شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
جديدنا
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

News Archives » argentina


المحكمة العليا ترفض الأرجنتين حالة صندوق التحوط الديون 16 يونيو، 2014

حكم المحكمة السفلى يثبت والتحقق من صحة السلوك التحوطي الصندوق التحوطي

vulturemanواشنطن العاصمة - رفضت المحكمة العليا الأمريكية سماع استئناف الأرجنتين اليوم وقرار محكمة أدنى درجة يقر السلوك العدواني الذي يستهدف البلدان التي تعاني من ضائقة مالية. كما رفضت المحكمة العليا استئنافًا ذي صلة نيابة عن أكثر من 92٪ من حاملي السندات الذين قبلوا صفقة إعادة الهيكلة في الأرجنتين بعد التخلف عن السداد.

إيريك لي كومبت ، المدير التنفيذي لمنظمة دينية لمكافحة الفقر Jubilee USA ، أصدر البيان التالي:

"لقد أذهلني القرار. بالنسبة للبلدان المثقلة بالديون التي تحاول دعم الفقراء المدقعين ، فهذه ضربة مدمرة. تم تجهيز صناديق التحوط هذه بأداة تجبر الاقتصادات المتعثرة على الخضوع.

اتفق الجمهوريون والديمقراطيون لمدة 15 عامًا على أن أفقر دول العالم بحاجة إلى تخفيف أعباء ديونها. واليوم ، أصبحت سياسة الحزبين هذه مهددة بقرار المحكمة.

ويشعر المجتمع الديني بالحزن لأن هؤلاء الفاعلين المتطرفين سيوسعون الآن جهودهم لجمع الأصول التي تخص الفقراء.

"أحد الخاسرين اليوم هو ولاية نيويورك. بالنظر إلى حكم اليوم ، فإن الدول التي ترغب في اقتراض المال سوف تجد أماكن أخرى لتوقيع عقودها. لهذا السبب انضم مستثمرو وول ستريت الشرعيون إلى صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي والأمم المتحدة وحكومة الولايات المتحدة في معارضة هذا السلوك.

"بالنظر إلى الحكم ، نحتاج إلى معرفة العلاجات التشريعية التي يمكننا تنفيذها لإيقاف صناديق التحوط هذه."

قراءة التاريخ والجدول الزمني للقضية.

اقرأ Jubilee's USA's الايداع تحث المحكمة العليا على اتخاذ القضية.

 

 


البعثات التبادلية الانضمام إلى المحكمة العليا الايداع في الأرجنتين / NML كابيتال القضية مسيرة 25th، 2014

تقدمت Jubilee USA Network ، وهي تحالف ديني لمكافحة الفقر ، إلى جانب 78 مجموعات دينية وإنمائية أخرى مع المحكمة العليا الأمريكية في القضية بين الأرجنتين و NML Capital. ال صديق المحكمة موجزة يأخذ جانب الأرجنتين لأن سابقة الحالة تؤثر على السلوك المفترس على الفئات الضعيفة من السكان. يجادل موجز الصداقة بين المحكمة بأن هذه القضية سيكون لها أثر ضار على سياسة ديون الولايات المتحدة الفقيرة ، التي تتخلى عن الحزبين ، وتسبب عدم استقرار مالي عالمي. ومن بين الأقران الذين انضموا إلى Jubilee USA: الخدمة اليهودية الأمريكية العالمية ، وخدمة الكنيسة العالمية ، ومنظمة Action Aid USA ، والعديد من الكنس والكنائس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وعدد كبير من الأوامر الدينية الكاثوليكية للراهبات والكهنة ، بما في ذلك المراسم التبشيرية. إقرأ ال القائمة الكاملة لمجموعات 79 ويوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أصدقاء المحكمة.

