شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
المدونة
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

آخر الأخبار

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »جرائم حرب


سري لانكا كهنة ودينية في هيئة الأمم المتحدة: اعتماد آليات دولية للتصدي لجرائم حقوق الإنسان أكتوبر 6th، 2015

حث مائة وسبعون كاهنًا ومتدينًا من شمال وشرق سريلانكا مؤخرًا مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة على تبني آليات دولية تتصدى لخطورة الجرائم المرتكبة ، لا سيما التي ارتكبت في المرحلة الأخيرة من الحرب في سريلانكا. قال القساوسة ورجال الدين: الكتابة إلى مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لحقوق الإنسان ؛ "منذ نهاية النزاع المسلح ، لا تزال العديد من الأسباب الهيكلية للصراع على حالها". تمت المصادقة على الرسالة وتوقيعها من قبل العديد من التبشيرية Oblates وكهنة كاثوليكيين ورهبان آخرين.

o   اقرأ الرسالة هنا: سري لانكا كهنة ودينية في هيئة الأمم المتحدة.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، أشاد نشطاء حقوق الإنسان والكنيسة في سريلانكا بقرار مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة (سبعة وأربعين دولة عضو) وافق في جنيف في 1 أكتوبر / تشرين الأول ، على السماح للقضاة والمدعين الأجانب بمساعدة سريلانكا على محاكمة الأشخاص المتهمين بارتكاب جرائم خطيرة أثناء الحرب الأهلية وبعدها. يدعو قرار الأمم المتحدة إلى معاقبة المسؤولين عن جرائم الحرب. كما أنه يمهد الطريق للمساءلة والمصالحة في سري لانكا.

o   المزيد نشطاء الكنيسة وحقوق الإنسان يصفقون لقرار الأمم المتحدة بشأن سريلانكا


رئيس مجلس العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ يدعم قرار الأمم المتحدة بشأن التحقيق في جرائم الحرب في سريلانكا مسيرة 19th، 2014

الراهبات

الراهبات الكاثوليك في شمال سريلانكا يحتجون على اعتقال المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان ، بالندران جياكوماري

أرسل السناتور روبرت مينينديز ، رئيس لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ ، رسالة في وقت سابق اليوم موجهة إلى نافي بيلاي ، مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان. تدعم الرسالة القرار الذي رعته الولايات المتحدة أمام مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة في جنيف والذي يدعو إلى إجراء تحقيق دولي في الجرائم التي ارتكبت خلال الحرب الأهلية في سريلانكا. وفي رسالته ، قال الرئيس مينينديز أيضًا: "خلال العام الماضي ، لاحظت هذه اللجنة بقلق البيئة المتدهورة للعملية الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان في سريلانكا. في حين أن هذا حاد بشكل خاص في الشمال ، هناك أيضًا تقارير مقلقة عن نهج استبدادي متزايد عبر الجنوب والشرق ".

اقرأ رسالة الرئيس مينينديز هنا ...


مبعوث الأمم المتحدة يرى أدلة على الجريمة الدولية الخطيرة في سريلانكا 7 يونيو، 2011

قام الخبراء بفحص لقطات فيديو مروعة لعمليات الإعدام بإجراءات موجزة على ما يبدو خلال الحرب الأهلية في سريلانكا ، ويبدو أنها أدلة مقنعة على "جرائم دولية خطيرة" ، وفقاً لكريستوف هينز ، المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بالإعدام خارج نطاق القضاء أو بإجراءات موجزة أو الإعدام التعسفي.

منذ أواخر العام الماضي ، درست الأمم المتحدة عن كثب شريط الفيديو الذي يُزعم أنه أظهر أعمالاً ارتكبت أثناء الحرب الأهلية وانتهت في 2009. قال السيد هينز لمجلس حقوق الإنسان في جنيف: "أختتم على أساس الأدلة التقنية الواسعة التي حصلنا عليها من خبراء مستقلين مفادها أن ما تم تصويره في الفيديو قد حدث بالفعل" ، مضيفًا "أعتقد أن هناك حالة ظاهرية خطيرة "لقد تم ارتكاب جرائم دولية." وقال إنه يجب على لجنة دولية التحقيق في الأدلة.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


