شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »الصناديق النسر


صندوق النقد الدولي يصدر خططًا لوقف صناديق التحوّط التحوّطية أكتوبر 6th، 2014

vulturemanأصدر صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) مقترحات جديدة لمنع صناديق التحوط المفترسة والمستثمرين المحتجزين من منع إعادة هيكلة الديون. وتقترح الورقة سلسلة من الإصلاحات لعقود الديون ، بما في ذلك بنود العمل الجماعي المعززة وتعديل شرط المنفعة الذي تستخدمه صناديق التحوط التي لا تزال قيد التحكيم في مقاضاة الأرجنتين.

صرح إريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي للتحالف الديني لمكافحة الفقر ، شبكة Jubilee USA Network: "في أعقاب إعادة هيكلة الديون في الأرجنتين واليونان ، يشعر صندوق النقد الدولي بقلق بالغ إزاء الصناديق الانتهازية". يدافع صندوق النقد الدولي عن نهج السوق ، لكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى نهج قانوني. نحن بحاجة إلى تغيير كل من العقود والقوانين ".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المحكمة العليا ترفض الأرجنتين حالة صندوق التحوط الديون 16 يونيو، 2014

حكم المحكمة السفلى يثبت والتحقق من صحة السلوك التحوطي الصندوق التحوطي

vulturemanواشنطن العاصمة - رفضت المحكمة العليا الأمريكية سماع استئناف الأرجنتين اليوم وقرار محكمة أدنى درجة يقر السلوك العدواني الذي يستهدف البلدان التي تعاني من ضائقة مالية. كما رفضت المحكمة العليا استئنافًا ذي صلة نيابة عن أكثر من 92٪ من حاملي السندات الذين قبلوا صفقة إعادة الهيكلة في الأرجنتين بعد التخلف عن السداد.

إيريك لي كومبت ، المدير التنفيذي لمنظمة دينية لمكافحة الفقر Jubilee USA ، أصدر البيان التالي:

"لقد أذهلني القرار. بالنسبة للبلدان المثقلة بالديون التي تحاول دعم الفقراء المدقعين ، فهذه ضربة مدمرة. تم تجهيز صناديق التحوط هذه بأداة تجبر الاقتصادات المتعثرة على الخضوع.

اتفق الجمهوريون والديمقراطيون لمدة 15 عامًا على أن أفقر دول العالم بحاجة إلى تخفيف أعباء ديونها. واليوم ، أصبحت سياسة الحزبين هذه مهددة بقرار المحكمة.

ويشعر المجتمع الديني بالحزن لأن هؤلاء الفاعلين المتطرفين سيوسعون الآن جهودهم لجمع الأصول التي تخص الفقراء.

"أحد الخاسرين اليوم هو ولاية نيويورك. بالنظر إلى حكم اليوم ، فإن الدول التي ترغب في اقتراض المال سوف تجد أماكن أخرى لتوقيع عقودها. لهذا السبب انضم مستثمرو وول ستريت الشرعيون إلى صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي والأمم المتحدة وحكومة الولايات المتحدة في معارضة هذا السلوك.

"بالنظر إلى الحكم ، نحتاج إلى معرفة العلاجات التشريعية التي يمكننا تنفيذها لإيقاف صناديق التحوط هذه."

قراءة التاريخ والجدول الزمني للقضية.

اقرأ Jubilee's USA's الايداع تحث المحكمة العليا على اتخاذ القضية.

