Report: The Road to Dignity by 2030: Ending Poverty, Transforming All Lives and Protecting the Planet

 Thanks to Daniel LeBlanc, OMI, Oblate representative at the UN, for this information.

 


NGOs Raise Alarm About Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala October 15th, 2014

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

In August of 2013, the community was attacked and two children were killed in retribution for human rights complaints filed by the community.

The Missionary Oblate JPIC Office has joined other international organizations in a letter of concern to the UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples about construction of the Santa Rita Hydroelectric Dam in Guatemala. The dam was registered as a project under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) – established under the UN’s Kyoto Protocol – in June 2014. According to the letter, “Numerous violations against the indigenous Q’eqchi´ and Poqomchí communities have been reported prior to and since project approval, most recently in violent incidents from 14 to 16 August 2014 resulting in several injuries and deaths.”

The letter notes that the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights’ Rapporteur on indigenous peoples’ rights recognized “that the current licenses for mining and hydroelectric plants were granted without the State having implemented prior, free, and informed consultation with affected indigenous communities, as it is obligated to do under international treaties signed by Guatemala”.

Read the letter…

 


Biodiversity Preservation Lagging October 6th, 2014

Pipevine Swallowtail and Thistle

Pipevine Swallowtail and Thistle
Photo credit: Fr. Kevin McLaughlin, OMI

The world is severely lagging behind targets set in 2010 to preserve biodiversity, according to a new report issued by the United Nations. The report said in addition to high profile campaigns to save certain animals, preserving biodiversity also means pursuing goals like reducing nutrient pollution in rivers. Much more efficient use of land, water, energy and materials are needed to meet globally-agreed targets by 2020.

“Bold and innovative action is urgently required if governments are to meet the globally-agreed Strategic Plan for Biodiversity and its Aichi Targets by 2020,” the Montreal-based Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) said referring to the 20 biodiversity goals agreed upon in 2010 in the Japanese city of Nagoya in Aichi prefecture.

“The challenge of achievement of many of these targets stem from the reality that based on current trends, pressures on biodiversity will continue to increase at least until 2020 and that the status of biodiversity will continue to decline,” according to this latest progress report by the CBD. The report cautioned “that continuing with ‘business as usual’ in our present patterns of behaviour, consumption, production and economic incentives will not allow us to realize the vision of a world with ecosystems capable of meeting human needs into the future.”

The report, Global Diversity Outlook 4 was released today at the start of the 12th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity, known as COP-12, in Pyeongchang, Republic of Korea.

Learn more…

 

Return to Top