تقرير الأمم المتحدة حول جرائم الحرب في سريلانكا 26 أبريل، 2011

توصل فريق الخبراء الذي أنشئ لإسداء المشورة للأمين العام بان كي مون بشأن قضايا المساءلة فيما يتعلق بالمراحل النهائية للصراع في سري لانكا ، إلى تقارير موثوقة عن جرائم حرب ارتكبتها الحكومة ومتمردو التاميل ويدعو إلى إجراء تحقيقات حقيقية في الادعاءات ، وفقا ل تقرير صدر بالكامل من قبل الأمين العام أمس.

ووفقا ل بيان صادر عن المتحدث باسم الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون:

"نشرت الأمم المتحدة اليوم التقرير الاستشاري لفريق الخبراء التابع للأمين العام بشأن المساءلة فيما يتعلق بالمراحل النهائية من النزاع المسلح المستمر منذ عقود في سري لانكا ، والذي تم تقديمه إليه في 12 أبريل 2011. القرار لإصدار التقرير على سبيل الشفافية والمصلحة العامة الأوسع. "

"تم إطلاع حكومة سري لانكا على التقرير بأكمله في 12 نيسان / أبريل. وقد أعرب الأمين العام عن استعداده لنشر رد الحكومة إلى جانب التقرير. ووجهت هذه الدعوة إلى الحكومة السريلانكية على مدار الأسبوع ، بما في ذلك مرة أخرى يوم السبت من قبل الأمين العام لوزير الشؤون الخارجية لسريلانكا. لم ترد الحكومة على هذا العرض ، الذي لا يزال قائما ".

اقرأ التقرير الكامل ...

مجموعات حقوق الإنسان تحث على التحقيق في جرائم الحرب في سريلانكا 21 مايو، 2010

WarCrimeSatelliteImagesوتدعو مجموعات حقوق الإنسان ، من هيومن رايتس ووتش ومنظمة العفو الدولية إلى مجموعة الأزمات الدولية ، إلى إجراء تحقيق مستقل في جرائم الحرب من جانب الطرفين خلال نهاية الحرب الصادمة بين حركة "نمور تحرير تاميل عيلام" والقوات الحكومية قبل عام.

في تقرير صدر في شهر مايو / أيار ، بعد مرور عام على انتهاء الحرب ، ذكرت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية "أسباب معقولة للاعتقاد بأن قوات الأمن السريلانكية ارتكبت جرائم حرب" عن طريق قصف المدنيين والمستشفيات والعمليات الإنسانية عمداً في محاولة أخيرة لتدمير النمور الانفصالية. وفي المقابل ، أطلق النمور النار على المدنيين الذين حاولوا الفرار من مناطق المتمردين واحتجزوا آخرين في محاولة لرفع الضغط الدولي من أجل وقف إطلاق النار.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


صدر سري لانكا جرائم الحرب تقرير أكتوبر 30th، 2009

19_02_09_01_76812_445وزارة الخارجية الامريكية افرجت عن تقرير إلى الكونغرس حول الحوادث أثناء النزاع الأخير في سريلانكا في أكتوبر 22. ويورد التقرير تفاصيل انتهاكات قوانين الحرب التي ارتكبتها كل من القوات الحكومية وحركة نمور تحرير تاميل إيلام الانفصالية في الفترة من يناير إلى مايو.

يعتبر هذا التقرير وقائع واقعية لأهوال الحرب ويشير إلى الحاجة إلى إجراء تحقيق دولي مستقل وشامل.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » war crimes


Sri Lanka Priests and Religious to UN Body: Adopt International Mechanisms to Address Human Rights Crimes October 6th, 2015

One hundred seventy priests and Religious from North and East of Sri Lanka recently urged the United Nations Human Rights Council to adopt international mechanisms that address the gravity of crimes committed, especially committed in the last phase of war in Sri Lanka.  Writing to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, priests and Religious said; “Since the end of the armed conflict many of the structural causes of the conflict remain intact.” The letter was endorsed and signed by several Missionary Oblates and other Catholic priests and religious.

o   Read the letter here: Sri Lanka Priests and Religious to UN body.