 

 


البعثات التبادلية الانضمام إلى المحكمة العليا الايداع في الأرجنتين / NML كابيتال القضية مسيرة 25th، 2014

تقدمت Jubilee USA Network ، وهي تحالف ديني لمكافحة الفقر ، إلى جانب 78 مجموعات دينية وإنمائية أخرى مع المحكمة العليا الأمريكية في القضية بين الأرجنتين و NML Capital. ال صديق المحكمة موجزة يأخذ جانب الأرجنتين لأن سابقة الحالة تؤثر على السلوك المفترس على الفئات الضعيفة من السكان. يجادل موجز الصداقة بين المحكمة بأن هذه القضية سيكون لها أثر ضار على سياسة ديون الولايات المتحدة الفقيرة ، التي تتخلى عن الحزبين ، وتسبب عدم استقرار مالي عالمي. ومن بين الأقران الذين انضموا إلى Jubilee USA: الخدمة اليهودية الأمريكية العالمية ، وخدمة الكنيسة العالمية ، ومنظمة Action Aid USA ، والعديد من الكنس والكنائس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وعدد كبير من الأوامر الدينية الكاثوليكية للراهبات والكهنة ، بما في ذلك المراسم التبشيرية. إقرأ ال القائمة الكاملة لمجموعات 79 ويوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أصدقاء المحكمة.

أشار كينت سبريغز ، المحامي الذي يمثل المجموعات السبع والسبعين ، "في نهاية المطاف ، هذه القضية هي سابقة قد تعرض الاقتصادات النامية لسلوك مفترس متطرف" ، وأن قرار المحكمة العليا سيؤكد أو يضر بسياسة الديون الأمريكية الحالية من الحزبين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


صناديق التحوط المفترسة والأرجنتين تواجه مواجهة المحكمة العليا ديسمبر 17th، 2013

الغالبية من حملة الديون تسعى إلى إنهاء المواجهة بين الأرجنتين و Holdouts

الأرجنتين هي متوقع للاستئناف أمام المحكمة العليا الأمريكية بحلول منتصف فبراير رداً على حكم محكمة الدائرة الأمريكية 2nd الذي يأمر البلاد بدفع مليار دولار 1.33 إلى صناديق التحوط المفترسة. ﺳوف ﺗؤذي ﺳﺎﺑﻘﺔ اﻟﺣﺎﻻت ﺳوء اﻟﺑﻟدان اﻟﻔﻘﯾرة ﻓﻲ ﺿﺎﺋﻘﺔ ﻣﺎﻟﯾﺔ وﯾﻣﮐن أن ﺗﺳﻣﺢ ﻟﻣﺟﻣوﻋﺔ ﺻﻐﯾرة ﻣن ﺻﻧﺎدﯾق اﻟﺗﺣوط ﺑﺎﺳﺗﮭداف أﺻول ﺗﺳﺗﻔﯾد ﻣن اﻟﺳﮐﺎن اﻟﺿﻌﻔﺎء. في الوقت نفسه ، أصحاب الديون الذين أعادوا هيكلة ديونها مع الأرجنتين التعاقد المحامين للمساعدة في التفاوض على النزاع بين صناديق التحوط مهزوما والأرجنتين. أعاد ما يقرب من 93٪ من حاملي الديون هيكلة ديونها مع الأرجنتين بعد التقصير من 2001. ويشعر غالبية حملة السندات بالقلق من احتمال تعطل مستوطناتهم في حالة فوز صناديق التحوط بالحكم النهائي.

"نحن نتفق مع مخاوف حاملي السندات المعاد هيكلتها" ، وقال إريك LeCompte ، المدير التنفيذي لشبكة Jubilee USA ، وهي منظمة لمكافحة الفقر المستندة إلى الدين. "إننا ننضم إلى صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي والبيت الأبيض في إدانة هذا السلوك التحوطي المتطرف الذي يستفيد من أفقر الناس في العالم".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


المحكمة العليا الأمريكية ترفض سماع قضية صندوق النسر أكتوبر 8th، 2013

vulturemanقررت المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة عدم اتخاذ قضية الديون التاريخية بين الأرجنتين وحملة السندات بقيادة NML Capital ، وهو صندوق تحوطي يشتري ديون البلدان التي تمر بأزمة مالية. من المتوقع أن تقدم الأرجنتين عريضة ثانية في الأشهر المقبلة بأن المحكمة العليا ستراجعها وتقرر مرة أخرى ما إذا كانت ستستمع إلى القضية. في يونيو ، قدمت الأرجنتين أ بالسند تحويل الدعوى إلى المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة تطلب من المحكمة إلغاء حكم صادر عن محكمة استئناف الدائرة الأمريكية 2nd التي صدرت في أكتوبر الماضي. وأمر الحكم الأرجنتين بدفع لحاملي السندات 1.33 مليار دولار على أساس تفسير المحكمة ل باري باسوأو بند التكافؤ.

