شعار أومي جبيك

العدالة والسلام ونزاهة الخلق

المبشرين أوبلاتس مريم طاهر  الولايات المتحدة

شعار أومي
الأخبار
ترجمة هذه الصفحة:

أخبار حديثة

أخبار الأعلاف

أرشيف الأخبار


أحدث مقاطع الفيديو والصوت

المزيد من الفيديو والصوت>

أرشيف الأخبار »العدالة البيئية


NAACP إصدار دليل الموارد العدالة العدل البيئية مسيرة 10th، 2015

envir صورة العدالةنظرا إلى النتائج من أحدث تقرير صدر عن الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ، تقول NAACP أنه يجب علينا أن نسأل أنفسنا بعض الأسئلة المهمة حول كيفية إعداد أطفالنا لمواجهة العالم الذي سيرثونه ، والحقيقة القاسية لظروف وديناميكيات اليوم. كيف نضمن أن يخرج شبابنا من دراستهم بفهم للتقاطع بين وضعنا الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والثقافي والسياسي والبيئي في المجتمع؟ كيف نعلمهم دورهم كمؤثرين على ما يحدث في بيئتهم ، الآن وفي المستقبل؟

إن واقع كونك شابًا ملونًا و / أو شابًا يعيش في مجتمع منخفض الدخل يعني أنه بسبب التهميش الاجتماعي-السياسي ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون المرء موجودًا بجوار منشأة ملوثة و / أو يعيشون في مقاطعة تنتهك نوعية الهواء فيها المعايير الفيدرالية المتساهلة بالفعل. ومن المرجح أن يكون لدى شباب الشبكات نفس المبنى الذي يضم مؤسسة التعلم الخاصة بهم أرض سامة وملوثة. نحن نرى كيف يحدث هذا في معدلات عالية من الربو ، واضطراب نقص الانتباه ، ومشاكل التعلم ، وحتى العنف، وكلها مرتبطة بالتعرض للسموم. نرى أيضًا هذه النتيجة في أيام التغيب عن المدرسة للأطفال ، وأيام العمل الضائعة للآباء والأمهات المرضى و / أو الذين يعتنون بالأطفال المرضى ، وما إلى ذلك. انخفاض قيمة الممتلكات بسبب القرب من المرافق السامة، وهو ما يعني المدارس التي تعاني من نقص الموارد والتعليم الضعيف. يقع هؤلاء الشباب في دائرة التلوث والمرض وضعف التعليم والتفاعلات السلبية مع نظام العدالة الجنائية والآفة الاقتصادية التي تنتقص من قدرة الشباب على الإنجاز وقدرة أسرهم على الازدهار.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد ، قم بتحميل المستند ، وقم بالمشاركة مع الآخرين عبر الوسائط الاجتماعية. 


فهم Fracking: سلسلة خدمة الأخبار الكاثوليكية 6 يناير، 2014

Hydraulic_Fracturing-Related_Activitiesوقد أكمل دينيس سادوسكي ، كاتب في خدمة الأخبار الكاثوليكية سلسلة من المقالات على التكسير الهيدروليكي من منظور ديني. أخبر منظمة الحياة الريفية الكاثوليكية: "لقد كانت قضية معقدة يجب فحصها". ومع ذلك ، يقدم Sadowski لمحة عامة واضحة عن مصدر الطاقة المثير للجدل هذا بينما يمزج في تعاليم العدالة البيئية للكنيسة.

يعمل مكتب Oblate JPIC على إشراك شركات النفط والغاز في القضايا الاجتماعية والبيئية المتعلقة بالتكسير الهيدروليكي.

يمكن الاطلاع على المقالات الستة من سلسلة خدمة الأخبار الكاثوليكية عبر روابط منشورة على موقع الحياة الريفية الكاثوليكية.

بفضل الحياة الريفية الكاثوليكية الوطنية لهذه المعلومات.


تقرير JPIC خريف / شتاء العدد متاح الآن أكتوبر 21st، 2011

أصبح العدد الصادر في فصل الخريف / الشتاء من نشرتنا الإخبارية نصف السنوية متاحًا الآن. (قم بتنزيل ملف PDF ...)

يتضمن هذا العدد مقالات عن مشروع "Books to Prison" ، الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة ، العدالة البيئية في Mary Immaculate ، الإيمان والقيم في الاستثمار ، الذكرى الأربعين لـ ICCR ، تشريعات كاليفورنيا ضد العبودية والاتجار ، ورشة عمل VIVAT الدولية في الهند ، النمو الاقتصادي مقابل اقتصاد دولة ثابت ، وأزمة الرهن العقاري.