Meanwhile Church and human rights activists in Sri Lanka have applauded a resolution the UN Human Rights Council (forty-seven member nation body) approved in Geneva on October 1, that would allow foreign judges and prosecutors to help Sri Lanka try people accused of serious crimes during and after the civil war. The U.N resolution calls for punishment of those responsible for war crimes. It also paves the way for accountability and reconciliation in Sri Lanka.

o   Read more Church & Human Rights Activists applaud in UN Resolution on Sri Lanka


Senate Foreign Relations Chair Supports UN Resolution on Sri Lankan War Crimes Investigation March 19th, 2014

nuns

Catholic Nuns in northern Sri Lanka protest the arrest of human rights defender, Balendran Jeyakumari

Senator Robert Menendez, Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, sent a letter earlier today addressed to Navi Pillay, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights. The letter supports the US-sponsored Resolution before the UN HR Council in Geneva calling for an international investigation into crimes committed during the Sri Lankan civil war. In his letter, Chairman Menendez also said: “Over the past year, this committee has noted with concern the deteriorating environment for the democratic process and human rights in Sri Lanka. While this is particularly acute in the north, there are also disturbing reports of an increasingly authoritarian approach across the South and East.”

Read Chairman Menendez’s letter here…


UN Envoy Sees Evidence of Serious International Crime in Sri Lanka Video June 7th, 2011

Shocking video footage of summary executions apparently committed during the Sri Lankan civil war has been examined by experts and appears to be convincing evidence of “serious international crimes,” according to Christof Heyns, the U.N.’s special rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions.

Since late last year, the United Nations has closely studied the video that allegedly showed acts committed during the civil war that ended in 2009. “I conclude on the basis of the extensive technical evidence we obtained from independent experts that what is depicted in the video indeed happened,” Mr. Heyns told the Human Rights Council in Geneva, adding that “I believe that a prima facie case of serious international crimes has been made.” He said an international panel should investigate the evidence.

Click here to read more »


UN Report on Sri Lanka War Crimes Released April 26th, 2011

The panel of experts set up to advise Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon on accountability issues with respect to the final stages of the conflict in Sri Lanka has found credible reports of war crimes committed by both the Government and Tamil rebels and calls for genuine investigations into the allegations, according to a report released in full by the Secretary General yesterday.

According to a statement released by the Spokesperson for UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon:

“The United Nations has today made public the advisory report of the Secretary-General’s Panel of Experts on accountability with respect to the final stages of the decades-long armed conflict in Sri Lanka, which was submitted to him on 12 April 2011. The decision to release the report was made as a matter of transparency and in the broader public interest.”

“The report was shared in its entirety with the Government of Sri Lanka on 12 April. The Secretary-General has indicated his willingness to publicize the Government’s response alongside the report. This invitation was extended to the Sri Lankan Government throughout the week, including again on Saturday by the Secretary-General to the External Affairs Minister of Sri Lanka. The Government has not responded to this offer, which nonetheless still stands.”

Read the full report…

Human Rights Groups Urge Investigation of Sri Lanka War Crimes May 21st, 2010

WarCrimeSatelliteImagesHuman Rights groups, from Human Rights Watch and Amnesty International to the International Crisis Group, are calling for an independent investigation into war crimes by both sides during the traumatic end of the war between the LTTE and government forces one year ago.

In a report released on May 17th, a year after the war’s end, the International Crisis Group cited “reasonable grounds to believe the Sri Lankan security forces committed war crimes” by intentionally shelling civilians, hospitals and humanitarian operations in a final push to destroy the separatist Tigers. In turn, the Tigers reportedly shot civilians who tried to flee rebel areas and held others captive in a bid to raise international pressure for a ceasefire.

Click here to read more »


Sri Lanka War Crimes Report Released October 30th, 2009

19_02_09_01_76812_445The US State Department released its Report to Congress on Incidents During the Recent Conflict in Sri Lanka on October 22. The report details violations of the laws of war committed by both government forces and the separatist Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) from January through May 2009.

The report is a sobering chronicle of the horrors of war and points to the need for a more thorough independent, international investigation.

Click here to read more »

Return to Top