أشار كينت سبريغز ، المحامي الذي يمثل المجموعات السبع والسبعين ، "في نهاية المطاف ، هذه القضية هي سابقة قد تعرض الاقتصادات النامية لسلوك مفترس متطرف" ، وأن قرار المحكمة العليا سيؤكد أو يضر بسياسة الديون الأمريكية الحالية من الحزبين.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


صناديق التحوط المفترسة والأرجنتين تواجه مواجهة المحكمة العليا ديسمبر 17th، 2013

الغالبية من حملة الديون تسعى إلى إنهاء المواجهة بين الأرجنتين و Holdouts

الأرجنتين هي متوقع للاستئناف أمام المحكمة العليا الأمريكية بحلول منتصف فبراير رداً على حكم محكمة الدائرة الأمريكية 2nd الذي يأمر البلاد بدفع مليار دولار 1.33 إلى صناديق التحوط المفترسة. ﺳوف ﺗؤذي ﺳﺎﺑﻘﺔ اﻟﺣﺎﻻت ﺳوء اﻟﺑﻟدان اﻟﻔﻘﯾرة ﻓﻲ ﺿﺎﺋﻘﺔ ﻣﺎﻟﯾﺔ وﯾﻣﮐن أن ﺗﺳﻣﺢ ﻟﻣﺟﻣوﻋﺔ ﺻﻐﯾرة ﻣن ﺻﻧﺎدﯾق اﻟﺗﺣوط ﺑﺎﺳﺗﮭداف أﺻول ﺗﺳﺗﻔﯾد ﻣن اﻟﺳﮐﺎن اﻟﺿﻌﻔﺎء. في الوقت نفسه ، أصحاب الديون الذين أعادوا هيكلة ديونها مع الأرجنتين التعاقد المحامين للمساعدة في التفاوض على النزاع بين صناديق التحوط مهزوما والأرجنتين. أعاد ما يقرب من 93٪ من حاملي الديون هيكلة ديونها مع الأرجنتين بعد التقصير من 2001. ويشعر غالبية حملة السندات بالقلق من احتمال تعطل مستوطناتهم في حالة فوز صناديق التحوط بالحكم النهائي.

"نحن نتفق مع مخاوف حاملي السندات المعاد هيكلتها" ، وقال إريك LeCompte ، المدير التنفيذي لشبكة Jubilee USA ، وهي منظمة لمكافحة الفقر المستندة إلى الدين. "إننا ننضم إلى صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي والبيت الأبيض في إدانة هذا السلوك التحوطي المتطرف الذي يستفيد من أفقر الناس في العالم".

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


صناديق التحوط يفوز / يخسر فقراء العالم أغسطس 23rd، 2013

vulturemanالسندات الأرجنتينية. تأخر الحكم كما تنظر المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة في الاستئناف

واشنطن ، العاصمة - في القضية المميزة لشركة NML Capital، LTD ضد جمهورية الأرجنتين ، أيدت محكمة الدائرة الأمريكية في نيويورك حكمًا سابقًا أمرت الأرجنتين بدفع مليار دولار 1.33 لصرف صناديق التحوط. صعدت السندات الأرجنتينية وحافظ المدافعون عن الفقر على أنفاسهم عندما قررت محكمة الدائرة 2nd تأجيل الحكم إلى أن تقرر المحكمة العليا الأمريكية ما إذا كانت ستوجه نداءات بشأن القضية.

"عيوننا على المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة. ندعو المحكمة لن تنسى فقراء العالم وهم ينظرون في القضية ، "أكد إريك لوكومبتي ، المدير التنفيذي لحملة مكافحة الفقر الدينية المعروفة باسم Jubilee USA.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد "


إدارة أوباما تقول لا لصناديق النسر يوليو 7th، 2013

vulturemanفي الأسبوع الماضي، Jubilee’s Executive Committee wrote President Obama to thank him and his Administration for their efforts to stop vulture funds that profit from exploiting poor people. The Reverend Séamus Finn, OMI, a Jubilee USA Board Executive Officer, signed on to the letter, representing the Oblates. The Justice Department filed an Amicus or friend-of-the-court brief in the current legal proceedings of hedge fund NML Capital versus Argentina. سيكون لنتيجة هذه الحالة الخاصة بصندوق النسر تأثير بعيد المدى على الفقر العالمي.

اقرأ الرسالة إلى الرئيس أوباما والانضمام إلى Jubilee USA في شكر الرئيس: وقع على التماس الشكر على الرئيس أوباما. سيعلن القضاة في محكمة الدائرة 2nd الأمريكية قريبًا قرارًا. قبل أيام ، قدمت الأرجنتين نداء استباقي للمحكمة العليا الأمريكية لعكس حكم دفع أموال النسر.