مريم الطاهرة الناشطين في مجال البيئة 29 سبتمبر، 2011

يعمل دعاة العدالة البيئية في أبرشية Oblates في Mary Immaculate في باكويما ، كاليفورنيا على مواد لتثقيف الناس حول كيفية تأثير المواد السامة التي يتم إطلاقها في الهواء من مصنع الأسفلت المحلي على صحتهم. إنهم يطلبون من الناس الاتصال بمنظم الولاية - إدارة جودة الهواء في الساحل الجنوبي - لتقديم شكوى كلما شموا الرائحة الكريهة المرتبطة بالإسفلت الساخن. يلزم ما لا يقل عن ثماني مكالمات للحصول على استجابة من المكتب.

إشعار إلى مجتمع Pacoima: يرجى طلب وتسجيل الشخص الذي تحدثت معه في مكتب إدارة جودة الهواء في الساحل الجنوبي والحصول على رقم الموظف الخاص بهم. إذا لم تكن قادرًا على الاتصال بالشكل الصحيح عندما تشم رائحة شيء ما ، قم بتدوين الوقت أو حاول تذكر الوقت التقريبي وأبلغ عنه في أقرب وقت ممكن. إذا كنت تشم هذه الرائحة كل يوم ، يرجى الاتصال يوميًا مرة واحدة في اليوم. الرقم هو 800-288-7664. مكالمتك يمكن أن تحدث فرقا! نشكر الأشخاص الذين اتصلوا بهم من قبل ، يرجى الاستمرار في الاتصال كلما تلقيت الرائحة.

 


Parish Environmental Committee تحارب تلوث الأسفلت المحلي 12 سبتمبر، 2011

آخر الأخبار عن النشاط المتعلق بتلوث الهواء المحتمل من شركة All American Asphalt Company في San Fernando، CA:

وتتطلب الوكالة التي تنظم جودة الهواء في لوس أنجلوس (SCAQMD) أن يقوم ثمانية أشخاص على الأقل من مختلف الأسر بالاتصال للإبلاغ عن مشكلة في يوم واحد حتى يتمكنوا من اتخاذ إجراء. كلما شممت رائحة تشبه رائحة الأسفلت اتصل بـ 1-800-288-7664. يجب عليك الإبلاغ عن نوع الرائحة ، اليوم والوقت ، حيث تأتي الرائحة ، وإذا استمرت. ستتم مطالبتك بإدخال اسمك ومعلومات الاتصال بك ولكن سيتم الحفاظ على سريتها. على الأرجح رائحة الإسفلت الساخن تأتي من كل أمريكا Asphalt الموجود في 11549 برادلي ، سان فرناندو ، كاليفورنيا 91340.

ستعقد اللجنة البيئية لمريم بلاس اجتماعا في حديقة سان فرناندو يوم السبت ، سبتمبر 17 في 9: 30 am (على مقاعد بالقرب من ملعب كرة السلة) لتحفيز وتوجيه المزيد من الناس للاتصال عندما يشعرون بهذه الرائحة الكريهة.

 


التقدم المحرز في اختبار الانبعاثات لمصنع الأسفلت في Pacoima ، كاليفورنيا أغسطس 26th، 2011

هذا هو آخر الأخبار من المجموعة من St Mary Immaculate في Pacoima ، CA الذين يشعرون بالقلق إزاء تلوث الهواء السام المحتمل من محطة الأسفلت المحلية:

"تتواصل جهودنا من أجل هواء أفضل في باكويما. سيجتمع بعض القادة هذا الأسبوع مع منطقة إدارة جودة الهواء في الساحل الجنوبي (وكالة مكافحة تلوث الهواء). سنقدم لهم تاريخًا لما قمنا به ، وسنخبرهم عن المشكلات الطبية التي يعاني منها العديد من الأشخاص في المنطقة ، وسنخبرهم أيضًا عن جولة في All American Asphalt. سنطلب منهم إجراء اختبار للانبعاثات حول كل الأسفلت الأمريكي على مستوى ارتفاع 3 أقدام ، وتحديد المصادر الثابتة للروائح الغريبة وهذا هو سبب بدء التحقيق ".

 اقرأ هذا المنشور باللغة الإسبانية ...

العودة للقمة

OMI JPIC logo

Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation

Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate  United States Province

OMI logo
News
Translate this page:

Recent News

News Feed

News Archives


Latest Video & Audio

More video & audio >

News Archives » environmental justice


NAACP Releases Environmental Justice Classroom Resource Guide March 10th, 2015

envir justice imageGiven the results of the latest report released by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the NAACP says we must ask ourselves some critical questions about how we prepare our children to face the world they will be inheriting, and the harsh truth of today’s conditions and dynamics. How do we ensure that our youth emerge from their studies with an understanding of the intersection between our social, economic, cultural, political, and environmental status in society? How do we teach them their role as influencers of what’s happening in their environment, now and in the future?