"يشعر المجتمع الديني بالحزن لقرار المحكمة العليا" ، كما أشار إيريك ليكومبت ، المدير التنفيذي لـ Jubilee USA ، وهي منظمة دينية مناهضة للفقر. "نظرًا لاحتمالية تقديم الأرجنتين مرة أخرى للمحكمة العليا الأمريكية بشأن قضية الفقر العالمية هذه ، فإننا نصلي من أجل مراجعة أخرى ستأخذها المحكمة العليا الأمريكية."

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


صناديق التحوط يفوز / يخسر فقراء العالم أغسطس 23rd، 2013

vulturemanالسندات الأرجنتينية. تأخر الحكم كما تنظر المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة في الاستئناف

واشنطن ، العاصمة - في القضية المميزة لشركة NML Capital، LTD ضد جمهورية الأرجنتين ، أيدت محكمة الدائرة الأمريكية في نيويورك حكمًا سابقًا أمرت الأرجنتين بدفع مليار دولار 1.33 لصرف صناديق التحوط. صعدت السندات الأرجنتينية وحافظ المدافعون عن الفقر على أنفاسهم عندما قررت محكمة الدائرة 2nd تأجيل الحكم إلى أن تقرر المحكمة العليا الأمريكية ما إذا كانت ستوجه نداءات بشأن القضية.

"عيوننا على المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة. ندعو المحكمة لن تنسى فقراء العالم وهم ينظرون في القضية ، "أكد إريك لوكومبتي ، المدير التنفيذي لحملة مكافحة الفقر الدينية المعروفة باسم Jubilee USA.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » vulture funds


International Monetary Fund Releases Plans to Stop Predatory Hedge Funds October 6th, 2014

vulturemanThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) released new proposals for preventing predatory hedge funds and hold-out investors from blocking debt restructurings. The paper proposes a series of reforms to debt contracts, including strengthened collective action clauses and a modification of the pari passu clause that hold-out hedge funds used to sue Argentina.

“In the wake of debt restructurings in Argentina and Greece, the IMF is incredibly concerned about vulture funds,” stated Eric LeCompte, the Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty coalition, Jubilee USA Network. “The IMF is advocating a market approach, but we also need a statutory approach. We need to change both the contracts and the laws.”

Click here to read more »


Supreme Court Refuses Argentina Hedge Fund Debt Case June 16th, 2014

Lower Court Ruling Stands and Validates Hedge Fund Predatory Behavior

vulturemanWashington DC – The US Supreme Court denied hearing Argentina’s appeal today and a lower court ruling stands that validates predatory behavior targeted towards countries in financial distress. The high court also denied a related appeal on behalf of the more than 92% of bond holders who had accepted Argentina’s restructuring deal after the default.

Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty organization Jubilee USA, releases the following statement:

“I am blown away by the decision. For heavily indebted countries trying to support extremely poor people, this is a devastating blow. These hedge funds are equipped with an instrument that forces struggling economies into submission.

“For 15 years, Republicans and Democrats have agreed that the world’s poorest countries need to have their debt burdens reduced. Today, that bipartisan policy is threatened by the court’s decision.

“The religious community is saddened that these extreme actors will now broaden their efforts to collect assets that belong to the poor.

“One loser today is New York State. Given today’s ruling, countries wishing to borrow money are going to find other places to sign their contracts. That’s why legitimate Wall Street investors have joined the IMF, World Bank, United Nations and the United States Government in opposing this behavior.