Jubilee USA’s views on this case have been covered extensively in the mainstream media. To fully understand the case and its repercussions on global poverty, read the story that featured اليوبيل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في لوس انجليس تايمز. مؤخرا في فاينانشال تايمز, Jubilee USA called these rich hedge funds what they are, “morally bankrupt.”

نأمل أن تنضموا إلينا في شكر الرئيس أوباما على وقوفه في وجه صناديق الاستنساخ. يرجى زيارة موقع Jubilee USA لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذه القضية الهامة.  اقرأ الرسالة (تنزيل PDF) ...

 


Argentina Takes on Vulture Funds in “Debt Trial of the Century” 23rd أبريل، 2013

vulturemanFor years, “vulture funds” have preyed on struggling nations by purchasing their debt for a pittance. Could an upcoming U.S. court decision put an end to the extortion of poor countries?

قراءة المقال في مجلة سوجورنر من قبل مدير اليوبيل في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية Eric LeCompte:

وفي أكتوبر (تشرين الأول) الماضي ، صعد جنود من دولة غانا بغرب أفريقيا إلى سفينة تابعة للبحرية الأرجنتينية تسمى ليبرتاد. تفوقوا على الطاقم وأحضروا السفينة إلى الميناء في مدينة تيما. لم يكن هذا عملاً من أعمال القرصنة ، على الأقل ليس بالمعنى الذي نفهمه عادةً. وقد تم احتجاز ليبرتاد بعد أن قام صندوق التحوط NML Capital بإقناع محكمة غانية بأن السفينة ، التي كانت تبحر في الولاية القضائية الغانية ، يجب أن تكون فدية مقابل ديون كانت صناديق التحوط قد زعمت بأن الأرجنتين مدينة بها.

بدأت القصة في 2001 ، عندما ألقيت الأرجنتين في أزمة اقتصادية وتعثرت في قروضها. انقضت صناديق التحوط واشترت الديون الأرجنتينية دون أي شيء تقريبا ونفذت تحليقا دائريا حتى كانت البلاد في حالة انتعاش لجمع الديون بالكامل.

اقرأ أكثر…

 

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

A Ministry of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate

United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » argentina


Supreme Court Refuses Argentina Hedge Fund Debt Case June 16th, 2014

Lower Court Ruling Stands and Validates Hedge Fund Predatory Behavior

vulturemanWashington DC – The US Supreme Court denied hearing Argentina’s appeal today and a lower court ruling stands that validates predatory behavior targeted towards countries in financial distress. The high court also denied a related appeal on behalf of the more than 92% of bond holders who had accepted Argentina’s restructuring deal after the default.

Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious anti-poverty organization Jubilee USA, releases the following statement:

“I am blown away by the decision. For heavily indebted countries trying to support extremely poor people, this is a devastating blow. These hedge funds are equipped with an instrument that forces struggling economies into submission.

“For 15 years, Republicans and Democrats have agreed that the world’s poorest countries need to have their debt burdens reduced. Today, that bipartisan policy is threatened by the court’s decision.

“The religious community is saddened that these extreme actors will now broaden their efforts to collect assets that belong to the poor.

“One loser today is New York State. Given today’s ruling, countries wishing to borrow money are going to find other places to sign their contracts. That’s why legitimate Wall Street investors have joined the IMF, World Bank, United Nations and the United States Government in opposing this behavior.

“Given the ruling, we need to see what legislative remedies we can implement to stop these hedge funds.”

Read a history and timeline of the case.

Read Jubilee’s USA’s filing urging the Supreme Court to take case.

 

 


Missionary Oblates Join Supreme Court Filing in Argentina/NML Capital Case March 25th, 2014

Jubilee USA Network, a religious anti-poverty coalition, along with 78 other religious and development groups filed with the US Supreme Court in the case between Argentina and NML Capital. The Amicus Curiae brief takes the side of Argentina because the precedent of the case impacts predatory behavior on vulnerable populations. The friend-of-the-court brief argues that the case will have a detrimental impact on the poor, undo bipartisan United States debt policy and cause global financial instability. Filers joining Jubilee USA include: American Jewish World Service, Church World Service, Action Aid USA, numerous synagogues and churches across the US and a large number of Catholic religious orders of nuns and priests, including the Missionary Oblates. Read the full list of the 79 groups and Jubilee USA’s Amicus Curiae.