The reality of being a youth of color and/or a youth living in a low income community means that, due to socio-political marginalization, already one is more likely to be located next to a polluting facility and/or living in a county whose air quality is in violation of already lax federal standards. And, mnority youth are more likely to have the very building that houses their institution of learning built on toxic, contaminated land. We see how this plays out in high rates of asthma, attention deficit disorder, learning problems, and even violence, all of which are tied to exposure to toxins. We also see this result in missed days of school for children, missed days of work for parents who are sick themselves and/or caring for sick children, etc. We also see lower property values because of proximity to toxic facilities, which means under-resourced schools and compromised education. These youth are caught in a cycle of pollution, illness, poor education, negative interactions with the criminal justice system, and economic blight, which detracts from youth’s ability to achieve and their families’ capacity to thrive.

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE, DOWNLOAD THE DOCUMENT, AND SHARE WITH OTHERS VIA SOCIAL MEDIA. 


Understanding Fracking: Catholic News Service series January 6th, 2014

Hydraulic_Fracturing-Related_ActivitiesDennis Sadowski, staff writer for Catholic News Service, has completed a series of articles on hydraulic fracking from a faith-based perspective. “It was a complicated issue to examine,” he informed Catholic Rural Life. Nevertheless, Sadowski provides a clear overview of this controversial energy source while blending in environmental justice teachings of the Church.

The Oblate JPIC Office has been engaging oil and gas companies on social and environmental issues related to fracking.

The six articles of the Catholic News Service series can be found via links posted on the Catholic Rural Life website.

Thanks to National Catholic Rural Life for this information.


JPIC Report Fall/Winter Issue Now Available October 21st, 2011

The Fall/Winter Issue of our bi-annual newsletter is now available. (Download the PDF…)

This issue includes articles on the “Books to Prisons” project, Comprehensive Immigration Reform, Environmental Justice at Mary Immaculate, Faith and Values in Investing, ICCR’s 40th Anniversary, California legislation Against Slavery and Trafficking, a VIVAT International Workshop in India, Economic Growth vs a Steady State Economy, and the The Foreclosure Crisis.


Mary Immaculate Environmental Activists Press On September 29th, 2011

Environmental justice advocates in the Oblates parish of Mary Immaculate in Pacoima, CA are working on materials to educate people about how the toxics being released into the air from a local asphalt plant affect their health. They are asking people to call the state regulator – South Coast Air Quality Management – with a complaint whenever they smell the bad odor associated with hot asphalt. A total of at least eight calls are required to trigger a response from the office.

Notice to the Pacoima community: Please ask and write down the person you spoke with at the South Coast Air Quality Management office and get their employee number. If you are not able to call right when you smell something, write down the time or try to remember the approximate time and report it as soon as possible. If you smell this everyday, please call everyday once a day. The number is 800-288-7664. Your call can make a difference! We thank the people that have already called, please keep calling whenever you get the smell.

 


Parish Environmental Committee Fights Local Asphalt Pollution September 12th, 2011

The latest news on activism regarding the possible air pollution from the All American Asphalt Company in San Fernando, CA:

The agency that regulates air quality in Los Angeles (SCAQMD) requires that at least eight different people from different households call to report a problem in one day in order for them to take action. Whenever you smell something that smells like asphalt call 1-800-288-7664. You have to report the type of smell, the day and time, where the smell is coming from, and if it continues. You will be asked for your name and contact information but that will be kept confidential. Most likely the smell of hot asphalt comes from All American Asphalt located at 11549 Bradley Av, San Fernando, CA 91340.

The environmental committee of Mary Immaculate will have a meeting at the San Fernando Park on Saturday, September 17 at 9:30 a.m. (on the benches near the basketball court) to motivate and guide more people to call when they sense this bad smell.

 


Progress on Emissions Testing of Asphalt Plant in Pacoima, CA August 26th, 2011

This is the latest news from the group from St Mary Immaculate in Pacoima, CA who are concerned about possible toxic air pollution from a local asphalt plant:

“Our efforts for a better air in Pacoima continue. This week some of the leaders will meet with a South Coast Air Quality Management District (air pollution control agency). We are going to give them a history of what we have done, we will tell them about the medical problems that many people in the area are suffering from, and will also tell them about out tour to All American Asphalt. We are going to request that they test for emissions around All American Asphalt at a level of 3 ft. high, and to identify stationary sources of strange odors which is why we started the investigation.”

 Read this post in Spanish…

Return to Top