“Given the ruling, we need to see what legislative remedies we can implement to stop these hedge funds.”

Read a history and timeline of the case.

Read Jubilee’s USA’s filing urging the Supreme Court to take case.

 

 


Missionary Oblates Join Supreme Court Filing in Argentina/NML Capital Case March 25th, 2014

Jubilee USA Network, a religious anti-poverty coalition, along with 78 other religious and development groups filed with the US Supreme Court in the case between Argentina and NML Capital. The Amicus Curiae brief takes the side of Argentina because the precedent of the case impacts predatory behavior on vulnerable populations. The friend-of-the-court brief argues that the case will have a detrimental impact on the poor, undo bipartisan United States debt policy and cause global financial instability. Filers joining Jubilee USA include: American Jewish World Service, Church World Service, Action Aid USA, numerous synagogues and churches across the US and a large number of Catholic religious orders of nuns and priests, including the Missionary Oblates. Read the full list of the 79 groups and Jubilee USA’s Amicus Curiae.

“At the end of the day, this case is about a precedent that could expose developing economies to extreme predatory behavior,” noted Kent Spriggs the attorney representing the 79 groups “The Supreme Court’s decision will affirm or harm current bipartisan US debt policy.”

Click here to read more »


Predatory Hedge Funds and Argentina Face Supreme Court Showdown December 17th, 2013

Majority Debt Holders Seek to End Standoff between Argentina and Holdouts

Argentina is expected to appeal to the US Supreme Court by mid-February in response to a US 2nd Circuit Court ruling ordering the country to pay $1.33 billion to predatory hedge funds. The precedent the case sets will hurt poor countries in financial distress and could allow a small group of hedge funds to target assets that benefit vulnerable populations. At the same time, debt holders who restructured their debt with Argentina have hired lawyers to help negotiate the dispute between holdout hedge funds and Argentina. Nearly 93% of debt holders restructured their debt with Argentina after the 2001 default. The majority of bondholders are concerned that their settlements could be disrupted if hedge funds win the final ruling.

“We agree with the concerns of the restructured bondholders,” said Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA Network, a faith-based antipoverty organization. “We join the IMF, World Bank and White House in denouncing this extreme hedge fund behavior that takes advantage of the world’s poorest people.”

Click here to read more »


US Supreme Court Refuses to Hear Vulture Funds Case October 8th, 2013

vulturemanThe U.S. Supreme Court decided not to take the landmark debt case between Argentina and bondholders led by NML Capital, a hedge fund that buys the debt of countries in financial crisis. Argentina is expected to file a second petition in the coming months that the Supreme Court will review and decide again if it will hear the case. In June, Argentina filed a writ of certiorari to the U.S. Supreme Court asking the court to overturn a ruling by the 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals made last October. The ruling ordered Argentina to pay bondholders $1.33 billion based on the court’s interpretation of a pari passu, or parity clause.

“The faith community is saddened by the high court’s decision,” noted Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA, a religious antipoverty organization. “Given the likelihood of Argentina filing again to the U.S. Supreme Court on this global poverty case, we’re praying upon another review the U.S. Supreme Court will take it.”

Click here to read more »


Hedge Funds Win/Global Poor Lose August 23rd, 2013

vulturemanArgentine Bonds Surge. Ruling Delayed as U.S. Supreme Court Considers Taking Appeal

WASHINGTON, DC – In the landmark case of NML Capital, LTD v. The Republic of Argentina, the New York based U.S. Circuit Court upheld a previous ruling ordering Argentina to pay $1.33 billion to hold out hedge funds. Argentine bonds soared and antipoverty advocates held their breath as the 2nd Circuit Court delayed the ruling until the U.S. Supreme Court decides if they will take appeals on the case.

“Our eyes are on the U.S. Supreme Court. We pray the court will not forget the world’s poor as they consider taking the case,” asserted Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious antipoverty campaign known as Jubilee USA.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top