“At the end of the day, this case is about a precedent that could expose developing economies to extreme predatory behavior,” noted Kent Spriggs the attorney representing the 79 groups “The Supreme Court’s decision will affirm or harm current bipartisan US debt policy.”

Click here to read more »


Predatory Hedge Funds and Argentina Face Supreme Court Showdown December 17th, 2013

Majority Debt Holders Seek to End Standoff between Argentina and Holdouts

Argentina is expected to appeal to the US Supreme Court by mid-February in response to a US 2nd Circuit Court ruling ordering the country to pay $1.33 billion to predatory hedge funds. The precedent the case sets will hurt poor countries in financial distress and could allow a small group of hedge funds to target assets that benefit vulnerable populations. At the same time, debt holders who restructured their debt with Argentina have hired lawyers to help negotiate the dispute between holdout hedge funds and Argentina. Nearly 93% of debt holders restructured their debt with Argentina after the 2001 default. The majority of bondholders are concerned that their settlements could be disrupted if hedge funds win the final ruling.

“We agree with the concerns of the restructured bondholders,” said Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of Jubilee USA Network, a faith-based antipoverty organization. “We join the IMF, World Bank and White House in denouncing this extreme hedge fund behavior that takes advantage of the world’s poorest people.”

Click here to read more »


Hedge Funds Win/Global Poor Lose August 23rd, 2013

vulturemanArgentine Bonds Surge. Ruling Delayed as U.S. Supreme Court Considers Taking Appeal

WASHINGTON, DC – In the landmark case of NML Capital, LTD v. The Republic of Argentina, the New York based U.S. Circuit Court upheld a previous ruling ordering Argentina to pay $1.33 billion to hold out hedge funds. Argentine bonds soared and antipoverty advocates held their breath as the 2nd Circuit Court delayed the ruling until the U.S. Supreme Court decides if they will take appeals on the case.

“Our eyes are on the U.S. Supreme Court. We pray the court will not forget the world’s poor as they consider taking the case,” asserted Eric LeCompte, Executive Director of the religious antipoverty campaign known as Jubilee USA.

Click here to read more »


Obama Administration Says No to Vulture Funds July 7th, 2013

vulturemanLast week, Jubilee’s Executive Committee wrote President Obama to thank him and his Administration for their efforts to stop vulture funds that profit from exploiting poor people. The Reverend Séamus Finn, OMI, a Jubilee USA Board Executive Officer, signed on to the letter, representing the Oblates. The Justice Department filed an Amicus or friend-of-the-court brief in the current legal proceedings of hedge fund NML Capital versus Argentina. The outcome of this vulture fund case will have far reaching impacts on global poverty.

Read the letter to President Obama and join Jubilee USA in thanking the President: sign the thank-you petition to President Obama. Judges in the US 2nd Circuit Court will soon announce a ruling. Days ago, Argentina filed a preemptive appeal to the US Supreme Court to reverse the ruling to pay the vulture funds.

Jubilee USA’s views on this case have been covered extensively in the mainstream media. To fully understand the case and its repercussions on global poverty, read the story that featured Jubilee USA in the Los Angeles Times. Recently in The Financial Times, Jubilee USA called these rich hedge funds what they are, “morally bankrupt.”

We hope you will join us in thanking President Obama for standing up to vulture funds. Please visit the Jubilee USA website for more information on this important issue.  Read the letter (download PDF)…

 


Argentina Takes on Vulture Funds in “Debt Trial of the Century” April 23rd, 2013

vulturemanFor years, “vulture funds” have preyed on struggling nations by purchasing their debt for a pittance. Could an upcoming U.S. court decision put an end to the extortion of poor countries?

Read the article in Sojourner’s Magazine by Jubilee USA Director Eric LeCompte:

Last October, soldiers from the West African nation of Ghana boarded an Argentine naval ship called the Libertad. They overtook the crew and brought the ship to port in the town of Tema. This was not an act of piracy, at least not in the sense we normally understand it. The detaining of the Libertad took place after hedge fund NML Capital convinced a Ghanaian court that the ship, which was sailing in Ghanaian jurisdiction, should be held ransom for a debt the hedge funds claimed Argentina owed them.

The saga began in 2001, when Argentina was thrown into economic crisis and defaulted on its loans. Hedge funds swooped in and bought Argentine debt for almost nothing and circled until the country was in recovery to collect the debt in full.

Read more…

 

Return to Top